Turbo-ing a 1.3 HC-E Engine?

speed,
patience my fren...my car has been in w'shop ever since last yr, only on da road jus for runnin in..other than tat now my microtech got problem,left my digi handset on da floor(buttons facing down)password was put on accidently..had to send back to aussie, now still waitin..so mayb goin in sepang wit stock ecu n boost only 1 bar...sigh...i'm definately goin..i think jamil(extremeleo) oso goin..not sure..

tezt,
wit standard internals u cant boost high, u gotta understand tat NA engines run on high compression..turbo is low..so honestly u cant boost high..mayb 0.6 will b ur highest..if u wanna boost high find pistons tat r almost da same size wit low compression or get slightly bigger(xtra cost of reborin ur block, n possibilities of moddin ur conrod)...thrs aot of things u gotta do..normally i u don hv a solid base ud b spenddin alot jus to turbo charge..
coz now from carb u gotta convert to EFI n u wanna turbo charge..alot of money thr..unless u alredi usin EFI then diff story..if i were u got for GTti or 4e..up to u...

bro meandmybitch,

yeah, HC-E is an EFI engine. So, I guess that aside, I'd just have to bother about

internal engine strength la? The pistons, conrod and the piston rings.. And of

course the SAFC and the FCD. I'm afraid 4e is outta the budget and might still

reconsider gtti.

Running only at 1 bar at Sepang? How much hp would that be bro?

Thats a shame la, have to go back to stock ecu.:cry_smile:

Cheers,
Tezt.

teztozterone said:
... and sorry to bother, but you didn't answer my

previous question la, are stock HC-E internals strong enough to sustain 1 bar

boost?Btw, what are you riding bro?One more thing bro, how much is the price for

the Sepang Drag tickets? To watch la I mean...hehehe.. Thanks.
I can't answer your question about engine internals strength because I do not know. But as meandmebitch mentioned, generally bolt-on turbos run low boost.

I use a G100 Charade which has been converted to a GTti with a few mods done to it.

The grandstand tickets cost RM5.

As V8 Nutter has pointed out, a N/A engine can be modified to perform pretty well. Just depends on what mods are done and how much $$$ you are willing to spend. Any car modification needs to be planned and thought out carefully, then an experienced, good mechanic is needed to implement it.

tezt,
ur EFI engine how much??moddin it plus gettin da extra bits ere n thr...in da end its actually better for u to actually change to gtti or 4e...
4e isnt expensive bro..actually gtti costs more but u save on da labour coz 4e gotta do alot of stuff..

1 bar in sepang??sadly yeah..i cant find a FCD in time, my stock ecu cant let me boost high..dunno how many hp la...but will try my best to do something bout it...

anyways would b good if u guys could come..

ho ho, this is a hot thread, im running a HC-C and ive yet to dyno it. maybe once i dyno i could tell you the figures =) but im expecting to get around 80ps? or maybe less? no idea man, but im pretty sure that engine has alot of potential, the internals are stong, cause ive been whacking it regulary and its still surviving my bashings. of course i do regular mantainence to the engine so that might be the cause thats its still in pretty good shape, been running that engine for bout 2 years now ( i swapped for another HC block due to my other block cracked) and thinking of the amount of bashings i gave it only now its starting to leak a lil here and there. the seals are worning out and i guess its about time to change but so far the engine has no problems whatsoever...

(maybe cause im alwiz running a slightly richer mixture to prevent my car from leaning out once it reaches 8k revs =þ)

and reading your needs for a turbo, i would highly suggest you to either go for a CB70/80 or a 4eft-e. its much easier to upgrade from there than to spend on a HC-E unit and turbocharging it. ive read somewhere in ZTH where a guy actually turboed his MyVI and its running pretty well taking in the fact that he has an ECU and also proper tuning job. heard he spent around 10K or more for that conversion and bearing in mind also he did not need to get a halfcut and it was more of a BOT project =)

cheeers, my two cents worth...

Whoa! Information Overload! hahaha..

bro Speed Demon,

Wow! Your gtti running at 180hp++? What mods did you make to it?

Hybrid turbine? What other mods la? Would like to know. Thanks

bro meandmybitch,

Well, my unker works in klang, he's a half-cutter, so, he and his hafkat buddies

quoted for me + & - RM3k-RM4k for the HC-E engine + intallation + turbo-ing it...

Still vague with whats included in the package, will ask him soon. But then

From what I know and researched, hakat 4e-fte is RM2 - 2.5k and hakat gtti is

RM3k, so all in all + installation is also about RM 4.5 - RM 5k. 4e-fte is indeed

cheaper and of course, it was my 1st choice as well. Its a very powerful engine,

1.3 16 valve DOHC Intercooled Turbo with EFI. 135hp stock!

