turbo, supercharge or transplant?

wah sifu chin wan play with straight cut dogbox liau ar? that quaife one no need high final drive liau.. already close enough XD 5th gear 1:1 ratio... me no skill play with dog engagement gbox wor..

actually I don't know the feel of straigth cut, only think close ratio enough.... but no money ah, dream dream lah :)

http://www.sdp-si.com/D190/HTML/D190T50.htm

Blacktop20V said:
It cost me around RM7k inclusive of turbo, piston, 4EFTE upper block, full over-haul, exhaust and turbo acc. eg. BOV, manual boost controller, etc.

Actually all tranfer from 4EFTE engine and I only use back my lower block due to JPJ hassle free.

Good luck

which is cheaper ?

turbo charge a 1.6 4efe
or
up the cc of 1.3 4efte to 1.6

guest18 said:
which is cheaper ?

turbo charge a 1.6 4efe
or
up the cc of 1.3 4efte to 1.6

If your mec can do the 1.6 turbo charge, then bolt on only. but have to change few things to get higher boost or else standard boost only lo...

Acoustic said:
actually I don't know the feel of straigth cut, only think close ratio enough.... but no money ah, dream dream lah :)

http://www.sdp-si.com/D190/HTML/D190T50.htm
i did abit of research last time when i crazy about dog engagement straight cut gearbox, can learn abit more about them, and probably enough to "imagine" how they would feel like:

-straight cut gears

less power loss compare to normal helical gears, you might just get that extra 5hp at the wheel :rofl:

same like normal t50's reverse gear (straight cut too, right?), which means it will whine when you go fast, heck, we reverse 20km/h already hear the loud wheeee~ whine at the gearbox, what more to say if we rev all the way to get 50km/h on first gear XD~ can be a good thing or a bad thing depend on you.

-no synchromesh

you need to double declutch everytime you downshift, or rev matching, just like most big and old lorry/truck. if you shift a gear without rev matching, expect some loud cranking noice.

you can upshift without using the clutch, just hantam the gear shifter wahahhaha~ (as i read)

-durability

more durable than hellical gears, easier to manufacture, thats why it is prefered by profesional racing team. hantam hantam on the track without worrying it break down halfway, and then just change them if they are worn out at the end of the race.

note: above statements are type based on my memory after reading some materials on the net. resource: wikipedia, google, quaife site, various online automotive site.

but the most important thing is...:
http://www.quaifeamerica.com/gears/corolla.htm
http://www.trdparts.jp/list_race-mis_ae86.html

quife gearbox + modification to stock gbox case(no final drive change) = RM24,996.24

TRD gbox + final drive = RM10118.15

damn...

KE70 or LE + svt'd hahaha.. Seg svt bt also have to ketepi la..if see them roaring behind like ikan laga.. some more all sensei's car is FR ones.. lagi ketepi la.. hahha!! ^_^

btw the 4efte above issit 1.3cc starlet engine or 4afe plus t r? :D

Seen SEG with starlet turbo engine but.. never really go and drag with da fella.. pickup..turbo so aiyer.. already know and aspected.. but top end?

christopherr ah, trd so looks so much cheaper.... but still cannot afford so dream talk close ratio from quaife :0 hahsahsasha

sbirdz said:
KE70 or LE + svt'd hahaha.. Seg svt bt also have to ketepi la..if see them roaring behind like ikan laga.. some more all sensei's car is FR ones.. lagi ketepi la.. hahha!! ^_^

btw the 4efte above issit 1.3cc starlet engine or 4afe plus t r? :D

Seen SEG with starlet turbo engine but.. never really go and drag with da fella.. pickup..turbo so aiyer.. already know and aspected.. but top end?
hahahaha.. really have to tepi tepi sikit liau.. cuz you never know when the ke70 will fall apart with svt/bt inside :rofl: everyday i drive car also scary

chin,
use quaife your gearbox need modification, since they only sell the gearset, not the gearbox; while trd is whole gearbox one... and quaife only enthusiast know about it, trd ah beng also know wor.. wahahahhahaha

btw, cusco clutch really that hard meh? i get use to it liau so i dunno, but everyone i know sit in my car after try the clutch all give me wtfzomg look and then laugh like crazy..

5k? 3SGTE la bro.....

after put it into your engine bay....

215/225 or 245hp gains, depends on your taste

If u buy supercharger... 165... turbocharging it needs more work... maybe extra 5k...

same as 20v turbo....

kacuk 4EFTE is OK but.....

3sgte is a ready-for-war.....

you won't have to upgrade anything unless you wanna play with EVO.... hmmmmm....

my vote: 3sgte..... if u want a swap and powerful....

cos if u use a 4agze or 4AGTE...... the 3SGTE it self are prepared by Toyota.... so reliability is not an issue.... upgrading means more RND.... RND mean Funds.... Funds mean money... Money mean No Fun at all..

me? sticking with 20v SVT cos the parts are easily found..... cheap and reliable too....

in the end it just depends on your driving taste.... some prefers NA, some loves Turbo... some loves stock... I used to use turbo but switched to NA cos it is more controllable and I love the power curve...

corollagtouring said:
5k? 3SGTE la bro.....

after put it into your engine bay....

215/225 or 245hp gains, depends on your taste

If u buy supercharger... 165... turbocharging it needs more work... maybe extra 5k...

same as 20v turbo....

kacuk 4EFTE is OK but.....

