subaru s204 or bmw m3

S204 is much more of a collectors. M3 is more practical if used often. but S204 i think not worth it... jus slight upgrades from a STi9. but an M3 is always an M3. :D v lucky!!!

faisal said:
On the flipside ;Why modify if the base car is already awesome like the E46 M3

I don't see how a local tuner for example can improve what M-Division has spend countless hours fine tuning.

Most people forgot the "gentleman" agreement all japanese sport car makers have, to make their cars no more than 280PS on paper. Basically, they left alot of room for improvement and its up to the driver to tune it to how he likes it.Thats the fun part.

Where else, a continental sport is build to almost its limit by its car manufacturer.If a stock japanese sport can compete with a continental sport, it just shows how much better the japanese sport car is.

In my opinion, a BMW M3 is an obsolete continental sport car. People are already talking about M5,M6,Ferraris,Lambo,Aston martins..etc.

Bah if you want a continental sports, why buy BMW ? =P No, there is no style, because chicks will think its a standard 3 series and car lovers know you are driving a slow, outdated car that gets eaten by japanese sports,and true exotica.

HanJackaL said:
Most people forgot the "gentleman" agreement all japanese sport car makers have, to make their cars no more than 280PS on paper. Basically, they left alot of room for improvement and its up to the driver to tune it to how he likes it.Thats the fun part.

Where else, a continental sport is build to almost its limit by its car manufacturer.If a stock japanese sport can compete with a continental sport, it just shows how much better the japanese sport car is.

In my opinion, a BMW M3 is an obsolete continental sport car. People are already talking about M5,M6,Ferraris,Lambo,Aston martins..etc.

Bah if you want a continental sports, why buy BMW ? =P No, there is no style, because chicks will think its a standard 3 series and car lovers know you are driving a slow, outdated car that gets eaten by japanese sports,and true exotica.
Han, you are still young..... Of course you'll like JDM over conti....... I own both BMW and JDM, when i go to work or business, I'll drive BMW, that's your status...... When i going to have some fun, i'll go for JDM....... I really like to mod JDM, it really widen your knowledge & make many friends in process..........

M3 is in the middle of STYLE, PERFORMANCE and STATUS....... It has it all....... When my japanese colleague knew that i have a BMW, they fell excited wanted to know it, BMW wasn't cheap there, with the fuel price and convenient of train system, car wasn't that neccessary there.......

You'll want a conti when you grow older......

Looks like everyone have answered the same points over and over again.

But for the sake of keeping the car an S204 man. Plus it's a newer car. Pitty they dont build any more rally homologation cars like they used too.

All rounder comfort and bling bling and status BMW lah.

I think the s204 might be a more forgiving car being 4wd compared to the BMW.

Then again it's the driver behind the wheel. s204 more politically correct for the younger crowd and the bmw more for the mature crowd.

Maintenance i've a feeling an M3 will cost more.

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
Looks like everyone have answered the same points over and over again.

But for the sake of keeping the car an S204 man. Plus it's a newer car. Pitty they dont build any more rally homologation cars like they used too.

All rounder comfort and bling bling and status BMW lah.

I think the s204 might be a more forgiving car being 4wd compared to the BMW.

Then again it's the driver behind the wheel. s204 more politically correct for the younger crowd and the bmw more for the mature crowd.

Maintenance i've a feeling an M3 will cost more.
Baby G, You're a 4WD luver la.haha

Han,

In your own words, a Euro manufacturer builts to the limits, whereass the Japs don't ( Actually the 280ps limit is bull, take a factory std R34 GTR and do and impromptu drag and it'll out drag any std Evo /Impreza.) Makes you think and wonder who's the better manufacturer.....

Botom Line a FR car like the M3 (obsolete? I don't think so) will give better driver involvement than a 4WD gizmo laden car.

Get to drive more cars more often and you'll get I mean about driver involvement.

PS. No offence to Impreza owners but I can't diferentiate from one Bug eyed Impreza from another or from one "Hawkeyed(?)" model from another. But then again I don't know much about cars anyway.....

Yes in my own words, ALL japanese cars are not build to the limits and give the driver room to improve and tune to suit his/her driving style.Thats my whole point !Not about whether a skyline actually has 280 HP on tap like a Evo or subaru.Whether it has 280 HP, or 320 HP, thats still FAR from its full potential.

