with the new NAP annouced...

dec21st

i'm scheduled to collect my car today (proton). with the current announcement of NAP, i am just wondering will the price drop any time this week? any speculations?

if i would wait for a few more days and then see whether Proton made any decision to lower their prices then i might be able to get my car at a lowered price

the thing is, whether is this possible? since my bank loan is approved,
if they decide to change the price, am i eligible for it?

usually when is payment from bank to Proton made? upon approval or upon collection of car?

please advise me

Sorry to sound pessimistic, but I doubt there would be any reduction. Malaysia is famous for its "sticking price" quality. When there are speculations that price would increase, profiteers would mark up their price overnite.
When there are news abt price reduction, ppl would simply 'buat tak tau" and stick to its original price, and saying that "this is old stock, so old stock price lor. no reduction"

I'm sorry to say that for your case, the price remains. You've already "paid" in a sense. Just that you haven't collected the goods. The bank has probably released the funds t the dealership.

sigh, just unlucky then...

summore with soon to come annoucement bout car price reduction and high interest rates on loan

if only i dont need a car.. haha

yeah, silverfish is rite though. even with 50% tax/duties reduction but as a whole maybe less about RM5k only.

still, lets be optimistic.

1. if a honda city will cost only 65K, wont toyota reduced the price of vios too?
2. when both city and vios has pushed the market low, wont proton feel the heat? waja maybe down to about 45k... (just pray)
3. when new cars are cheaper than ever, used car markets will depreciate even more. oh mi god - what wil happen to my wira 1.6 1996; 12K only?
4. in general when malaysia is fully open to Afta expect many Asean-assembled models to reach our shore for example Toyota Yaris and the strongly rumoured Thai-built Wish MPV. expect the unexpected also like Asean CBU Mazda 3/6 or Chevrolets.
5. when we open AFTA, proton will gained a lot by having Asean market available to them. if they can market their cars well, proton will be able to stand back on its feet, make profits to launch many models...say 2 every year. by having the economic of scale, cost of production will be slashed a lot and the end product will be even cheaper.

6. so, trust me even though price may not go down..all of us will benefit indirectly.

to our G..i may want to say sumthing - get rid those cars more than 15 years. for proton cars - refurbished and export to 3rd world countries like Timor Leste or other African countries.

i cant wait to see what's the market will be in 2010 after 4 years of AFTA and no AP for used imported cars. it must be very encouraging that time to see even a Prius on our road.

such an optimistic..zan. long time no see...where have u been?

the truth is, rumours/news about our automotive market has been there since.....
oooppss....is it the same news again?????

say if proton would to cut down prices... will i get a refund? since i havent collect the car yet.. but bank already approved my loan n already paid my d/p

sorry to say no. you have agreed to buy on that particular price. if the price were to increase i am sure you would stick to the price you have bought rite

to our G..i may want to say sumthing - get rid those cars more than 15 years. for proton cars - refurbished and export to 3rd world countries like Timor Leste or other African countries.

what does this suppose to mean? you can't just get rid of 15 year old cars >_< my car is 25 year old and when i got a proper job and earn enough money i plan to get a 30 year old celica (and restore it), maybe 35 years when i finish my degree -__-"

if it wasn't for the roadtax i'll be getting myself a 40 years old mustang already...

old school forever :P

i think somewhere on the NAP, i've read that by end of 2010, no more importing of 2nd hand cars.. does that mean we cant buy imported 2nd hand cars anymore? hmm.. say for example, buying 2nd hand EVO 3 from Japan? its sure going to be damn cheap.. err... maybe even R34 is within reach.. pity..

gibod_78 said:
i think somewhere on the NAP, i've read that by end of 2010, no more importing of 2nd hand cars.. does that mean we cant buy imported 2nd hand cars anymore? hmm.. say for example, buying 2nd hand EVO 3 from Japan? its sure going to be damn cheap.. err... maybe even R34 is within reach.. pity..
if that's true, its time to import before it is banned...

If I'm not mistaken, even now also cannot import cars older than 5 years right ? It seems no more Mitsubishi cars allowed to be brought in as well because of Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia being set up here.. :(

rollakid said:
what does this suppose to mean? you can't just get rid of 15 year old cars >_< my car is 25 year old and when i got a proper job and earn enough money i plan to get a 30 year old celica (and restore it), maybe 35 years when i finish my degree -__-"

if it wasn't for the roadtax i'll be getting myself a 40 years old mustang already...

old school forever :P

its a sequence in a cycle u see.

when 15 years old cars not allowed, they will buy either new cars or 8-9 yrs old car which has become cheaper.

then, the owner of 8-9 yrs old cars will buy new cars. by buying new cars, economy will be generated higher.

dont get me wrong, i just sold my 20 yrs old galant super touring. and oh i missed it so much!

dec21st,

sorry 4 ur case. i think the possibility = 0!!!

u buy a proton, right? they will telll u tat is old stock! then no change on price!!!

i wondering, now price drop! so how proton going 2 do wf their 2005 stock? now is doing promotion liao! yet finish clearance! then G announced 2 reduce price some more!!! HOW~~~~~????

not sure about proton, but news from Perodua salesman, any perodua (except kancil) collected after 24th March, 2006 will entitle for new (lower) price, myvi highest spec shall enjoy RM1500 price cut.

To be honest, 1,500 from a 50,000 isn't a lot. I've seen bigger discounts than that. Top Gear also once had a segment where they told you where to look for bargains and they had lots of cars with 1000, 2000 pounds slashed off the list price. Relative to car prices there, that is a lot.

1,500 is a small amount, and especially pointless if you take a loan. It they slashed 5,000 of the price, then I would have been impressed. Apparently Najib thinks the same as I do.

Dealers also have margins given to them to accomodate malaysian buyers who love to nego nego nego. You can easily get yourself a RM1500 discount if you know how to nego.

Nego nego nego...

si|verfish, agree with you, but better then nothing. :biggrin:
where can i have read the detail NAP? or some sample calculation formula for 1 or 2 car type, price of some model goes up and other goes down. I wanna know the different that causing it. Thanks.

yea.. all going down, better than nothing, at least pm keep his words this time, been waiting discount for age redi man.....