Why Do You Spend $$$ To Mod Your Car?

cRaverZ

Just curious why some of us out there like to spend so much money to modify cars....i mean u buy the car liao then still can spend so much money to modify the car.

I was at SPEEDWORKS the other day to check price for air filter and there was this new Honda Civic from the showroom which came in and modify the exhaust and change to HOTBITS suspension. I mean all the new components just go to waste, damn sayang lah. Nowadays ppl gila- gila modify until can buy house already wif the amount spent.

What do you guys think?? Worth it or not???Why do some of us do this??

Personal satisfaction & babe factor for me hahaha :D

Err,i would say modify cars just to 'PROTECT' ourselves.Who knows one day we're driving on the road & somebody tailgate us.At least we can brush them off easily.With ori parts,is a bit hard though...

Originally posted by arrowhead@Apr 21 2005, 12:48
personal satisfaction. why would someone spend days & nights in an internet cafe?
[snapback]915885[/snapback]​

i agreed lol....watever you do...we humans will never satisfied.

Its a hobby, why should you care about other people who mod their new cars ?
did they ask you for money to mod their cars ? if no, then why wanna ask so much ? :huh:

lol..i guess he's just wondering only lah...this question also alwiz pop up on my mind....whenever i plan to change my car rims and all...then i think further, damn one day i will gonna change my car again...then my stuff all ma finish?.. -_-... :(

to me its a MUST stage to go through in life.

u learn to sit,
u learn to eat,
u learn to see lui,
u learn to khaw lui,
u learn to earn money
u learn to buy car,
u learn to mod car,
u learn to imprest the lui,
u learn to f8rk lui,
u learn to fly fast,
u learn to die fast.

those who are lucky, u learn to suffer marriage life. ;)

wei why never ask for me the disc brake and suspension??? I wan lohh can get NEW honda components FREE hahahah... get it?? NEW & FREE = freebie :D

Originally posted by MEch3@Apr 21 2005, 17:41
wei why never ask for me the disc brake and suspension??? I wan lohh can get NEW honda components FREE hahahah... get it?? NEW & FREE = freebie https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' />
[snapback]916409[/snapback]​

Come on, you know that they(car owners) wouldn't simply throw these parts away, right??

majority of people will say that we modders are wasting our time and money for something called a CAR.

those who hate us modders must have something else that they like...

it's called a hobby.

we, the minorities do the things we do, because we are smart enough to appreciate it.

it's our way of life, and it's our right to spend on what we want.

Originally posted by MitonCT26@Apr 22 2005, 12:05
majority of people will say that we modders are wasting our time and money for something called a CAR.

those who hate us modders must have something else that they like...

it's called a hobby.

we, the minorities do the things we do, because we are smart enough to appreciate it.

it's our way of life, and it's our right to spend on what we want.
[snapback]918085[/snapback]​

I also think that two of the reasons of modding the car is to 1)make her that much more "exclusive" and special from others of the same model. Let's say if you have a Ferrari Modena and you meet another same Ferrari Modena on the road, you probably think you need to be better than the other car. And 2) your car has just been "outrun" or "outlooked" by another car and you are cheesed off.

Btw, I also mod so that my car will be easily identifiable when it gets stolen

Dun play-play nowadasy damn alot of car theft alredi so if mod, then they won't dare 2 steal ur car coz easy for police to track down !!!
WAHAHAHAHAHAH :P

FOr me, i think is worth or not. let sad just own a proton, tak kan modify till 300hp, think seriously, the car body just for normal car, it cant take it. not worth i think. minor mod is okay. if u modify kau2 for proton, ppl only say is proton. just my opinion. :D

Originally posted by gti88@Apr 21 2005, 14:54
Its a hobby, why should you care about other people who mod their new cars ?
did they ask you for money to mod their cars ? if no, then why wanna ask so much ? https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/huh.gif alt='huh.gif' />
[snapback]916124[/snapback]​

aiyoo dun lah be so sarcastic, me just seeing all the original components from Honda go to waste so I'm wunderin.Sometimes, aftermarket products isn't as good as claimed and worst still may downgrade the performance of ur car; contrary to what u are expecting.

Also, that guy is killing his 3 year guarantee from Honda as the Civic is brand new from the showroom.....

Hey mech3, to me if u mod ur car, then it will become more attractive for robbers to steal lah... i mean depending on what u mod also lah. hte best is to mod exterior and wheels not expensive sound system.

just my 2 cents, :P

Originally posted by nicteh@Apr 22 2005, 13:25
FOr me, i think is worth or not. let sad just own a proton, tak kan modify till 300hp, think seriously, the car body just for normal car, it cant take it. not worth i think. minor mod is okay. if u modify kau2 for proton, ppl only say is proton. just my opinion. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' />
[snapback]918304[/snapback]​

yups, i see many ppl mod their car until spend over 100k in hope 2 be featured in magazines, however 2 me, they musn't forget that most importantly the chassis and undercarriage must be able 2 support all the extra horses from their mod. It's really pointless to mod until 300 hp and then when u speed 200+km/h ur car starts shaking and u lose control of your vehicle and get involved in accidents.

Spending Rm 30 k to mod wira = can buy vios/city
Rm 50k = can buy used BMW/ accord/camry/Evo/Impreza
Rm 100k = buy almost new BMW/Impreza/Evo or new
Accord/Camry (with things like free
service /warranty sumore)

if wanna mod it's best to mod the safety stuff like for brakes and airbag rite??? So can brake in time and save ur own life. I see so many cars mod and spend so much money but dun even haf airbags.

Sometimes, when I drive around i laugh until my stomach pain seeing Kancils with twin exhaust pipes and airscoops running 160km/h ++. I mean if bang that time, sure gone kau kau 1 .Oh, n I dun mean to offend any kancil owners out there, https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />

A BMW is a BMW, a Proton is still a Proton (lotus input is nothing) Dun belief me, drive a lotus elise and c for urself!!!

Originally posted by cRaverZ@Apr 22 2005, 13:35
Sometimes, when I drive around i laugh until my stomach pain seeing Kancils with twin exhaust pipes and airscoops running 160km/h ++. I mean if bang that time, sure gone kau kau 1 .Oh, n I dun mean to offend any kancil owners out there, https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />
[snapback]918318[/snapback]​

So you mean there're some cars can survive a head-on collision at 160++km/h??

My point is: Don't drive too fast no matter what car you drive.