Sepang Track Day April 2006

Donjuan4one said:
Hey Pat,

This racing license thingy sounds interesting!!
How many hours on track do we need to clock to get the race license? Do we need to take any courses and exams for it? I think there a couple of pp who are really interested :regular_smile: Oh, one more thing, if we have been to track before ... are this hours considered as well? :_:

Not really... track time is not the criteria. It's important, along with the courses (there are no exams), but you also need to join an authorized association that's affliated with AAM. You can do what i did, jus PM me or ask me when you see me.& i'll point you to the right directions. And NO, i'm not talking abt anything illegal here.

dave, Sorry cant meet u guys tonite, crashing a fren dinner. We still have a few members to be confirmed. I will let you know later.

To confirm final participation to Track from the penangites

1. Adrian Loh Boon Yong
2.Lai Weng Chye
3.Nicholas Lee Kok Hong
4.Tan Lip Chong ( yup...he reconfirmed again)
5.Looi Woon Hong
6.Jack Lim Chin Keat
7.Wood Tan Chee Boon

this show how ppl really keen on it ma haha, too bad i cant make it
will be back to Msia on 8th april, will reach KLIA at 6.30am u guys pick me up la :)

quixeric said:
this show how ppl really keen on it ma haha, too bad i cant make it
will be back to Msia on 8th april, will reach KLIA at 6.30am u guys pick me up la :)
You can jalan kaki wat...hehhe.....

Hi Guys,

I want to thank Phat7-Dev for inviting me to your forum and to all of you for the support of HPC. I will attempt to answer some of the questions on this tread.

1) There will not be congestion. The groups are limited to 40 cars in the interest of safety and to give the participants enough room to let their cars and themselves go.

2) You will wear tires and brake pads but not as much as you think. The Sepang CIrcuit is very smooth and fairly non abrasive. You will start to wear your tires further to the side but your tires will not be bald after a track session (unless it was bald to begin with). Do not smoke your tires out of the corner or do drifts and your tires will be fine. Keep your shifts smooth and do not over rev and your car as well will not be stressed. When the session ends (the checkered flag is out) do not belt your car back to the pits, use this lap to cool your car down

3) I want to stress that this is not a racing school. The priority of HPC is for you to learn the limits of your car and yourselves in a safe controlled environment, learn track etiquette and the rules of the sport, and to give you the basics in which to develop your driving skills. That being said HPC is a good steping stone for those that want to go racing. There is NO training or experience requirement to get a racing license in Malaysia. you just have to join an AAM accredited club (usually just pay RM50), show AAM your drivers license, take a test on the flags (the AAM guys will help you with the answers during the test) and you get your competition license. Sound safe? One of the goals of HPC is to change this by giving participants the basics needed should they want to go racing. Let me know if this is your interest we will help you work towards that target.

4) The sessions are broken up into 30 minute segments. You will have a total of 1.5 Hours track time. This will allow you and your car to rest between sessions. Use this time to relax with a teh tarik and network (some of the leading tuners, racers, and knowledgable car enthusiasts wil be at the event), or go for a ride with your instructor, take the Savvy for a test drive, get a ride in the Lotus (awesome on the track), or check out the control room at Sepang

5) Check the Drivers Resources page on the HPC website http;//www.hpcevents.com/resources.htm for a tech inspection form that will help you with the checklist on making sure your car is prepared for the track. Phat's response to this question was spot on. Also the resources page will be updated till the event with personal preparation tips, driving techniques and safety tips, so check back often.

Hats off to the guy that is bringing the X-Trail. That is the right attitude. My mechanic is bringing his Esteema and there will be a Chevrolet Nabira on track. We have access to what is trully one of the best tracks in the world. Sepang, along with your vehicles, and this great sport, are made to be enjoyed.

I look forward to meeting all of you at the event. If there are any question do not hesitate to contact me [email protected]. Again thank you for the support.

Best regards,

Brian

Brian Eravelly
Event Director
High Performance Challenge
http://www.hpcevents.com

phat7 said:
Excellent stuff. Thanks adrian for the support. Looks like we 'll have approximately 20 RE powered cars on track including our friends from accross the causeway. Those from out of town kindly bank in the money to the following account:

ERAVELLY HOLDINGS SDN. BHD.
RHB BANK
Account # : 21445500008867

Once you've banked in please fax me a copy for my records at 603 77841434. Also please include names of drivers please.