The headache comes in when you have to ENDORSE it la... Aiyoh!

I have to fork out another RM500 - RM1000 for endorsement by a runner,

plus, if kena roadblock, how? Money will flow out like water from my pockets

la:cry_smile: If anyone can help me with this "endorsement bull s**t ", then YES!

I'm DEFINATELY getting a 4e-fte. I was quoted RM 6- 7 k ( 4e with installation,

repairs and endorsement, but honestly, I think its the endorsement part thats

not worth the money, eh? )

Thats why I have to resort to secondary and tertiary options ( Gtti and H-CE )...

bro Gavan,

You own a carb version of the HC series la. How is it performing? Seems very

reliable too.. Any mods you done with it?

My dad has a Myvi, he says its powerful enough, doesn't have to turbo it..lol..

cheers all tai kor,
Tezt

teztozterone said:
Oops, my mistake Speed Demon, not exactly the same la.. The Bore of both HC-E

and Gtti is the same at 76mm respectively but the HC-E's Stroke is 71.4mm as

opposed to the gtti's 73mm... and sorry to bother, but you didn't answer my

previous question la, are stock HC-E internals strong enough to sustain 1 bar

boost?Btw, what are you riding bro?One more thing bro, how much is the price for

the Sepang Drag tickets? To watch la I mean...hehehe.. Thanks.

bro V8_nutter,

Using which turbine bro, to get 160hp++? Or is NA can reach that value already? Wah Lao! Thats means

if add turbo can easily 200hp++? Thanks.

Bro meandmybitch,

Not bad man, class B, No NOS category right? Pit against all the turbo-d cars with higher cc's?

Hahaha... They sure think if place you in class C you sure tapao other cars leh? lol.

All the best bro! Gam ba teh!

Regards,
Tezt.

I feel you got the wrong understanding between turbo & normally aspirated setup. You saying that with normally aspirated setup that peak 160bhp can gain more horsepower with turbo,,,,which you are wrong:regular_smile: . Using a high stressed NA engine with Turbo will lead to disaster aka blown engine.

Turbo & Normally Aspirated "setup" is like water and oil, they are totally different. NA needs "compression" but Turbo needs "boost", high compression with high ignition works well on NA but Turbo needs low compression with high "cooling" and a boost.

teztozterone said:
Whoa! Information Overload! hahaha..

bro Speed Demon,

Wow! Your gtti running at 180hp++? What mods did you make to it?

Hybrid turbine? What other mods la? Would like to know. Thanks

bro meandmybitch,

Well, my unker works in klang, he's a half-cutter, so, he and his hafkat buddies

quoted for me + & - RM3k-RM4k for the HC-E engine + intallation + turbo-ing it...

Still vague with whats included in the package, will ask him soon. But then

From what I know and researched, hakat 4e-fte is RM2 - 2.5k and hakat gtti is

RM3k, so all in all + installation is also about RM 4.5 - RM 5k. 4e-fte is indeed

cheaper and of course, it was my 1st choice as well. Its a very powerful engine,

1.3 16 valve DOHC Intercooled Turbo with EFI. 135hp stock!

The headache comes in when you have to ENDORSE it la... Aiyoh!

I have to fork out another RM500 - RM1000 for endorsement by a runner,

plus, if kena roadblock, how? Money will flow out like water from my pockets

la:cry_smile: If anyone can help me with this "endorsement bull s**t ", then YES!

I'm DEFINATELY getting a 4e-fte. I was quoted RM 6- 7 k ( 4e with installation,

repairs and endorsement, but honestly, I think its the endorsement part thats

not worth the money, eh? )

Thats why I have to resort to secondary and tertiary options ( Gtti and H-CE )...

bro Gavan,

You own a carb version of the HC series la. How is it performing? Seems very

reliable too.. Any mods you done with it?

My dad has a Myvi, he says its powerful enough, doesn't have to turbo it..lol..

cheers all tai kor,
Tezt

Tezt,,,i think you have to keep it real lah, what is your main target ?? Issit for drag race,,,,or for circuit racing,,,or for Time Trials,,,or for road use ? If you intent to use it as your daily car,,,then better you opt for a 4eFTE or a GTTI, which you can feel the power straightaway. Modification is for the hardcores and more hassle you have to dealt with.

Turbocharging an HCE is not an easy task nor it's reliable. Squeezing more horsepower from NA engine is not reliable also, so for the road use,,,,stick with a standard engine (4efte, gtti, hde, hce):regular_smile:

bro V8_nutter,

Oh i see... sorry for my inexperience, never drove or owned a turbo car before,

or even participated in races, so I guess you all must've more experience la...

respect respect...

