Turbocharger Without BOV?

Taken from wikipedia

get a recirculated BOV and maintains stock airbox (maybe just use aftermarket drop-in filter instead)... and you have a stealth turbo car....

i dont want BOV sound, but i want the turbo flutter sound. i dont want a stealth turbo car, bro.
but thanks for the info.

ehehhe since u like the sound
the easiest way would be remove ur bov
the other way would be fitting a oversized bov for example a greddy type-r or hks racing
so it would give u flutter or compressor surge on low boost and at high boost it might open

u may visit tong so he can show u a few broken turbos :P when users did not use bov lol
see the KKK in the display kekeke

ehehhe since u like the sound
the easiest way would be remove ur bov
the other way would be fitting a oversized bov for example a greddy type-r or hks racing
so it would give u flutter or compressor surge on low boost and at high boost it might open

u may visit tong so he can show u a few broken turbos :P when users did not use bov lol
see the KKK in the display kekeke

This mean Tong is not expert in tuning car w/o BOV.

:thefinger:

i tink you need to know more bout turbocharged engines before getting em
hehehe , the use of a BOV, and the consequences of not having one on a daily car

bt if its a BOT with low boost , err doesnt do much harm, cos pressure is low :P
just want to know, why would u actually want that sound ?
10q

im also curious.... cuz..when we yamcha, heard someone else tarik and release have the kuk kuk kuk surge sound ,definitely some1 will voice out that the bugger's turbo will get fckeud up in no time.

it does more harm then good... it robs performance on every gear you shift.
but if you insist, like jinkl mentioned, get a bov wid a harder spring or adjustable type. increase their preload so that it will emmit the sound you wan and at the same time protect your turbo if you boost high as it will open by then

Bro i have broken the shaft :wavey: ... I once bought a Turbo that was choosen by Tong after i explained my engine specs to him ... I said that i was gonna boost a minimum of 2.5 ... I ended up boosting 2.7 daily driven ... He might have tought i was lying so he sold me this turbo and under estimated me ... i returned the turbo back in 1 month with shaft patah and fin gone ... because it spool backwards upon chirps ... :proud:

On daily drives i would use my SARD racing BOV (UFO type) ... for drags i would just replace the bov with a rubber stopper or battery so that i dont get any boost leak ... According to Tong ... that was the reason the shaft broke ... basically he thought i was BShitting all the way and never thought i was gonna boost that high ... :rofl:

Just sharing my past experience ... Happy Boosting ... To every one ... if u change ur BOV and the sound is Turrr turrr ... better change to a different one ... its gonna spoil ur Turbo :driver: ...Hell its not even ur BOV sound ... its the sound of the turbo surge ... its good in a way there's no boost leak .. but it will slowly reduce the lifetime of ur turbo :driver: ... if boost below 0.5bar they maybe ok kut ... :listen:

Cheers

during drag, i use 2 bov. one SARD ufo and one greddy type R, car flies like air plane take off on every gearshift

I may have only 8mths experience owning a tubocharge engine... but I do know fundamentally that compressor surge are bad for street cars... no matter how terrer your tuner are... see examples like MRT, Rigoli, Jun Auto, KC-/Technica etc.... all have BOV...

drag/rally cars are motorsports...

flutter sound from turbo are dreaded by any turbo car owner...

YouTube- True Compressor Surge

see for yourself how bad a surge can be

during drag, i use 2 bov. one SARD ufo and one greddy type R, car flies like air plane take off on every gearshift

bro ... just wondering la ... the sard ufo no leaks at high boost ... ??? i have always dreamt of using the greddy type R but because of the shutter sound it makes at 1.0bar and below ... i dont dare tu use ... i even bought the tial blowoff ... thought to be a good bov .. mahai that thing takleh pakai la after u hit 1.8bar and above ... i never thought off using 2 blow off .. hehehe :biggrin: ... will try it in the future :driver:

but then thx for the info ... :wavey:

---------- Post added at 07:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:40 PM ----------

i tink you need to know more bout turbocharged engines before getting em
hehehe , the use of a BOV, and the consequences of not having one on a daily car

bt if its a BOT with low boost , err doesnt do much harm, cos pressure is low :P
just want to know, why would u actually want that sound ?
10q

100% i agree with u jinkl ...

turbo kong means tuner no good :rofl: hahaha ... :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl: sorry bro donkingz but i think this is dumb .. no harm done :wavey:

pls read and think about what people are posting back here .. we are only trying to help u widen ur knowledge ...