As for the guys from KL, shall we arrange to meet for a briefing by the organiser this friday? We can pay the organiser on the spot which makes it easier. Let me know.

1. Adrian RX-8
2. Looi RX-7
3. Jack R34
4. Nicholas Supra
5. Wood RX-8
6. phat7 - on track fd3s
7.13joe - on track fd3s
8.sarukun - ??
9.diablo - ?? rx8
10.berg - on track mazda 6
11.alchemis - on track fd3s
12.13btt - on track x-trail turbo
13. jai13 - on track rx8

Wah, where can compare Estima or Nabira with our hero's TRACK x-trail TURBO :) then again, there's so many other TRACK cars joining oso. Wow! including a Mazda 6. :shades_smile: cool! Yikes, looks like us with our normal cars better not join d :cry_smile: Heh heh. This will be fun to watch.

Will it cost anything just to watch ? hahaha i dont have an FD yet ... =(

wicked......

can't wait for that day to come....

thanks dave for bringing this to all of us.

let's hope for the best for this session....

cheers........

RERider said:
dave, Sorry cant meet u guys tonite, crashing a fren dinner. We still have a few members to be confirmed. I will let you know later.

no probs joewe. kindly let me know soon as i can firm up numbers.

turbo_crzy said:
Wah, where can compare Estima or Nabira with our hero's TRACK x-trail TURBO :) then again, there's so many other TRACK cars joining oso. Wow! including a Mazda 6. :shades_smile: cool! Yikes, looks like us with our normal cars better not join d :cry_smile: Heh heh. This will be fun to watch.

This is not a race. contrary to what people think, this event is for those wanting to learn how the car performs on the track in a controlled environment. Unlike other open trackdays where rules are blatantly broken ie. stoping for unnecessary reasons on bends, dangerous overtaking etc., here we will be safely able to enjoy without worrying about negative variables on track.

Alchemis said:
wicked......

can't wait for that day to come....

thanks dave for bringing this to all of us.

let's hope for the best for this session....

cheers........

Not a problem matey. This event is not possible if not for the support of the members here. for that i thank you.

sorry long time never log in to zth, just got back to office today.

who do i have to pay the cash to? and when r? my mazda 6 itchy edi lar want to go :P

dei shukor, you can pass the money to me. where do you live? lets arrange to meet. i love the mazda 6. i actually drove the 2.4L when it was launched. The 6 would feel at home on track mate.

i live in bangsar lar dave, u passing by anywhere there?
long time never see u lar, want to meet up for drinks...

mine is not 2.4L ler, mine is 2.0 cycle and carriage edition :embaressed_smile:
it belongs to a family man aged 60 :_:

Allrite Guys. I would like to finalise the numbers. I hate leaving this to last minute as i would like to ensure all those whom have comfirmed have a great time and not worry bout lack of space, food and the like.

So far the following people have confirmed and have paid. I appreciate if we could finalise before i leave. The list at this time is:

1. Adrian Loh RX-8
2. Looi RX-7
3. Jack Lim R34
4. Nicholas Lee Supra
5. Wood Tan RX-8
6. Lai Weng Chye
7. Tan Lip Chong RX7
6. Sukhdev RX-7
7. Wong Eu Joe RX-7
10.Shukor Mazda 6
11.alchemis RX-7
12.Glen McGarry X-trail turbo
13. jai13 RX-8

*Red Highlight Denotes Payment Received

Singapore as of Today have confirmed 12 cars and i will be receiving the final list by tonite which i shall update here. Looks like we'll have 25 cars at least. Thanks for the excellent support guys!!

For paymeny kindly TT online to the account number provided in previous page. Once done kindly fax copy to 03 77841434.

1. Adrian Loh RX-8
2. Looi RX-7
3. Jack Lim R34
4. Nicholas Lee Supra
5. Wood Tan RX-8
6. Lai Weng Chye
7. Tan Lip Chong RX7
6. Sukhdev RX-7
7. Wong Eu Joe RX-7
10.Shukor Mazda 6
11.alchemis RX-7
12.Glen McGarry X-trail turbo