3sgte is a ready-for-war.....

you won't have to upgrade anything unless you wanna play with EVO.... hmmmmm....

my vote: 3sgte..... if u want a swap and powerful....

cos if u use a 4agze or 4AGTE...... the 3SGTE it self are prepared by Toyota.... so reliability is not an issue.... upgrading means more RND.... RND mean Funds.... Funds mean money... Money mean No Fun at all..

me? sticking with 20v SVT cos the parts are easily found..... cheap and reliable too....

in the end it just depends on your driving taste.... some prefers NA, some loves Turbo... some loves stock... I used to use turbo but switched to NA cos it is more controllable and I love the power curve...

okie okie .. how much the 3sgte would cost me r? .. btw, the engine is from wat car r ? .. kind of new in modding world .. kekeke .. dun mind teach me more .. yum cha next time ...

bro corollagtouring, u have my vote.
go for 3sgte la if u wanna play turbo. oem eqipped turbo from toyota. the engine comes from toyota celica gt4 model.
http://www.japanmotors.co.uk/images/1994%20celica%20gt4%20silver%20engine.jpg

watch out for this fella guys, he's got one hella monster in his way...heheheeh:shades_smile:

4agze_gt said:
bro corollagtouring, u have my vote.
go for 3sgte la if u wanna play turbo. oem eqipped turbo from toyota. the engine comes from toyota celica gt4 model.
http://www.japanmotors.co.uk/images/1994%20celica%20gt4%20silver%20engine.jpg

watch out for this fella guys, he's got one hella monster in his way...heheheeh:shades_smile:

okie okie .. tht means is 1.8 le ... how bout FC ah ? .. would it b very high? n how much would it cost me ?

samuelccy said:
okie okie .. tht means is 1.8 le ... how bout FC ah ? .. would it b very high? n how much would it cost me ?
what you mean? if you mean the displacement then its 2.0liter not 1.8.

fc ar? hmm... see how heavy is your right foot :rofl:

Fcut price?
3SGTE- maybe 3500~4500
4AGE SVT- 1800~2500
4AGE BT- 2800~4500 depends on transmission and mileage
4AGZE AE101- 2500~3500 depends on modification.

but better spend big at one time....

cos

if u buy cheap FC... like 4agze.... maybe you will:
1) change manifold- 1000
2) change to turbo- 700
3) turbo oil lines- 300
4) ECU need to mod- 1800 (greddy emanage)

In the end, better put 3SGTE cos no mods needed.... already 215hp,225hp and 245hp ready to whoop your ass....

and you can upgrade your 3SGTE much more than you can on a 4AG... if the hp is your measurement that is

rollakid said:
what you mean? if you mean the displacement then its 2.0liter not 1.8.

fc ar? hmm... see how heavy is your right foot :rofl:

okie okie .. but is there any prb for 1.6 to 2.0? .. i mean jpj part ..

corollagtouring said:
Fcut price?
3SGTE- maybe 3500~4500
4AGE SVT- 1800~2500
4AGE BT- 2800~4500 depends on transmission and mileage
4AGZE AE101- 2500~3500 depends on modification.

but better spend big at one time....

cos

if u buy cheap FC... like 4agze.... maybe you will:
1) change manifold- 1000
2) change to turbo- 700
3) turbo oil lines- 300
4) ECU need to mod- 1800 (greddy emanage)

In the end, better put 3SGTE cos no mods needed.... already 215hp,225hp and 245hp ready to whoop your ass....

and you can upgrade your 3SGTE much more than you can on a 4AG... if the hp is your measurement that is

okie okie .. thanx for the info bro .. basically it would cost me arnd 6k to covert to 3sgte which means almost same w turbo charge my stock engine ... and in terms of hp also almost the same .. am i rite ?

yes bro, and what more important is you won't have to worry if u mod your 3sgte... cos the internal can stand higher abuse...

If putting 4age... there will be restriction to internal strength.... like if u wish to climb above 250hp... maybe you should reconsider to put forged internals... in the end... 3sgte is the best option....

and because the 3sgte is already powerful and will over the power to weight ratio.... you may need no mods.... if u are using 4agte or etc etc... upgrading means more mods have to be done to the ECU system.... u know how much a microtech costs.... at least the SAFC.... have to be used.... and you need to find the best setup.... not too lean or rich.... then at this point.... major problem can happen... piston blow, con rod bent etc etc......

but i dunno whether the handling will be stable is putting a 3sgte.... cos the highest cc for a corolla is a 3SGE corolla... no turbo... me? i like 4age cos i can still manage my ponies at high speed.... how about you?

corollagtouring said:
yes bro, and what more important is you won't have to worry if u mod your 3sgte... cos the internal can stand higher abuse...

If putting 4age... there will be restriction to internal strength.... like if u wish to climb above 250hp... maybe you should reconsider to put forged internals... in the end... 3sgte is the best option....

and because the 3sgte is already powerful and will over the power to weight ratio.... you may need no mods.... if u are using 4agte or etc etc... upgrading means more mods have to be done to the ECU system.... u know how much a microtech costs.... at least the SAFC.... have to be used.... and you need to find the best setup.... not too lean or rich.... then at this point.... major problem can happen... piston blow, con rod bent etc etc......

but i dunno whether the handling will be stable is putting a 3sgte.... cos the highest cc for a corolla is a 3SGE corolla... no turbo... me? i like 4age cos i can still manage my ponies at high speed.... how about you?

wow ! .. it seems tht 3SGTE is d best option .. but how come ppl still converting to Black top or silver top r ? .. price is almost d same but d hp is alot more higher ..

simple reasons could be:
1. jpj > hassle free to use svt/bt
2. spare part easy to find
3. affordable mod for low budget ppl
4. no need to go fast fast

:regular_smile: