VW Old Beetle

yah..more info on turbocharge n supercharge for old beetle pls..cheers..im planning to do mine too..any info about the price.pros n cons aswell..thankssss

great to see so many beetle owners. Just want to share with you guys on my beloved 1974 1303 super beetle. I modified the dashboard to put in the airconditioning and porsche 914 meters. Just need to change the out of place K -steering. hehe

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/krazz77/my_photos

krazz77..where is ur sport rims? or u use it on a offroad,so u dont use a sport rim...lolz
ur aircond look cool,but i dont own a 1303..if not i sure copy ur style..
any 1 care to share some performace modify pic of his beetle?

Well, I'm still bent on whether i want to re-drill my drum brakes to VW 5X100 PCDs or porsche 5X130 PCDs. I have a set of original new beetle 16" rims and a set of polished Porsche Fuchs from a 911. At odds at to which to put up cos the porsches seemed too flashy to be a daily driver, although they are extremely light!! hehe.

Sigh .. I had not been starting my car for the last 3 months. Incidentally, I was posted to India, Bangalore for my job. My 1600 uses twin weber 34-ICT carbs.

Anyway you in JB? Me also from JB, If you look at the pics again, behind my car is the skyline of bukit chagar flats! Interested in 1303s? They are great, with coil springs and macpherson struts, they are really comfortable and great control.

ermm...nice dash krazz....where is the switches...lamp..hazard...ive only c the blower a/c only?

The dash is made out of fibreglass and wrapped in man-made leather . I have replaced the original lamp switch with one from a BMW E39 (which cost me only 10 bucks -- the one died and i could not find a replacement). If you look closely on the dash, it's the switch on the right side of the steering wheel. The strange looking rectangular thing below the cut-out for my stereo is where the TV LCD's gonna be! hehhhe. This car is gonna have a massive ICE! I totally removed the rear seats (why need rear passengers for a 2 -door car?? hehhe and was going to fibreglass a sub box for my 18" cerwin vega when i got posted to India. Sigh .. looks like the project's gonna on hold for the next 2 yrs ..... sigh .

encikmasen said:
anyone knows how to put ICE in volks? what shud be add (minus HU and speakers) wiring etc etc..most important where can i part cheap spare parts? see soon in jln ipoh is quite expensive lah..

btw mine is 69 model, 1303 engine with 1.3 g/b (dunno what series, i'll checkout letter..1303 g/b cant fit into the chasis..need to cut some hole and maybe decreased the body strength), white colour with blue and red stripes (just like herbie)

hehe..encikmasen wanna blow ur bug with ICE..hehe..its done with 1 10'' sub or 12'' sub...1 power amp for that sub...others speaker takes from ur hu output..2 tweeters..2 8'' midbass..2 3way...its just nice...
see soon is much cheaper lar...
u try to EUROPA milennium auto parts at kajang..

1303 engine is 1.3 but its a high compresion engine...the piston size is same like 1.6 engine, but the hp is more..the g/b 1303 can used if ur specialist can change all of the speedgear to ur old g/b..
that is complicated work..if u wanna use all the g/b1303.. u must modified to use driveshaft..hehe..a lot of work
too.. in ur case... make sure what u want the ratio of uf g/b...

Thought you guys might be interested in this :

http://frost.bbboy.net/vwengineconversions

I had this vision of putting in a scooby legacy 1.8 engine, but the call will lose all VW characteristic engine sound...

aircooled said:
kerabu perut,

i am afraid RM2000 is not enough. it also depends on how NICE u want the job. if u just wan a TAMPAL job, maybe RM2000 is enough, but if u want show quality and factory strandard, budget about 5-6K just for panel replacement depending on how serious your damage is.

cheap is never good when it comes to welding. if u want to remove the body from shell to get a better job, u also need to look for place who can do it properly.
good luck

aircooled, can u suggest me any workshop?

nice bug n nice dash krazz...care to share some info on ur steering?...coz i used to hav tht steering on my bug..bcoz the honk not functioning so im not using it already...haha..and do u know where to repair and refurbish steerings?...

EDMAN said:
nice bug n nice dash krazz...care to share some info on ur steering?...coz i used to hav tht steering on my bug..bcoz the honk not functioning so im not using it already...haha..and do u know where to repair and refurbish steerings?...

Well, i do not know much about the steering wheel (see below) expect that you just pry open the top horn button (held together by just 4 spring-like connectors) There should be a wire connecting to the horn button (the big K).

Incidentally I am looking for an additional K steering. You want to sell yours? I'll be back to Msia in Mid august. I will need it to modify a porsche 944 3-spoke steering, when I bought the steering, the original owner took the back portion of the steering (boss kit part) out.

yeap..my cousin own a 1303 cabriolet also..locate jb..u guys seen it b4? injection,not bad with the power and spacer on the rim,connering performance not bad 2..
77,u in which garden?

hmmm... 1303 cabriolet? As far as i know i have only seen one , it's metallic blue in colour, new plate with three digit number. Is it the same one?

me ah, my car is located in kim teng park, just opposite bukit chagar flats. But, i'm currently posted to bangalore, india. Going back mid august, should meet up then and engage in some beetle talk !! hehheh

yup..is them...but we better lower down the profile..
so..goin for the aug31 bugs fair? i need to send my bugs for service asap..aih~! many problem now~!
u guys went highway motor to service bug or not? got any others better place?

no lah .. i dun think i will be able to make it to the bug fest this year. Your bugs? How many bugs do you have? I serviced once at chip meng's (you know - kebun teh). Very good but a bit the ex side. Rest of the time i just do normal servicing like changing oil etc. Not much problems with my ride. Heheh ..

got 3 now..
do 1 and the half in highway motor..same problem..little ex~!!
actually those step like velding,bungus leather no need go for the beetle speacialist lor...but there can get those part easily.
chip meng is a speacialist too?
my bugs 1 wip..but stop for long time...rotary project..need technical support and lower the cost
another 1 is original,nothing to show ,,cos there r too many of original beetle showing in bug fair
1 more is za pa lang beelte..using japan brand kits to modify it..haha..track use pipe...noisy

krazz77 said:
Well, i do not know much about the steering wheel (see below) expect that you just pry open the top horn button (held together by just 4 spring-like connectors) There should be a wire connecting to the horn button (the big K).

Incidentally I am looking for an additional K steering. You want to sell yours? I'll be back to Msia in Mid august. I will need it to modify a porsche 944 3-spoke steering, when I bought the steering, the original owner took the back portion of the steering (boss kit part) out.

my problem is one of the spring (as u said like the connectors) is cracked so it does not connects well..the horn button will bounce out suddenly while driving..haha..mayb i'll to fix it back...

bv wow ..

a rotary engined one ? 12A or 13A or 13B? My seats in the car are from the FD series RX-7s. Did you have a look the link that i attached in a previous post? It on swapping engines for bugs. Anyway, did you fabricate the clutch/connecting plates to connect the rotary engine to the gearbox? Info from the site suggest we could get one from a co called kennedy in the US. So far I have seen only one rotary engined bug at last yr's bugfest. A blue /white bug from kuantan. Fascinating ..

Yah. Chip meng is a volkswagen expert. He in one of those buildings across from best world, where the ah kua's ply their trade in the evenings now? You know where? He's very good in doing engines. Heard he had done a porsche coversion into a bug before.