---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:48 PM ----------

This mean Tong is not expert in tuning car w/o BOV.

:thefinger:

yes i myself would say that i can make sure that there is no shutter sound without using bov ... by releasing the throttle slowly after shifting gear or boosting ... so that the TB doesnt close instantly ... hence not damaging the turbo ...

a tuner will only give advise to u while tuning, that u should better put BOV ... if u dont than thats ur prob ... if on dyno ur turbo kong ... tuner is not to be blamed .. its wear and tear item ... will go sooner or later ...

engineering perfection such as F1 also can breakdown at the starting grid ... apa lg turbo that is mass produced ... :wavey:

bro ... just wondering la ... the sard ufo no leaks at high boost ... ??? i have always dreamt of using the greddy type R but because of the shutter sound it makes at 1.0bar and below ... i dont dare tu use ... i even bought the tial blowoff ... thought to be a good bov .. mahai that thing takleh pakai la after u hit 1.8bar and above ... i never thought off using 2 blow off .. hehehe :biggrin: ... will try it in the future :driver:

but then thx for the info ... :wavey:

---------- Post added at 07:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:40 PM ----------

100% i agree with u jinkl ...

turbo kong means tuner no good :rofl: hahaha ... :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl: sorry bro donkingz but i think this is dumb .. no harm done :wavey:

pls read and think about what people are posting back here .. we are only trying to help u widen ur knowledge ...

---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:48 PM ----------

yes i myself would say that i can make sure that there is no shutter sound without using bov ... by releasing the throttle slowly after shifting gear or boosting ... so that the TB doesnt close instantly ... hence not damaging the turbo ...

a tuner will only give advise to u while tuning, that u should better put BOV ... if u dont than thats ur prob ... if on dyno ur turbo kong ... tuner is not to be blamed .. its wear and tear item ... will go sooner or later ...

engineering perfection such as F1 also can breakdown at the starting grid ... apa lg turbo that is mass produced ... :wavey:

Turbo kong of course mean tuner no good. Not true meh? Tuner no good to tune the car, causing the turbo to kong lah. If tuner is good, how can the turbo kong by itself? A good tuner should know if the car is for daily drive or for track drive/etc. The owner just give to tuner to tune.. if the car really need a BOV, then the TUNER must suggest to driver to install. So i still stand by my statement, TURBO KONG= TUNER FARKUP. thanks.:thefinger:

---------- Post added at 08:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:11 PM ----------

im also curious.... cuz..when we yamcha, heard someone else tarik and release have the kuk kuk kuk surge sound ,definitely some1 will voice out that the bugger's turbo will get fckeud up in no time.

it does more harm then good... it robs performance on every gear you shift.
but if you insist, like jinkl mentioned, get a bov wid a harder spring or adjustable type. increase their preload so that it will emmit the sound you wan and at the same time protect your turbo if you boost high as it will open by then

Bcos it becoming a trend mah. BOV is not necessary actually. :banghead::banghead:

Sometimes we are so gullible with what is the norm in Malaysia, and think it is the correct thing. Go study more. Dont simply bash the real facts that I am giving. BOV is needed is only u exceed ~20psi in most engines. And I am refering to a stock turbo car here. Im guessing it can be applied to BOT cars too. Most stock turbo car aldy have BPV (by pass valve), so there is no need to put BOV.

And, those people who say when hearing a turbo flutter and say that the turbo car is farkup is misinformed. if the car ALDY HAVE BOV, and give flutter, then that is farkup. But if no BOV, a flutter may happen even when it is tuned properly.

Hope we all learn something today. ;p

okok you are good and you are champion. go ahead wid your means.... i dont know how to play cars..cuz i only cycle to work.... haha.... then no nid to open thread here to ask since u got the answer.

---------- Post added at 08:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:54 PM ----------

and i just realized that i was so retarded enough to have wasted 20seconds to reply on a retarded thread.

Bcos it becoming a trend mah. BOV is not necessary actually. :banghead::banghead:

Sometimes we are so gullible with what is the norm in Malaysia, and think it is the correct thing. Go study more. Dont simply bash the real facts that I am giving. BOV is needed is only u exceed ~20psi in most engines. And I am refering to a stock turbo car here. Im guessing it can be applied to BOT cars too. Most stock turbo car aldy have BPV (by pass valve), so there is no need to put BOV.

And, those people who say when hearing a turbo flutter and say that the turbo car is farkup is misinformed. if the car ALDY HAVE BOV, and give flutter, then that is farkup. But if no BOV, a flutter may happen even when it is tuned properly.

even VW have air diverter valve.... which euro speak for a recirculating bov... and so the new mini... and also the twin turbo beemer x6...

nevermind la what u say la...

...unsubscribing....

it's actually a very interesting topic, with some valid, and some not so valid points of view?
but i do know Its good to pick up girls with a BOV. They are always like "ooooo its a turbo" :biggrin:

Please guys, any feed back is still greatly appreciated.

there's this article on autospeed website. according to them,

"Manufacturers fit recirculating BOVs to achieve three outcomes:

To reduce the noise caused by compressor surge on throttle closure

To speed-up turbo response following gearchanges

To reduce airflow metering problems caused by reverse flow back through the airflow meter on throttle closure"

fer common sense's sake.. As for the fella that snapped the shaft in his turbo, i think this may have been contributed to many things, constant thrashing of a turbo charger puts a lot of strain on the turbine shaft between compressor side and the exhaust side wat? so how do you know that you are loading the compressor under airflow/pressure conditions where the comp wheel simply can't operate?

IMO turbo manufacturers go to great lengths to map out the conditions under which a compressor will experience surge. the shaft has to face extreme temperatures from both ends of the scale. The compressor side has to cope with the rush of air constantly being drawn in, and the exhaust side is red hot. Two extreme temperatures at each end of such a small peice of metal shaft can cause cracking and shattering, and pushing 2.+bar does not help either.

so if the forces of air are SO great to shear off a turbo's hard-ass steel shaft, then why cant they bend a thin brass throttle plate each time you lift off the throttle?

now is there anyone with horrid experiences ruining their TB yet? :itsme:

ok here it really show you are still new in this forced induction thingy, since you want to get into details , let me shoot you some info :) dont get angry, information sharing n you are welcome to reply n discuss

your statement clearly stated "you want the flutter sound"
ok thats your main aim

secondly yes, it can only be achieved by causing compressor surge

when you mentioned about PBV , ehem, if u have a PBV u wouldnt have surges too,
PBV is BOV which is recirculated , PBV has aftermarket as well as , a stiff PBV will cause surges as well

these are the few bov's that can be a BOV or a PBV
greddy type-r
greddy type-s
hks ssqv + recirculation kit
blitz ss
GFB certain models
turbosmart certain models
synapse
the list goes on :)

this is how a HKS recirculation kit looks like , so it will make the ssqv a PBV
http://www.gpiperformance.com/images/HKS-Recirculation-Kit.jpg

a stock car doesnt need a aftermarket BOV unless its 20psi n above, tht is totally wrong , an example an evo , from experience n fact , an evo 1,2,3 PBV will leak aprox 14psi , the later evos have much stiffer spring setup , the evo 8 MR has a steel body to replace its plastic PBV's , the old school vr4's has much stiffer PBV compared to evo1,2,3

evo 8 stock plastic PBV
3747804507_44f721089a.jpg

stock evo9 PBV
evo9_bov.jpg

so it really depends on the car n engine model to know wht PBV it has and how much it can hold , but ALL PBV will be able to hold stock boost with no probs, anything greater would depend on its model n make

so here comes the topic again , the aim you have here is COMPRESSOR SURGE which causes the flutter, so in other means, regardless its PBV or BOV , it will effect performance and lifespan of the turbo.

