safc or standalone?

j_l200s

wanna ask sifus out there for some help n opinions. which one should i use for my 4age BT 20 valve AE111? thinking of using safc2 but scared the stock ecu might have conflicts when reach high RPM. is there any problem after installing safc2 for u guys? if wnna use standalone ecu, which type of ecu should i use? any recommendations? thx

just go for standalone.
Freedom, Haltech,Motec, Microtech or Adaptronic will do.

wah, u vtec kaki ar? lol. how much is the price of those standalones u mentioned? i know motec is very very expensive. wanna find a used one. all the standalones u mentioned suitable for 4age BT?

Vtec kaki...yes yes. Currently using Freedom on 4AGE. What I can say is awesome.

how much is freedom? new n used how much? can play with vvt map? expensive tunings?

EG9
by using emaage blue version, total cost rm2k
tuning for AF, ignition, VVT engagement setting, reprogram the rev cut to 9200rpm.
is good enough for 4age BT ?

Basically, it you want to make minor adjustment on A/F ratio for ur existing ECU map, that is ok to use piggy back like SAFC or e-manage.
Why I opt for full standalone unit? coz I want to mess around with A/F ratio in more detail map, change the ingition timing, run DLI (distributorless Ignition) and alot more. I also can control or compensiate whatever new mechanical parts that install on the engine to extract the most out of it.
Piggy got it limitation, and the adjustment range given is much lesser then full standalone unit.

j_l200s said:
how much is freedom? new n used how much? can play with vvt map? expensive tunings?

New? more then 5K, almost 6K.
Used? depend on ur luck.

EG9 said:
New? more then 5K, almost 6K.
Used? depend on ur luck.

the costed WAH of standalone ecu causes me go for piggyback system, around rm2k..of course the more u pay the more u get

wanna to know that the stock BT ecu whether got the self-calibration function?
let say we reprogram the piggyback (ie blue-emanage) for the rev cut, ignition timing as well as vvt engagement timing, and so we 'cheating' the stock ecu by this piggyback, does stock ecu will detect this 'fault' information and proceed with self-calibration to resume/restore the standard information/function..?

sincere1.
u already go install the emanage ar.. ?
share share experience and knowledge la.... what are the setups ??!

WFHAN
the $ investment more than expectation

initially blue emanage +wiring + installation + tuning A/F (16 maps)= RM1350

then blue emanage +wiring + installation + tuning A/F (16 maps) + igination timing= RM1600++

then blue emanage +wiring + installation + tuning A/F (16 maps) + igination timing + reprogram VVT engagement + reprogram rev cut to 9200rpm + shift light = RM2100++

then blue emanage +wiring + installation + tuning A/F (16 maps) + igination timing + reprogram VVT engagement + reprogram rev cut to 9200rpm + shift light + remove speed cut (speed meter) = RM2400++

need to confirm to go for which stage

to me i think standalone worth the money more since there'll be upgrades every now and then. all i wanna know is which standalone is good enough for daily drive n some races every now n then. not often la. pls dun tell me motec or other high end ecus.

wow another topic for management pulak.....
bro sincere1 i've been using the e-manage for almost 1 year, still dun have the problem like u said......

sincere1 said:
initially blue emanage +wiring + installation + tuning A/F (16 maps)= RM1350

then blue emanage +wiring + installation + tuning A/F (16 maps) + igination timing= RM1600++

then blue emanage +wiring + installation + tuning A/F (16 maps) + igination timing + reprogram VVT engagement + reprogram rev cut to 9200rpm + shift light = RM2100++

then blue emanage +wiring + installation + tuning A/F (16 maps) + igination timing + reprogram VVT engagement + reprogram rev cut to 9200rpm + shift light + remove speed cut (speed meter) = RM2400++

need to confirm to go for which stage

sincere1,

sorry to ask a noob question. u mean when u purchase the package at tuner shop that time, u need to tell them which (what) stage u want them to tune
first ka ? so, if say u wanna to tune all those rev-cut, speed-cut, vvt thing,
then need RM2400++ ???
am i right? then the e-Manage blue and wiring harness is it NEW ITEM ?
what if I got the items (ECU and Wiring) and just bring for install ? what are the charges of setting -> tuning A/F (16 maps) + igination timing + reprogram VVT engagement + reprogram rev cut to 9200rpm + shift light ???

tell me more fren, i want to know more on this.. new to this area la.

to me, if the requirement given does not involve additional module, for extra 500 bucks to reprogram vvt engagement and to get rid of rev cut is cut throat.. and another 300 for speed cut? that's ridiculous...

wfhan
the tech said he can reprogram / modify the emanage to the specified requirement. if no mistaken, the market price of emanage unit is rm1050-1000. thus u minus it and you get the tuning/reprogram/modification charges.......

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
to me, if the requirement given does not involve additional module, for extra 500 bucks to reprogram vvt engagement and to get rid of rev cut is cut throat.. and another 300 for speed cut? that's ridiculous...

i confuse that some tech said emanage cant get rid of rev cut as well as speed cut, but someone said it can....
??????????????
and someone said 4age BT no need to do the igination timing

ya...i am still fresh in this sector.....

sincere1 said:
i confuse that some tech said emanage cant get rid of rev cut as well as speed cut, but someone said it can....
??????????????
and someone said 4age BT no need to do the igination timing

ya...i am still fresh in this sector.....

Who said 4AGE 20V BT don't need to adjust ignition timing?

That's among the most crucial adjustment that will gain more HP from 4AGE.

basically from the adjustment that mentioned on the e-manage (old version)

maybe you can get a used Freedom and have much much much much much more flexibility in tuning and able to gain more power from it.
PM me if you interested in Freedom ECU for 20V.

Please refer to below for Freedom ECU for 4AGE. Plug n play unit.

IMG_1371Small.jpg

Below unit is the Freedom ECU with optional funtion which can run waste plug.
Below unit is for AW11, AE86 and AE92. Wiring modification needed for below unit.

free.jpg