The Fatest Download Speed

zealless said:
Is ur computer setting problem la .... i stay in damansara jaya, so many people use broadband also no JAm ... sure setting problem lor, try to use other settings .... e.g. config ur router ...

i dun tink much wrong with the setting le... its depends on the port/cable transfer speed in the areas.. a person who stay in same place but might belongs to different port.. juz like laz few weeks.. net down for forthnight, but my fren next door nothin happen... finally found out is the port failure... tmnet fix it... then jln balik..

check your up/down line SNR rate
if its too low u need to call tmnuts and tiu them upside down

typical one would be around 30>40dB

just wanna share my experience, this was when streamyx had not begun offer 1mbps for home users. it was still 512kbps at that time a few years ago. when i first got it i checked with all sorts of broadband testing things/sites.

The speed was roughly 256kbps, so went to telekom and complain, and i found out they never activated/changed the my speed to 512kbps. after that everything is ok so far. even with 1mbps now.

the same thing happened to my friend. he went to complain and everything is ok until now.

btw i'm living in ulu kelang area and i complained at telekom titiwangsa. so maybe u should go to telekom and complain. just my 3cents.

ermm i have a problem too here last time, the line here was so terrible, i live at sunway and sometime it wont ever connect at noon, but night no problem like on highway. after that my cousin ask the telekom guys check it, and now no problem, can reach my top speed here.

so what i want to mean is : telekom sometime might mess up with their setting there at their station. so dont shy, pick up your phone now and call tm guys.

Call 1300889515 and screw their ass of their chair everyday... then ur problem will be solved... this last couple of months i selalu Error:691 until i found out that someone is stealing my line... ahahah screwed them for security breach !:D

I already made a report to TMnet. But they ask me to wait, wait, wait and wait... 1 more day waiting, 1 more day call to screw them, another day, screw call again... Until now, problem still didn't solve... My frens at same area with me also same. The connection just like turtle., err i think is snails.
Now im very hurry, because I'm watching "The Herbalist's Manual" until episode 18... episode 19-25 still under download. :mad:

gloss said:
i dun tink much wrong with the setting le... its depends on the port/cable transfer speed in the areas.. a person who stay in same place but might belongs to different port.. juz like laz few weeks.. net down for forthnight, but my fren next door nothin happen... finally found out is the port failure... tmnet fix it... then jln balik..

I staying in OZ now, always got this router setting problem, some problem, speed damn slow, so i suggest only ma ... or maybe sometimes people still ur line leh ... in m'sia .. quite common one wor i heard la ... :D :D

ok lah i tell u guys

1. the distance if your distance to far from telekom xchange of kos slow ler even me @ office
use 2mbps only can get 1.7-1.8 only .. cause they give speed 1mbps from the xchange not u all can get fully speed .. they say best afford .. work well on cooper cable but the gr8 distance is 5-6 only 6.something above can but sry to say the speed lost ...

2. cable quality . the best is copper but think lah cioppernormally old cable like tahun 88 plus punya lah mayb cause of it also ...

okay no war peaceeeeeeeeeeeeeee :P

Don't forget to seek a rebate. Mine is 1Mbps but initially, they will program it to 512Kbps. You would have to call to get them configured to 1Mbps. Even with that, my connection speed was only 300Kbps. After 2weeks of screwing TM, I decided to configure the the modem and got it running at 700Kbps. I tweak my PC further and I'm getting about 800Kbps.

Again, don't forget to ask for a rebate.

There's a significant difference when it's KB and Kb. I myself am confused by it and not too sure but if you get 800KBps, you're essentially on a 10mbps line. (IT gods please correct me if I'm wrong)

Anyway, there's a new standard out for ADSL which is storming those countries with very developed broadband infrastructure. It's called ADSL2 / ADSL2+. Essentially it pushes the limits of the current copper technology to churn out a throughput of 12mbps (ADSL2) and 25mbps (ADSL2+). Australia and Singapore already has home user plans for both this standards (AUD160 odd for 24mbps).

So, let's just do a rough estimate of how long it'll take before we eventually get ADSL2 standards.