So just imagine a japanese car with 50 % of its potential vs a Conti car like an M3 with 100 % of its potential which still loses out in all areas to the jap car.

Oh please,dont talk about "driver involvement". There is absolutely no match in this area when its jap vs conti. Contis are "old man" cars,its build for people who dont know how to drive and yet want to drive a sports car. Come on, M3s dont even have a clutch and the gearbox Auto Rev match for the driver and comes with launch control. How much driver involvement is that ?! LOL !

Want driver involvement?Get a RX7,Supra,Silvia,GTO,S2000...etc

HanJackaL said:
Yes in my own words, ALL japanese cars are not build to the limits and give the driver room to improve and tune to suit his/her driving style.Thats my whole point !Not about whether a skyline actually has 280 HP on tap like a Evo or subaru.Whether it has 280 HP, or 320 HP, thats still FAR from its full potential.

So just imagine a japanese car with 50 % of its potential vs a Conti car like an M3 with 100 % of its potential which still loses out in all areas to the jap car.

Oh please,dont talk about "driver involvement". There is absolutely no match in this area when its jap vs conti. Contis are "old man" cars,its build for people who dont know how to drive and yet want to drive a sports car. Come on, M3s dont even have a clutch and the gearbox Auto Rev match for the driver and comes with launch control. How much driver involvement is that ?! LOL !

Want driver involvement?Get a RX7,Supra,Silvia,GTO,S2000...etc

M3 do have clutch.......

lol yea,but then again i bet there is tuning kit for m3 nor m5 its just that they cost more bcuz they r not mainly made to be tuned again,like wat most european say,jap cars is like toys,while conti car is passion,and subaru maybe faster than m3 but when ur driving a m3......u get the idea

Lennon said:
Han, you are still young..... Of course you'll like JDM over conti....... I own both BMW and JDM, when i go to work or business, I'll drive BMW, that's your status...... When i going to have some fun, i'll go for JDM....... I really like to mod JDM, it really widen your knowledge & make many friends in process..........

M3 is in the middle of STYLE, PERFORMANCE and STATUS....... It has it all....... When my japanese colleague knew that i have a BMW, they fell excited wanted to know it, BMW wasn't cheap there, with the fuel price and convenient of train system, car wasn't that neccessary there.......

You'll want a conti when you grow older......

No i will never like a continental car...There is no reason to. I do drive a conti car to work, but only because i pamper my JDM. Every one has a BMW nowadays(Auntie,uncle,MLM Salesman), its very affordable. More affordable than japanese sports because it has 3 years free maintanence and good interest rates from bank.A true car lover will get a JDM car to mod and play with, or an exotica. I dont see ANY reason to get a M3.Except that its cheaper than the better conti sports.

I dont understand why do people keep thinking BMW is STYLE and STATUS.I think it means INSECURITY COMPLEX when you need a car to make you feel rich and powerful =) No offense intended.

Its like when those MLM salesman just got their first pay cheque, then they decide "OK ITS TIME TO GET A BMW TO MAKE ME FEEL SUCCESFULL !!! "

yea i feel u to,back then it use to be exclusive for a while,but now its toooooo many already,i have to agree on that,haihz no wondering i got my eyes on lambo now,hopefully it wont be famous too,if i can afford 1 la,haihz,life

The reason why the sudden craze for BMW is because price dropped TREMENDOUSLY. You can get a 330CI Convertible for around same price as a Evo 7 and a 328I for like 85 K. I got offered to take the new 1 series for less than Rm1000 a month installment, dont know what kind of plan they offering but i didnt bother to find out.

And banks offer VERY good interest rates and installment plans.So people decide its time to be stylish and feel succesfull =)

Lennon said:
M3 do have clutch.......

Why get a clutch M3 when there is SMG ? You are sacrificing performance for driver involvement..something you never have to do for JDM.Yes there are tuning kits offered for M3 and M5, but for the money spent, you gain so little.Not worth it.And after all the trouble,you will still get eaten by an exotica or a JDM.

HanJackaL said:
No i will never like a continental car...There is no reason to. I do drive a conti car to work, but only because i pamper my JDM. Every one has a BMW nowadays(Auntie,uncle,MLM Salesman), its very affordable. More affordable than japanese sports because it has 3 years free maintanence and good interest rates from bank.A true car lover will get a JDM car to mod and play with, or an exotica. I dont see ANY reason to get a M3.Except that its cheaper than the better conti sports.