Seriously, as I said, 4e-fte was my 1st choice, Its just the endorsement thats

bothering me. So, anyone can help me with this issue? And gtti is very rare these

days, I feel that a NA HC-E has not enough kick, so I want to turbo it ( This was

my last resort! ).. I knew that NA engines can't sustain high boost.. But it was a

cheaper solution (read my last post to understand why.) Any solutions to these

problems above?

Thanks,
Tezt.

I agree with you that HCE is okay only on power, but if you want more, HCE is damn easy to get those extra horses without turbocharging. If you have the time, go and buy an HDE 4-2-1 extractor,,,it really makes a difference :regular_smile: Then after you get used with that power, go buy SAFC and tune again your ecu,,these will keep you happy for a few month.

Then again you get bored and want more power issit,,then go send your cylinder head for skimming. Skimming will upped your compression and increased tourque, so you can now race with 3 medium size person on board and still got the power. The list goes on until your engine blows :Not_Impressed:

Good advice from an experienced veteran!!

So who is going this Saturday? Please list your name here:

1. Speed Demon

Ho ho,,,Speedy ma fren, how's your track car doing ? Installing rolled cage alredi ?

Speed Demon said:
Aaron, it's just my opinion about fitting larger turbos. Like I said, if you want you can always fit a larger turbo. Look at meandmebitch's turbo! :omg_smile:

Ahh... what is meandmebitch's setup like? Where can I find it?

bro V8_nutter,

Wow, you are very experienced with HC an HD's. Respect bro.. Do you own

one before? How much hp and torque hike can I get if i mod like you say in

your previous reply? Thanks a lot bro.

bro Speed Demon,

May I confirm with you later this week if I'll be joining you guys? Still can't finalize

my Saturday schedule yet. Will tell you ASAP. Btw, what time it starts? Thanks bro.

Regards,
Tezt.

For the "all out" maximum mods, HCE can get 160bhp. Can sprint 0-100 kmh time 6 sec, but you wont get a reliable car. Your idling will sucks big time (jumping) and timing is on 1500 RPM.

Dont get too excited by horsepower number,,,we live in a real world & full race mods are not advisable at all.

V8_nutter said:
Ho ho,,,Speedy ma fren, how's your track car doing ? Installing rolled cage alredi ?
Car is still a daily-use car. Hopefully end of the year can be a track car. I finally managed to fix most of the problems in it. Only thing left is a new set of suspension. Roll-cage will only go in when the car becomes a track car.

everblur said:
Ahh... what is meandmebitch's setup like? Where can I find it?
Look at his blog. You can also talk to XtremeLeo. But I also suggest you read V8-Nutter's comments in this topic.

tez said:
May I confirm with you later this week if I'll be joining you guys? Still can't finalize my Saturday schedule yet. Will tell you ASAP. Btw, what time it starts?
No problem. Event starts around 8pm. If we are there at 9:30pm should be just nice. SMS me at 012-2321025.

if u use g100 n wanna turbo engines better use cb 70 aura gtti...very suitable for aura g100 casis..dont make mistakes... servey 1st..

V8_nutter said:
I agree with you that HCE is okay only on power, but if you want more, HCE is damn easy to get those extra horses without turbocharging. If you have the time, go and buy an HDE 4-2-1 extractor,,,it really makes a difference :regular_smile: Then after you get used with that power, go buy SAFC and tune again your ecu,,these will keep you happy for a few month.

Then again you get bored and want more power issit,,then go send your cylinder head for skimming. Skimming will upped your compression and increased tourque, so you can now race with 3 medium size person on board and still got the power. The list goes on until your engine blows :Not_Impressed:

:regular_smile: agree with you 100% especially your last sentence "The list goes on until your engine blows"

Bro V8_nutter,

Yeah I guess you're right, practicallity usually is more important than anything

else, I'm opting for a change to the cb70, less troublesome...

And its easier for conversion too.. No need to worry about endorsement la

electronics la, compression la or even the mountings.. Just plug and play.

Dream Machine will most prolly do the conversion for me. The cb70 is about Rm3k

and workmanship is Rm1.2-1.3k. Total maybe about RM5k +/- with repairs

to halfcut engine .

Bro Speed Demon,

Sorry, will not be able to make it this Saturday, having some family event...

Irregardless of how much I love cars, family still 1st...:regular_smile:

To all tai ko,

meandmybitch, Speed Demon, V8_nutter and gavan...

Many thanks for your patience in educating me about turbo and NA engines and

also about electronics. I've learnt many new things. My resolution now is to get my

cb70, and will keep you guys updated on my car. Thanks again to you guys,

I'll be able to improve my ride further in the near future! Arigato-ghozai-mashta!

Cheers,
Tezt.