Year Event
2007 - TMNet introduces 2mbps home user plans
2008 - IT personnels in TMNet discovers the existance of ADSL2 / ADSL2+ while surfing on the internet
2009 - New standard for ADSL !! HURRAH !! ADSL3 / ADSL3+ with speeds of up to 54mbps
2010 - TMNet announces intention to upgrade to ADSL2 / No news on ADSL2+ standards
2012 - Klang Valley is first to receive ADSL2 / No News yet on ADSL2+ technology
2013 - ADSL3+ has been abolished and replaced with an even faster standard. Now called ADSLX for Assynmetrical Digital Subscriber Line Extreme. Supports speeds of up to 108mbps
2014 - Whole of Malaysia receives ADSL2 / No news yet on ADSL2+
2017 - TMNet finally announces the rollout of ADSL2+ technology for home users in Malaysia. Klang Valley to receive test participants
2020 - Vision achieved. Rollout of ADSL2+ technology for home users in Malaysia. Prime Minister applauds TMNet for helping achieve Vision 2020.

loafer said:

There's a significant difference when it's KB and Kb. I myself am confused by it and not too sure but if you get 800KBps, you're essentially on a 10mbps line. (IT gods please correct me if I'm wrong)

Anyway, there's a new standard out for ADSL which is storming those countries with very developed broadband infrastructure. It's called ADSL2 / ADSL2+. Essentially it pushes the limits of the current copper technology to churn out a throughput of 12mbps (ADSL2) and 25mbps (ADSL2+). Australia and Singapore already has home user plans for both this standards (AUD160 odd for 24mbps).

So, let's just do a rough estimate of how long it'll take before we eventually get ADSL2 standards.

Year Event
2008 - IT personnels in TMNet discovers the existance of ADSL2 / ADSL2+ while surfing on the internet
2009 - New standard for ADSL !! HURRAH !! ADSL3 / ADSL3+ with speeds of up to 54mbps
2010 - TMNet announces intention to upgrade to ADSL2 / No news on ADSL2+ standards
2012 - Klang Valley is first to receive ADSL2 / No News yet on ADSL2+ technology
2013 - ADSL3+ has been abolished and replaced with an even faster standard. Now called ADSLX for Assynmetrical Digital Subscriber Line Extreme. Supports speeds of up to 108mbps
2017 - TMNet finally announces the rollout of ADSL2+ technology for home users in Malaysia. Klang Valley to receive test participants
2020 - Vision achieved. Rollout of ADSL2+ technology for home users in Malaysia. Prime Minister applauds TMNet for helping achieve Vision 2020.

WAH LAN YEH 10MegaBITs and 10 Megabtyes is a huge different man .... reminder bytes is bigger than bits ok ... like ... 1 byte ... 7 bits ... or 8 bits .. forgotten liao ... yr one com science shit ...

SataniC said:
this is the fastest ever downloading speed recorded by me last year.....right after i formatted my pc....ekekekkekekekekek

Hahahha this main tipu one. Using download accelerator with "resume support" when you pause and resume again you will get for the next 1-5 sec at high speed then after that will dropped back to normal speed....

Also your software is unregister version babe hahahah....can see the "advertistment" header hehehehe

zealless said:
WAH LAN YEH 10MegaBITs and 10 Megabtyes is a huge different man .... reminder bytes is bigger than bits ok ... like ... 1 byte ... 7 bits ... or 8 bits .. forgotten liao ... yr one com science shit ...

haha yeah i've forgotten mine too..that's why I'm unsure which is which...but yeah at least the idea is there...

anyway...ADSL2 would be the thing to look forward to...but first...we've gotto HOPE that tmnet cleans up their act...like real soon

I've been using the cheapest Streamyx package for 2 years already and all this while I hack my line to get 2.7Mbps, I can download 8 files at once. Each at 40Kbps or sometimes 60Kbps. If I download 1 file alone like windows media player installation file I get 300+Kbps :)

loafer said:

Year Event

Have you heard of VDSL before? Very high bandwidth Digital Subscriber Line it reaches 54Mbps on copper cable and it's been around for years. The only limitation is distance. I think ADSL2 can go further distance that's why it's taking on.

End of the day... it is our international links that is small and congested.

cyclonite said:
I've been using the cheapest Streamyx package for 2 years already and all this while I hack my line to get 2.7Mbps, I can download 8 files at once. Each at 40Kbps or sometimes 60Kbps. If I download 1 file alone like windows media player installation file I get 300+Kbps :)

if you using 1mbps package, you got 2.7mbps that's mean over 170%.... how you hack it?

cyclonite said:
Have you heard of VDSL before? Very high bandwidth Digital Subscriber Line it reaches 54Mbps on copper cable and it's been around for years. The only limitation is distance. I think ADSL2 can go further distance that's why it's taking on.

Yes, unfortunately VDSL works from a distance of 300m - 1500m only. Any further than that it'll stop dropping like mad. But it's still amazing...at max distance you'll still probably get something like 13Mbps or so. Still beats the hell outta 1Mbps.

cyclonite:
As for line hacking, not so sure how that works? Can it even be done? Care to share with us?
I personally think you're one of the lucky few who have gotten uncapped line thanks to some TMNet technician who forgot to do the proper setup at the DSLAM?