subaru s204 or bmw m3

huakenny said:
one is turbocharged and one is not..

since u mentioned is ur dad is trying to get as spare car....if ur dad like NA power then M3 of coz...

but if ur dad like a sudden blast of power, then get S204 as it comes wit turbo with 320hp...if not mistaken:_:

yo bro, he anything oso ok 1 ... we have no opinion which is turbo and which is na... the only thing he have in mind is s204 is a 2006 car while m3 is a 2003 or 2002 car.. but with a bmw badge le.. and haha spare car mostly i drive 1 .. i like power... but i scared if always drag the m3 it will spoil the car... not worth it.

is it worth buying a m3 now bcoz next year bmw going to launch E92 M3 with 4.0 V8 engine.. new body and totally new engine.. everythign change.... although the price is surely above 600k but is it worth to buy the old model... S204 is a new model... now oso 3 series they face off E46 and sell E90

Lennon said:
M3 it is..... Subaru is not it's worthy opponent.... Don't just fill your mind with power and 0-400m....... You can drive a M3 with one hand off on 250kph, quiet and luxurious.....

agree with you bro, it win on top speed and comfort and prestige with the bmw badge there....

fred_soo_88 said:
thanks for the info bro, but i heard last time when they launch the 325I with SMG2 gearbox a lot of problem.. they say like when up hill it will slide down and the power is not really there compare 2 real manual and is like u use for half a year the gearbox lose power this and that ...the SMG3 which in the new E60M5 only is stable....

FYI:

SMG - an E46 325i M-Tech spec

SMG11 - an E46 M3

SMG 111 - an E46 M3 CSL
- an E60 M5

They say like when up hill it will slide down of course it's manual gearbox.
All SMGs is the same.

power is not really there compare 2 real manual it's common manual gearbox just additional of the acuater to press your cluth during shifting gear.

lose power never heard so far..

The only inprovement for SMG 111 is the respond time, it take only 0.04 second for the gearbox to shift gear when you pull the paddle shift. The system is the same.

Lennon said:
M3 it is..... Subaru is not it's worthy opponent.... Don't just fill your mind with power and 0-400m....... You can drive a M3 with one hand off on 250kph, quiet and luxurious.....

You got the point...

hmmm, one is japz car and other one is germany.
For me, anytime go for bmw. for all sort of events, or balls or anything also suitable. S204, not really suitable lo...

moreover, u can drive a m3 for business purpose, drive a s204 is kinda for track + abit of street racing (sometimes)

hard to compare la.. both are totally different cars, designed for different purposes. it depends on your personal preference..

both are 'drivers' cars, both have lots of power, but they both represent very different values to the potential owner.

If you were to drive the S204 around most ppl will just go "just another WRX". You need to be an enthusiast who knows Subarus to really spot it.

M3 on the other hand stands out from other BMWs and gets instant recognition.

Performance wise? Don't worry too much because there will be some VTEC/Wiralution out there which will scare you in both cars anyway.

One is German, is a 2dr Coupe, looks both classy and brutal & has one of the most evocative names in Motoring. Rear wheels Drive with a howling inline6 NA ..pwoarrgh!!!!!

The other is Japanese , a 4dr sedan, looks boy racer-ish (wings et all), All wheel drive & runs a Turbo charged boxer 4.

I'd take the M3.

fred_soo_88 said:
the only thing im worried about is s204 have the stupid japanese tune where limit it to 180km/h onli.. but i read the forum they say the speed limiter is 250 km/h.. im not sure whether is uk cars or is general throughout the whole whole...

one more thing im worry about is in malaysia they don really have good workshop to service subaru car.. i heard a lot of sti owner drive all the way to singapore to service their car... but a m3 auto bavaria can serice in any bmw service center... talking about m3 they also have speed limited to 250km/h onli... my dad don plan to do any mod to the car.. all stock... the most scared is the speed limiter to 180 for s204...??

the speed limiter of s204 is 240km/h. it jus cost less than 400 bugs to delimit it and it will reach 260.. might be able to go abit more faster but i couldnt find a strecth of road with no traffic and less bumpy

as long as u dont mod it the subaru will last.. jus do the maintenence from time to time

both M3 and s204 will have replacement pretty soon, u might wanna pay attention to depreciation before going for any of the cars

As a spare car, i think the M3 wud be a better choice..
good for the occasional weekend getaway..
relaxing cruise on the highway..
choose cruise mode, even ur mom can drive it..
when the adrenaline comes, choose sport, then u cud bring it down sepang for a nice sunday morning track day..
bring it to work..
bring it to ur annual dinner at a posh hotel..
impress ur date..
impress ur father in law..
haha..

the subaru? for the hardcore enthusiast in u la..
nuttin's wrong with the subaru.. love the sound of the boxer..

i think it's just weird la.. u're the one tat's gonna drive the car and live w it..
i think it's really up to u and ur dad...

to me.. when u drive an UDM car..

ull hate japs car.

seriously..

Japanese cars absolutely dominate continentals. But then again, Jap cars are meant for modification. A jap car without modification makes no sense and takes the purpose away. Not saying they are not good stock, but why settle for stock when you have the potential to maximize it further 200 % ?

On the flipside ;Why modify if the base car is already awesome like the E46 M3

I don't see how a local tuner for example can improve what M-Division has spend countless hours fine tuning.

Hi Fred,still can't make up ur mind between Subaru S204 & BMW M3? :)

Ok.My pick,S204...

ill go for the m3 cuz i dun think ill be banging the car too much,but then again the m3 is decent enuff for ocasional track day,and yes indeed its a chick magnet,even in stock form,and its formal enuff for u to race in,or dine in.

2nd hand value wise mayb the sti got more to it since its the limited 1,but then again managing a turbo car would be abit of a hasle no?i dun think money is a problem for u since its ur spare car but time is esential rite?i dont think most of us have time to service or at least check their car once a month.

but then again its all up to the driver.to stroll around in n balik kampung wit ease or even bringing naggy gf's in,take the m3 cuz u can silently do 200++ without waking up ur passanger

but if u up to the tokyo drift fever,dam hell yea take the subaru.....i love jap car but its juz i dont think i have time to fix them

but overall i would take the m3 hand up pants down,its bcuz its more of an all rounder car rather than specialised car,u cant never go wrong wit an all rounder....well mayb if u try to rally it....but if u happend to lose some screws up there,make sure u rally in style......

juz a nooby expression,

+1 m3,make a poll that would help

Civic-R said:
Hi Fred,still can't make up ur mind between Subaru S204 & BMW M3? :)

Ok.My pick,S204...

yo brother felix... thanks for ur opinion but haha i still like ur car among those 2... haha.. but unfortunalety price not right :sad_smile: