Tweter installation

howiechoo said:
just ask to confirm:
1 got 3way active crossover, then i connect it to a a for tweeter, i wtill need a passive crossover?
well...there's is 2 types of so called 3 way active xover...

1 is the 3 way which is

-front highpass
-rear highpass
-subwoofer control

the other 3 way active is the real 3 way...which is

-tweeter highpass
-highpass of bandpass
-lowpass of bandpass
the above 2 r the same...bandpass 4 the mid
-woofer...

if urs is the 1st 1...u still need a passive...if u tap it straight then ur mid will produce high pass onli...

if urs is the 2nd 1...then its ok 2 run witout passive...

set the tweet at 2.3khz..mid at 2.3khz-70hp n woofer at 70hz also...then tune it ur way 2 ur liking

To use an active crossover, you will normally need an amp for each output.

The good side of passive crossover is you might only need an amp or just use the speaker output of your HU.

Please also bear in mind that if you plan to tap tweeter to your current OEM ICE that comes with 4 speakers, take note of the IMPENDENCE of the speakers that you want to tap. Reason is, stock HU normally can cater for 4 to 8 ohm speaker. If your current stock is using 4ohm speakers, tapping your tweeter will make it a parallel connection causing the impendence to be 2 ohm (in assumption that your tweets is 4 ohm).

So, you can either disconnect your front stock and connect your tweet (use proper passive crossover) or maybe, get 2 4 ohms resistor and connect it to each speaker connection, making them 8 ohm each. So, in parallel, they will still be 4 ohms.

Some tweets do come with their own passive crossover (normally just a cap a.ka. capacitor which makes it a first order passive crossover).

Go here if you plan to D.I.Y a passive crossover.

http://www.bcae1.com/xoorder.htm

Hope this helps.

erm...got band pass o not...

if got band pass then means u need a 4chn amp 2 run ur comp set...

2 chn onli 4 tweeter via the active xover highpass
another 2chn is 4 the mid via the bandpass of the xover

oh...this is the 1st type of xover i mention above....

for us its 2 way coz it has onli highpass n lowpass
but its call 3 way coz it has the highpass 4 rear also

some tweeter are noisy. especially the cheap1. Where to find a bigger dome tweeter? Some thing like EASTECH tweeter.

esotec from dynaudio? look for shops selling dynaudio and ask them to order la. price around 1k

big dome tweeter can get from pasar road also, hehe...

or else look for second hand like in iasca forum. can also buy new online from some DIY home audio sites like solen or madisound. brands to look for are scanspeak, morel supremo, dynaudio esotec, esotar, hiquphon, etc lah. if u can find north creek those are cheaper, last time i saw some selling 2nd hand.

need help

i just bought a pair of tweeter
i install it to my hu speaker out, i got a amp running the mid in front..
now my problem is. the tweeter got tik tik tik sound when there is not music.....what happen ar??
so where can i get a rm30 crossover from jalan pasar? how to install?? or the capacitor? how to install it ?thanks

satria4g13p said:
i just bought a pair of tweeter
i install it to my hu speaker out, I got a amp running the mid in front..
now my problem is. the tweeter got tik tik tik sound when there is not music.....what happen ar??
so where can i get a rm30 crossover from jalan pasar? how to install?? or the capacitor? how to install it ?thanks

First of all, what is the brand and power rating(RMS) of your tweeter? You install yourself or by shop? What is your HU? If a high power one(45WX4) then you have to buy a pair of capicitor and bulk which will cost you around rm8 the max if you buy in eletronic shop.

carozzeria hu

rting 45wX4 so what type of capacitor do i need to buy? and how i install it, for ur information...my tweeter is connected to the front speaker of hu amp, and i got 1 amp drive the mid bass in front...thanks

So you mean that you are powering your tweeter with your amp, what is your tweeter brand? And what is your car? The main thing that done by the capacitor is to reduce bass to tweeter and the bulk is to reduce power input to tweeter. The bulk to use must be have power rating of 12V not 3V, If you use to low rating the bulk will blow. So when you turn on the volume big the tweeter will not generate cracking sound with this 2 components. The capacitor rating is 25V100uf which I using now, and the bulk rating I bought from accessories shop when installing my woofer, so I don't know the rating, but 1 pair he charge me rm6 only.

tweeter dunno what brand wan cap ayam i guess

the tweeter is rated 120w. and quite big in size.....how is the look is the bulk?? and izzit the capacitor just tap to the tweeter wire + to + and - to - ??
no..my tweeter is connected to HU and not to the amp...
the problem is ...the tweeter does got tik tik tik sound ..even there is no music play out...!

Got the tick tick sound? Actually who install the tweeter? Is you or the accessories shop? I think better you ask somebody to check the wiring on you HU to you tweeters. Or the tweeter is faulty already, anyway how you buy the tweeters?
The 120watt is max or RMS? If RMS then I think better you power your tweeter with your amp.
The cap and bulb you only connect to + only - no need. Mine is cap then only bulb.
The bulb is transparent one, with the terminals is flat one top is round abit. Something like decoration bulb for house. Bare in mind, power must be 12V.

actually i install by my own, my previous tweeter not working so i bought 1 tweeter and join back from the previous cable....if i power the tweeter with my 4 channel amp...it wont blow up the tweeter?
i dont have crossover or any device

Maybe that is the cause of the cracking sound, I think you better connect it to your amp. If not, it will spoilt your HU in long term.
It will not blow your tweeter, as long as you connect it with the cap and bulb.
Your amp is 4 channel? It should be installed below your seat. You can check that now only 2 channel is running (1 pair of RCA cable only).
Tell you what, you go to eletonic shop and buy a Y-spliter or RCA spliter(1 female input and 2 male output), then follow the steps below
1. Take out the RCA cable from your amp and install it to the RCA cable.
2. The 2 male output 1 will put to front channel and 1 will put to rear channel.
3. Your amp should have 2 set of gains for each channel. The one for your midbass that you are using now can leave it.
4. The other one is for your tweeter, that one the gain you have to put to minimum if you don't want to install the cap and bulb. This channel you can for yoir prefence. The bass you have to set minimum, trebal around 25 to 50%.

my amp only show

1 treble, 1 bass , 1 level...
with 2 RCA as u said...2 white , 2 red.....so if i adjust the mid,i cant adjust the tweeter...izzit possible for me to get a crossover? to split out from the amp for the mid and tweeter?
or else...i rewiring the tweeter cable....as tested before...the tweeter quality is very clear....

Like that ar... but you still have 2 gain right for each channel? If like that then the cap alone will do already,
Or you can get a second hand passive crossovers to do the job, I think I got 1 pair (Atomic). Want to buy?
If you still want to reduce the tweeter's trebal then you have to add a condenser, it is a white in color, like a resister, but is rectangle size with 1 input and 1 output.
Anyway how's you ICE setup? I only know that you have HU, amp and speakers. Do you have pre-amp or eletronic crossovers?

my set up is
1, 4 channel amp, 2 channel for infront 6 1/2 mid....and 2 channel reserve for future woofer, the tweeter connected to hu,
i dont have any crossover,preamp,electronic crossover....
because tweeter and mid i bought seperately...it is not a set of components
my car is satria

What's your amp power rating in RMS?
It got 2 set of gain but trebal, mid, bass only 1 set (set for all)
If you want to reserve 1 channel for woofer then you have to use a passive crossover already.

is stated 100 RMs per channel

as for the sub...i plan to bridge the 2 channel to power up my sub...otherwise 1 channel just to power up the sub, seems not balance