here is a DIY airticle by the gurus on how a stock 1G Eclipse PBV was crushed to make it achieve hold more than 13psi
1G BOV 101 / Mods - DSM Forums

so the topic here is i really want to know is it
"BOV NOT NEEDED" or is it "I WANT COMPRESSOR SURGE SOUND"
because from your first post , the intention is to have compressor surge sound regardless of BOV or PBV :)

if you are meaning car doesnt need BOV because it already has a PBV, then err i guess the topic ends here, cos all of us over here know that for a fact , every petrol turbo car will have a PBV as stock and it can be replaced with a aftermarket PBV or BOV if needed. Err im still confused, so wht does it got to do with the Flutter sound, err thank you. *confused*

to know more, why a stock car is not fitted with a BOV instead of PBV, it relates to Airflow sensor vs Map sensor fitted cars , enviromental issues and etc :) , i guess tht has been discussed in the other threads already.

just adding another thing, errr u mean tuner as in EMS tuner ? wht does a tuner got to do with the compressor surge at all , *blur* , a tuner ensures the car runs at a correct AFR at correct boost n rpm , wht does that compressor surge got to do here bro, so meaning if im having compressor surge, a tuner can tune my car till it goes off ?

and i dont get the meaning of "with bov easier to tune"

peace

flutter sound topic or pbv/bov ?
thank you

Turbo kong of course mean tuner no good. Not true meh? Tuner no good to tune the car, causing the turbo to kong lah. If tuner is good, how can the turbo kong by itself? A good tuner should know if the car is for daily drive or for track drive/etc. The owner just give to tuner to tune.. if the car really need a BOV, then the TUNER must suggest to driver to install. So i still stand by my statement, TURBO KONG= TUNER FARKUP. thanks.:thefinger:

---------- Post added at 08:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:11 PM ----------

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl: u need help la bro hahahaha ... please give justice to this ...

"if the car ALDY HAVE BOV, and give flutter, then that is farkup. But if no BOV, a flutter may happen even when it is tuned properly."

- bro try and buy stock evo and put Greddy type R and see got flutter or not ?? :rofl: sure got la ... but then its not farkup ... its the dumb owner who put and use the bov on stock boost ...

No BOV is not MAY HAPPEN ... its confirmed ( cars without antilag ) !!! :biggrin:

Justice Please :wavey:

ts should study more first... buy a turbo car and slowly learn about it first... why blame tuner for turbo kong and this and that.. if scared don't mod.. if dont know anything dont say anything.... or dont buy a bov if cant afford one...

IMO you're comparing 2 different things altogether. turbined dun spool backwards upon chirps, the momentum it spun is way too fast.

say a turbine spins fer 100,000rpm, and then suddenly the air can go nowhere, so it being pushed out through the fan. that last part there creates the chirping sound.

has someone actually broke the shaft because of that?
share own experience only please.
Taiko HKS, I am currently using a Twin Turbo car (ori) and it doesn't c/w any BOV. So far I didn't mod anything yet except airfilter and exhaust piping. Is it ok? Worried to change BOV cause a lot of immitation in the market.

Cheers.
:biggrin::biggrin:

doncityz
everything has its lifespan 1 mah...if ferrari parts kong then u say ferrari lousy?

y u wan 2 start a thread? bcoz u wan 2 get more info rite...if u think ur way is rite then mah go ahead lo...no 1 stopping u

LOL!!:biggrin:

Did I get on someone's nerve?
Kekeke... sorry...

Anyway back to the topic, actually it is BPV (by pass valve), not PBV (Pass by valve? a valve that pass by my house isit? :thefinger:).

Ok la... since u all so powderfoo and believe all the BOV sellers mindset, then go ahead use those BOV and sneeze away... kepish kepish...

But do tell me one thing: Why most WRC cars have turbo flutter? Is it they purposely make a compression surge? for suka2 wan ah? NO. it is because their tuner is good at tuning the WRC rally car without the need to use BOV. This is fact. Or if im wrong, then prove it.

And pls lah.. i can tell most of u here since owning a turbo car, u talk like everything u know is the facts and truth. Be open minded a little can or not? :wavey: