I am curious. The government itself was the one who categorized the public into high-income, moderate-income and low-income brackets, and when discussing many issues the mention of a specific income group is often mentioned. Why, when mentioned here, it causes so much distress?
The two person said nothing wrong. Perhaps you guys are too "sensitive" or perhaps ashamed to be associated with the low-income group that you seeks to justify your incapability of understanding the real meaning behind those words by twisting their original intent?
The sentence, word for word is:
Goh said that this was common among drivers from the lower-income bracket.
“Car modification is a way for someone to get noticed. Since they cannot afford expensive modifications that run into thousands of ringgit, this is a cheaper way of getting attention,” he said.
He was just giving a general statistical statement regarding the lower-income group. How else should he portray the fact? If you're him, how will you say? Come on, keep it real. These things are cheap and people tend to buy them because they are cheap. And the most people who buy them, according to Goh, are the people who are categorized in the lower-income group. There is no discrimination here, he is merely stating his observation.
How if I am a police officer, and when interviewed I say most criminals come from the lower-income group. Now what? You're gonna sue me for discriminating the lower-income group? I was merely stating a fact, from my own observation and my statistic, yet you intepret it as a blanket statement to refer to all lower-income group people as criminals. Who's discriminating who now?
Car modifications is to get noticed. Some do that for the wow factor, the bling blings. Please do not deny that there ARE people who modify their cars for the wow factor. And he is right when he said that since people in the lower-income group cannot afford the expensive mods, they go for cheaper mods to get attention. Again I ask, did he refer to all modders who are in the lower-income group? He did not, he was referring to the people he mentioned earlier - the ones who mod their car for attention and so happens to belong to the lower-income group. And its fact that these people seek cheaper mods because they simply do not have the money for more expensive ones. Common sense. Why are you guys twisting his words to gross misintepretations? Did he refer to you? No! He refered to the people, who are in the low income group, who want their cars to grab attention, and do not have the money to go for higher-end mods. Are you one of them?
I do not feel offended in any way, even as I am categorized in the low-income group, and am a car modder too. Although I do not buy those cheap ass stuff, I think the hostility towards the people in the article is uncalled-for, and unjustified.