I dont understand why do people keep thinking BMW is STYLE and STATUS.I think it means INSECURITY COMPLEX when you need a car to make you feel rich and powerful =) No offense intended.

Its like when those MLM salesman just got their first pay cheque, then they decide "OK ITS TIME TO GET A BMW TO MAKE ME FEEL SUCCESFULL !!! "
So you have a Porsche??? More comfortable than M3??? how do you know that??? The last time i saw you you're driving a civic, now a S15??

Both S204 and M3 have it's pro and con........ You don't have make such statement undermining other cars..... be cool bro......:shades_smile:

HanJackaL said:
Why get a clutch M3 when there is SMG ? You are sacrificing performance for driver involvement..something you never have to do for JDM.
It's the technology evolving into another level, SMG itself do have clutch without clutch pedal , like you said if you don't like SMG, get a manual......

JDM is slowly having pedal shift too, some Mazda and Toyota models are having it......... Japanese manufacturer are now not just looking into performance, they would like to compete with European technology too...... After all business always come first.....

Lennon said:
So you have a Porsche??? More comfortable than M3??? how do you know that??? The last i saw you you're driving a civic, now a S15??

Both S204 and M3 have it's pro and con........ You don't have make such statement undermining other cars..... be cool bro......:shades_smile:

Lol bro, my dad is a exotic car lover. I guess i am blessed to get to experience a 620 HP 996 twin turbo and a 360 Spider ,although not mine =) I drove both and i find the porsche have no charactor because its too comfortable and silent where else the 360 gearshift is too jerky,laggy and car is too big and bulky,and hard to drive in the city. The porsche is more comfortable than an merc S-class and nicer to drive in the city...not mentioning all the gadgets including a build in handphone with a slot for your sim card.The car is SO silent you cant even hear a single rumble or jerk from the engine and even when you floor it, all you can hear is a purring sound but G-Force at every gear and at any speed.Its so comfortable,till it becomes BORING..thats how the spider came into the garage,just because it has some noise and feels more sporty.Sucks man,have to buy 2 cars to experience 2 different things.Nothing as thrilling as a JDM with all the sweet sounds and adrenaline...all in 1 package too.

And a few of my friends have M3s which i sat in before,again, the SMG shifting is jerky.So like you said, if its comfort and performance, why M3 ?Its not even that comfortable, and not even that fast. Not dissing M3 owners,but its just a fact.

Anyway, i dont believe in conti cars even though all my cars at home are contis.But likewise, my dad hates my cars because its too hard to drive =) Thats how i came upon the conclusion that continental cars are for people who wants ease of driving with many gadgets to assist and still get to enjoy a sports car.Maybe in the future cars will have auto pilot where you can sit in the driver seat but the computer corrects every error so you dont skid or crash.

As for RX8 with pedal shift and comfort features,thats also the reason why RX7 will always be a legend and RX8 will just phase out with time.

I am just giving my humble opinion bro..not undermining anyone.Its just machines we are talking about!To me, i am totally against conti cars as i dont believe in a car i wont enjoy, but just driving around for so called "status".If i want a sports car, i will choose a car that gives me the adrenaline rush.I really have no trouble driving my S15 everywhere i go,from pasar malam to 5-star hotels, so i dont see a reason to spoil my fun by getting a "comfortable sports car".

I dont care if a car is 10,000 or 10,000,000. If i dont like it, i wont drive it. Regardless of how many hot chicks i will attract..I am sorry but i dont think an M3 has any Pros over a S204, if you can think of 1, name it.The S204 is more silent than M3,has 4 doors,smoother drive,faster,AWD,more comfortable seats,newer,rarer,better handling,cheaper to repair in case of accident,easier to find spare parts,cheaper road tax.

And no, i am not bias because i am not even a fan of Subaru,i only like Turbocharged Nissan cars and Honda Vtec.i am merely discussing the topic without being clouded by the stigmatism of the world when they say "If you drive a BMW,you are definately more stylish and attract more chicks than when you drive a S204"

You people have been brain washed by marketing !

ya,i admit again,ive been brainwashed by the marketing but damit m3 looks is sweeeeet,plus i think na car is kinda fun to drive,but turbo is also fun dun get me wrong,whole diffrent level.

but wat to do,the wolrd has taken the fact of beemer is more lavish than subaru,u cant change that,only the enthusiatst will know which 1 is nicer,but who cares wat car u driving as long as u enjoying it rite?

freaky

Ok la HansJackal

You're the DRIVING INVOLVEMENT EXPERT/GOD LA.
We bow to you, O/ Great Jap Car luver.

Pointless really arguing with you since at any given time you have proven that you hate Conti cars no matter what make /model...

Though when you mention a Mitsu GTO as one of your example for a car that gives driver involvement I find that hard to believe coz the GTO is one of the shittiest car ever to drive. all tech gizmo 4wd giving lifeless handling...

PEACE TO ALL JAP CARS .JAP CARS ROCK . CONTI SUCKS
- The gospel according to HansJackal-

HanJackaL said:
Lol bro, my dad is a exotic car lover. I guess i am blessed to get to experience a 620 HP 996 twin turbo and a 360 Spider ,although not mine =) I drove both and i find the porsche have no charactor because its too comfortable and silent where else the 360 gearshift is too jerky,laggy and car is too big and bulky,and hard to drive in the city. The porsche is more comfortable than an merc S-class and nicer to drive in the city...not mentioning all the gadgets including a build in handphone with a slot for your sim card.The car is SO silent you cant even hear a single rumble or jerk from the engine and even when you floor it, all you can hear is a purring sound but G-Force at every gear and at any speed.Its so comfortable,till it becomes BORING..thats how the spider came into the garage,just because it has some noise and feels more sporty.Sucks man,have to buy 2 cars to experience 2 different things.Nothing as thrilling as a JDM with all the sweet sounds and adrenaline...all in 1 package too.

And a few of my friends have M3s which i sat in before,again, the SMG shifting is jerky.So like you said, if its comfort and performance, why M3 ?Its not even that comfortable, and not even that fast. Not dissing M3 owners,but its just a fact.

Anyway, i dont believe in conti cars even though all my cars at home are contis.But likewise, my dad hates my cars because its too hard to drive =) Thats how i came upon the conclusion that continental cars are for people who wants ease of driving with many gadgets to assist and still get to enjoy a sports car.Maybe in the future cars will have auto pilot where you can sit in the driver seat but the computer corrects every error so you dont skid or crash.

As for RX8 with pedal shift and comfort features,thats also the reason why RX7 will always be a legend and RX8 will just phase out with time.

I am just giving my humble opinion bro..not undermining anyone.Its just machines we are talking about!To me, i am totally against conti cars as i dont believe in a car i wont enjoy, but just driving around for so called "status".If i want a sports car, i will choose a car that gives me the adrenaline rush.I really have no trouble driving my S15 everywhere i go,from pasar malam to 5-star hotels, so i dont see a reason to spoil my fun by getting a "comfortable sports car".

I dont care if a car is 10,000 or 10,000,000. If i dont like it, i wont drive it. Regardless of how many hot chicks i will attract..I am sorry but i dont think an M3 has any Pros over a S204, if you can think of 1, name it.The S204 is more silent than M3,has 4 doors,smoother drive,faster,AWD,more comfortable seats,newer,rarer,better handling,cheaper to repair in case of accident,easier to find spare parts,cheaper road tax.

And no, i am not bias because i am not even a fan of Subaru,i only like Turbocharged Nissan cars and Honda Vtec.i am merely discussing the topic without being clouded by the stigmatism of the world when they say "If you drive a BMW,you are definately more stylish and attract more chicks than when you drive a S204"

:regular_smile: take it easy bro.. JDM is the best car in the WORLD...

HanJackaL said:

Hahhhhaaaa..... Han, i like your attitude....... I test drive 997 before, it's good and comfy but cant really afford it....... Maybe your dad can get me one.... hhehehe...... You diss Porsche and Ferrari, you must be rich kid, but what make you talk big if you can't even buy a RX7 with cash???????? You know what i meaned....... Pls be humble sometimes, that make you better person.....

I choose BMW becos i need that for work, JDM is unconvenient with all the bumps in KL is killing me...... The chassis was strong, after 4 years of driving, it may not be as strong as Porsche, but price wise is cheaper.......

If you dont like conti, than just let it be........