very noob guy asking about audio here [SERIOUSLY]

Halo here...:wavey:
I am also lack of knowledge about audio...
But i have a suggestion dat i took from my fren who he is work as car accessories workers.
If u wanna buy a basic components coz of ur limited burget like head unit,tweeter,mid-speakers(2-way) n 6X9 speakers(3-way)...Better don't buy 1 set with same brand.U buy with different brands...I ask him y but he answer is he juz took from his experience...
If u planning to swap an amp,it depends on ur budget la.U wanna buy 2-channel or 4 channel oso can...In my opinion dat if u wanna put ur amp with speaker oni better buy 4-channel(front n rear speakers),but if u wanna put ur amp with speaker and woofer,buy 2 amps...1 for speakers with 4-channel amp and another 1 is for woofer with 2-channel amp.
Better don't buy the cap ayam brand amp n woofer coz not longer life span,easy rosak....:bawling:
If u wanna better sound juz put pre-amp,man...Without pre-amp,u cannot setup equalizers,the haed unit equalizer setting not use de...and pre-amp can a set more parametric and the sound more lounder d...
Dats all,juz my ideal,man.:driver::driver:
Hope sifu-sifu here can correct me if i doing wrong.thanks!

aahhh...emmm....i thought all same brand functions the best....eg,recent MACE in South City,saw a Pioneer demo car filled with ODR series,i think....sounded magnificient to me....heard a Soundstream filled car from Kenn Kenn(back in 1997).....even hu was from Soundstream if i'm not mistaken....sounded fabulous to me.....since u say not to buy cheap amp/woofer,i assume the budget is kinda high coz good stuffs costs alot.....so,why get a preamp when u could get a hu with everything in it??go 2nd hand if budget's in the way....my2 cent thoughts ny.....:driver:

:lol better buy player with more EQ like DEH6050, eclipse 3100, or more more more alot player rather than juz buy normal HU + pre amp. if pre amp, it will be install at back so much more difficult to setting...
if install equalizer, sound much worst no matter how u setting unless u using sql@eql (i forgot the brand) brand. think wisely before set up ur audio.

mix n match item sometimes can make sound much better. for example, my dad car using 7 series MP tweeter couple with ZR audio mid bass. MP 7 series mid bass kinda weak compare to ZR audio speaker. using full active cross over

my bro mix the DLS tweeter with infinity reference mid bass. sound better then DLS whole set or infinity whole set... diz one using passive crossover

experience only... :)

My newbie thoughts :)

all the equipments are made for a reason. To save money, don't buy equipment with redundant features.

example:
1. Use a HU with 3 band graphic eq only, no x-over etc. So, if don't want to change HU, can get an active x-over and/or pre-amp. when I say pre-amp, I am referring to good quality ones. Like Audiocontrol EQL and the likes...
2. HU already have x-over, EQ built in, so, why need to spend money on a pre-amp (especially cap ayam ones)?
3. Mix and match normally happens because of what a user might not like with a particular setup or to compensate for your car environment.

I would advise against going for not known brands because you might be spending more in the end. Unless, you decided that is all you need from your ICE.

example, buy a x brand speakers. sound not nice, change to y brand, still not nice change to z brand. Until finally agrees to go for known brand G. Total spent would have been x+y+z+G.

what if you audit, listen to some sifus setup (like zenn?) :P, then you'll probably know what you like and how much you need to spend first. Then, work on that target and focus. :) this would have help you to save in the long run.

sifus, please correct me if I'm wrong :)

weh i dont have setup la, 5 years oledi no money.......

anyway a simple generalisation like having mixed brands better than same brands is wrong. like that, alpine F#1 and pioneer ODR all can throw away la...

u mix brands according to their strengths, example within a certain budget range, pioneer/clarion/kenwood may have good head units but their speakers and amps arent that good. then maybe u pick focal or morel speakers, bcoz they are speaker specialist. then for amps maybe u pick steg or audison, also because they specialise in making amplifiers.

lastly, the adding pre-amp advise u must think again la...for me better use that budget to get a better head unit. if his argument is parametric eq and louder sound, all u need to do is search for HU with high output voltage (usually 4-5V like alpine, 8V for eclipse, etc etc lah) and also HU that come with in built equilisers, and now some have in built crossovers, so u dont have to add anything else. makes your system cleaner and less interuptions in the signal path, HU straight to amp, less signal loss.

My suggestion for you get component set for the front... 3 way for the back for some bass and get a 4channel amp good enough...
Im just a newbie...
Just want to share take care...:wavey:

My suggestion for you get component set for the front... 3 way for the back for some bass and get a 4channel amp good enough...
Im just a newbie...
Just want to share take care...:wavey:

i am planning to setup my audio this way and if i have extra money im going to upgrade my HU with more equalizer and built-in features thanks

Yaya....Some say better buy hu with full equalizers n x-over n don't want prefer to pre-amp...
For me,I prefer it and have good result coz it have enhance output power to speakers and woofer....
Dats juz depands on ur budget n favor oni,man...
Better hu brands like Kenwood,Pioneer,Elipse,Alpline...Normally now have full equalizers settings d.But very expensive,man...But it true,if u get hu with full equalizers n crossover with speakers oni is better la...
If u get an amp d den have to combine pre-amp is better....
But if don't noe how to setup suitable equalizers settings is a big problem,man.Dats y some of ppl don't want prefer pre-amp...
I already took some experience liao....
I have JVC brand hu KG-6235(juz 3 equalizer oni) so i need a pre-amp to setup more equalizers.
Den I buy a Caliber pre-amp brand with 6 parametric equalizers settings(Sub vol,Sub,Bass,Mid-bass,Mid n Hi) last year d...When i 1st time get it,i don't noe how setup dis equalizer so i need some advice from my fren...
He advice me dat id u got mid-spaekers den cannot set too much bass n sub for it,even 3-way speakers can support but mid-speaker cannot coz mid-speaker is for mid n hi oni...When i test it is true,too much bass can make the sound like pecah bunyi when u turn max vol...
after dat,he setup for me den ok d,bass clearly n clearly treble sound now better than last time d...
Oh,i forget sumthing to tell is cable also make an importance things to produce better sound,make sure dat ur amp cable and pre-amp rc cable is tebal wan not nipis wan,nipis wan cannot produce powerful sound...
So,juz my ideal oni,guyz...
Thanks to sifus here to give a lotsa ideal oso....:adore::adore:

mastaqalia,i realised u didn't state ur budget for this upgrade.....how much ur willing to set aside for this upgrade now cos that'll be useful for the sifus to recommend you what to get instead of u getting it wrong in the first place.....:driver:

just to bust some myths in the previous reply..

bunyi pecah = not bcoz of eq, bcoz of too much gain, most shops dont know how to set gain level on amp properly, thats why get bunyi pecah when u play loudly. u need an oscilloscope with proper test cd for this to do it properly.

rca thick = loud sound, also not true, as i have seen very thin rca cables being usd in some high end systems, so size doesnt matter, material quality does.

just to bust some myths in the previous reply..

bunyi pecah = not bcoz of eq, bcoz of too much gain, most shops dont know how to set gain level on amp properly, thats why get bunyi pecah when u play loudly. u need an oscilloscope with proper test cd for this to do it properly.

rca thick = loud sound, also not true, as i have seen very thin rca cables being usd in some high end systems, so size doesnt matter, material quality does.

Oo...I c,man:driver:
I think more thick rca can produce sound better coz my fren recommend me to use thick cable...he also do like dat,so i juz follow him oni...:hmmmm:
Thank u Zenn sifu here!:adore::adore:

Bump: N den mastaqalia...:wavey:
How much budget dat u have planning to setup?
Juz tell oni...All sifus here can help u de,don;t worry,man...

Bump: N den mastaqalia...:wavey:
How much budget dat u have planning to setup?
Juz tell oni...All sifus here can help u de,don;t worry,man...

I'm a newbie too:itsme:. Currently driving a Toyota Celica 7th Gen. Sound proofing not fantastic in this car. A lot of wind noise. Volume needs to be around 19 while on the move. In terms of satisfaction, I'd give a rating of 7/10. My head unit is a standard JVC CD/MP3/WMA player with a standard 4x50W output; although I have my doubts:rolleyes: My speakers are all stock standard. I listen to music of all sorts - classical, pop, house, R&B, rock, raggae.

Long story short, I would like to marginally improve my sound system and make it slightly more audible by adding a bit of oomph. Like I said, I rate my own satisfaction 7/10 with my current stock setup. All I need is a little more pep and kick from my current setup. Question is would a china made amplifier suffice? I would like to keep my expenses low (not more than RM500). Would this make a difference? Any models to recommend?
Thank you.

if like dat,gila ka those fellows using 5k,10k,15k worth of component sets:hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:like dat better buy 2k-3k worth of component set n go to the best sifu in town ma....prob is,u know anyone coz taste differs,right??it's like u could never go wrong when ur using "good stuffs".....u could always blame the tuning then...but if ur using cheap stuffs,don't tell me u gonna complain about the tuning,u gotta complain about the stuff ur using first....:driver::driver::driver:

Bump: hate that adam digital brand.....the dealer in cheras vely lansi lanyong:thefinger:

hahahahaha dont get me wrong. ok if u have good speaker but setting all busuk, how the sound?
my point is, no matter how good ur speaker is, if the setting is improper, the speaker only produce 30 percent of its best~! when the setting is up to ur taste, that is the 100 percent best of the speaker... u need to rely on tuning to see how far a speaker can be...
dats y i said 30 percent on speaker. dat mean the the speaker can play how good? the rest 70 percent is tuning. in tuning world, the best sifu is they can do what customer wants not wat sifu wants. so in the 70 percnt, 30 percent is the expertise of the tuner and the 40 percent is how the sifu satisfied the customer....

so conclude all, here i made some mind map for you about my theory
satisfaction 100%
audio stuff (30%) Tuning (70% =)

in the judging competition, you should know how to make judge love ur sound not what u love rite? so in this case, who want to satisfied with the tuning? the tuner or u? thats is a real sifu tuner to me that is the tuner can give what customer wants coz not all customer has the same taste.... :)

there some competition where 30K sound system lose to 16K sound system... heard the news only never know the truth....

can a n/a civic outrun a fd2r on a straight road? Same concept. U cant make mohawk sound like scanspeak or alpine f1 even with 110% tuning :thefinger:

who said cannot? EK9 fast weh~! :P;P

when im comparing mohowk and adam digital, both price in the same world so whats the problem wit comparing both item? :banghead::banghead::banghead:

angel,bafukie talked about u comparing mohawk/adam to f#1/scanspeak...not adam compared to mohawk,comprende???:thefinger:

n yes,expensive system doesn't mean better than cheaper ones in terms of quality......i've seen this Audio Development 3 way goin for rm13k plus.....i saw a 2nd hand 2 way Hertz Mille goin up for sale recently,few thousand i think...with the right matching amp n tuning,deff the Hertz would sound better compared to the AD which for example installed by inexperienced installer.....but atleast both stuffs are good stuff,understand??so,only thing left is to tune it properly,instead of blaming on the goods...u CAN'T compare few hundred ringgit worth of components to items which has been specifically engineered for sound quality....the makers of the hi end products don't give a damn about the price actually coz they know due to the quality,customers would come looking for em....n bear n mind,most of these good stuffs are handmade compared to brands of mass productions:rofl::rofl:

Long story short, I would like to marginally improve my sound system and make it slightly more audible by adding a bit of oomph. Like I said, I rate my own satisfaction 7/10 with my current stock setup. All I need is a little more pep and kick from my current setup. Question is would a china made amplifier suffice? I would like to keep my expenses low (not more than RM500). Would this make a difference? Any models to recommend?
Thank you.

Hello there,
Somehow, I feel that adding an amp wouldn't help that much.
Reason being is that if you're still on stock speakers, the amp might overpower them to a point where they fail.
With RM500, probably can go for a good 2nd hand component set.
or do soundproofing?
I don't suggest a HU upgrade because you already changed your hu. and somehow feels that, to a certain extent, there's not much benefit since the rest of the system are still stock.

unless..... by stock speakers, it is a good and capable speakers.....:biggrin:

hope this helps.

I'm a newbie too:itsme:. Currently driving a Toyota Celica 7th Gen. Sound proofing not fantastic in this car. A lot of wind noise. Volume needs to be around 19 while on the move. In terms of satisfaction, I'd give a rating of 7/10. My head unit is a standard JVC CD/MP3/WMA player with a standard 4x50W output; although I have my doubts:rolleyes: My speakers are all stock standard. I listen to music of all sorts - classical, pop, house, R&B, rock, raggae.

Thank you.

bro,Celica 7th Gen....wah lau eh,jealous la gua.....budget hike up abit la,not nice la put china amp in Celica.....everythings stock but ur hu....which means,a 4ch amp's in the list,next would be a nice component set,then ur rca n speaker cables(they do play a major role),then finally,installation charges....plus fuse.....do the math,i'm guessin approx rm2k in the pic....unless u really insist for something within rm500 budget,few newbie's upgrading their stuffs i think,they might offer u a good deal....check with desert:driver::driver::driver:

jinsrad if youre going step by step, better buy speaker first, after that only get amplifier. look for a component set, and pls try to save up more to increase your budget.

Erm,JinSRAD...
Ur hu is a good stuff d,no need change it...
What u have to plan is change ur stock speaker 1st,den put amp...
U wanna put cap ayam amp?Advice u better don't la...coz u buy it no warranty n sum of the cheap amp(below RM200) very easy spoil after dat ur money fly again to get a new amp again...
Ur budget of ur amp is about RM500,rite?
Recommend u a brand dat i satisfy for it is Ameron...A good brand in amp and woofer.
I buy dis ameron amp 4 channel 840W juz cost RM440 oni....in ur budget,man.
Juz my ideal,man...Hope dis ideal can help u la!:driver:
Cheers!

Thank for all the feedback. From what I understand, you guys are advising me upgrade my speakers first while retaining my headunit. Any brands and shops to recommend in Sri Petaling area? I'll try to upgrade the speakers located in my door panel first.

Like I mentioned, I'm satisfied 7/10 on my current stock setup. That is why I am reluctant to pay more $$$ and limit my budget to RM500.

Thank you guys.:wavey: