why my turbo whistle

i think ur connector/piping is leaking air already as last time my intercooler piping bocor and when the boost kick in, got whistle sound.. :)

hmmm, speaking of this, recently my turbo whistles too, but that was right after i installed apexi el boost meter, though the boost stays still without any spikes at all constant at 0.8 stock, is this OK despite the whistle noise?

flushafteruse,

engine is GSR, everything is stock standard nothing has been changed.... r u saying somewhere is leaking?

doink, flush,

yaa, thanks for the input, i'll check further, but my boost meter shows standard constant 0.8, so perhaps minor leaking, though jus now i was playing around with the engine in my fren's shop, took out the recirculating BOV to try how the original BOV sounds, haha jus for fun, then put it back, the sound is lesser, i suspect is the hose, will further do it when i install turbosmart BOV soon....

this air leaking bizness is a real nuisance and can be quite annoying.......
started by checking all the intercooler hose connexions....nothing.
then recently took out the howl manifold, and turbo a and sealed everything back with gasket cement..... 90% of the noise went away....
but i still hear a little whistle now and then, especially on cold starts
can anyone advise me? where else this annoying noise is coming from?

checked the turbo as well, very little to no free play..... according to my mech

Now I experience already turbo whistled ...

Low Boost Ok ... but if went to 1.2 Bar will have that whistle sound ....

What's that means bro? Sifus?

mine too...if i boost higher the wistle will go even worst...the wistle came to me as a problem when i change my intercooler pipings to stainless steel.

at first after it came out of the shop it was ok...

then i pull my car that night itself after it came out then this one annoying wistle start came to me as a problem...

until now i havent solve it yet...some ppl say intercooler pipings...some say my turbo kong...dunno what to do edi...

pls advice

tq

usually la , its the fin touching the compressor housing
could also be minor crack on compressor housing
could also be the sound of the spool

definately there is leaking somewhere along the intercooler piping.

Check all the joint make u they are tightly together!

ive check the intake fin and there seems no touching what so ever...try to move the fin by holding the shaft front and back but it doesnt move at all...

tommorow will try checking the intercooler pipings and see whats going on....

if my car now make a turbo spool sound i be happy...but currently its make an annoying wistling sound that everyone can here it,...damn malu la...

Last edited by a moderator:
oh yeah..just to add up...

i lower the boost and the sound seems to be lesser...

tq...pls advice if u got the same experience as what iam facing now...tq

yerp mine if low boost goty less whistle ...

but some oil is leaking from my turbo ... ???

Advise pls ... :)

Whining Turbo

Hi, would wish to ask you guys on the issue that I face. I've got this really loud whining sound from the turbo whenever the rpm hits above 1500.

Anyone knows what's the matter?

it's hard to explain or diagnose for u online...

pls see ur tuner / mechanic...