WTA: Evo8 or Evo8 MR?

TTS ah??? hmmmm.....paging TTS group....for sure u wont regret...hehehehe

as'salam & hi guys,

i'm a newbie in sport car knowledge...
after read the ongteckweng statement in the forum... i felt like to joint in...

since last few month i already google around Kota Kinabalu to look for car...
i do have intention on Mit Lancer 2.0GT and Mit EVO 8 MR(recond)....

last few days i found the car in dealer compound and make an arrangement for Pre-Purchase-Inspection(PPI) at one of the workshop in town.

i do need your otai recommendation to choose either one for me...
purpose of use: just to sent my wife to work and balik kampung...
but all these days i dreaming to have/use one of the rally car...

after the PPI for the EVO 8 MR (recond 2005). some part need to change.

1- brake pad Brembo (front & rear)
2- timing belt - L & S ( i choose the Brand: Power Belt)
3- Belting 5PK 1170
4- Skim Disc (Front due to little bit miss alignment
5- change the nuts at the exhaust area due to corrosion.
cost of repair approx RM2.7K total...

i intend to keep the spec in stock mode....

the price of the dealer quote me is RM162K.... (please give some advise about it).

i intend to make a purchase this coming Monday, Oct 2009.

something happened when i booked the Evo 8 and i eventually canceled my booking n got a Evo 9 instead. Its a used 05/06 Yellow Evo 9 with some HKS goodies n Voltex bodykits. here are the links:

http://www.mudah.my/Mitsubishi-evo9-year-05-reg-06-4143632.htm

anyone knows the history? previous rego is WXX 666...did the mods in GT Auto.
the price stated was incorrect n the asking price is rm168,000...i actually paid rm3000 as deposit n will send it for check up...anyone here is familiar with Evo 9? evokit? really need some help...thanks

as'salam & hi guys,

i'm a newbie in sport car knowledge...
after read the ongteckweng statement in the forum... i felt like to joint in...

since last few month i already google around Kota Kinabalu to look for car...
i do have intention on Mit Lancer 2.0GT and Mit EVO 8 MR(recond)....

last few days i found the car in dealer compound and make an arrangement for Pre-Purchase-Inspection(PPI) at one of the workshop in town.

i do need your otai recommendation to choose either one for me...
purpose of use: just to sent my wife to work and balik kampung...
but all these days i dreaming to have/use one of the rally car...

after the PPI for the EVO 8 MR (recond 2005). some part need to change.

1- brake pad Brembo (front & rear)
2- timing belt - L & S ( i choose the Brand: Power Belt)
3- Belting 5PK 1170
4- Skim Disc (Front due to little bit miss alignment
5- change the nuts at the exhaust area due to corrosion.
cost of repair approx RM2.7K total...

i intend to keep the spec in stock mode....

the price of the dealer quote me is RM162K.... (please give some advise about it).

i intend to make a purchase this coming Monday, Oct 2009.

is the dealer going to fix those things for you or you going to pay for them?

btw, when you mentioned 2005, is it year of manufacture or year of registration in malaysia? i'm not sure if 2005 still got evo 8MR or not because evo 9 is already out. check the seatbelt tag to confirm the year of manufacture. :wavey:

---------- Post added at 07:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:17 PM ----------

something happened when i booked the Evo 8 and i eventually canceled my booking n got a Evo 9 instead. Its a used 05/06 Yellow Evo 9 with some HKS goodies n Voltex bodykits. here are the links:

http://www.mudah.my/Mitsubishi-evo9-year-05-reg-06-4143632.htm

anyone knows the history? previous rego is WXX 666...did the mods in GT Auto.
the price stated was incorrect n the asking price is rm168,000...i actually paid rm3000 as deposit n will send it for check up...anyone here is familiar with Evo 9? evokit? really need some help...thanks

call evokit @ 012-610-7616 and check with him if he is free to help you with the initial car inspection. :wavey:

damn,tats the price when i buy my evo7 3years ago,different is my car chicken(quite standard)and tat car dragon(widebody,big turbo n nice rim)damn,damn,damn...

tat yellow Evo9 selling quite cheap oso la...

agree with mizunori77...2005 is the yr of Evo 9. Evo 8 is between 2003 n early 2004. Evo 8 MR is only available from 2004. actually thats the main prob when i booked my 1st Evo. they cut off the manufacturing date badge on the seat belts n say its 2004. if its really a 2004 car, they will not cut off the badge coz my fren has few recond cars n they all hv the badge still attached.

will try to call evokit tmr...but not sure if he is willing or not...:P

hi guys,

many thanks to ongteckweng & PabloIceman for the guide and suggestion for my recond ride (EVO 8MR).

according to the green slip it show a 2005 model/make (something miss i assume).
the dealer agreed to taking care all the above matters but i will ask for more (i they permit):-

1- engine oil (assume to use the Mobil 1)
> 2- changing gearbox lubricant.
> 3- AYC lubricant to change (any idea what brand should i use?)
> 4- changing the coolant (any type?)
> 5- changing the brake lubricant (sugesstion)
> 6- brake pad front & rear for the Brembo(sugesstion)
> 7- timing belt - L & S (power belt)
> 8- belting 5PK1170
> 9- skim disc front
> 10- re-spray, change nut for exhaust.
>
> number 6-10 already agreed by the dealer... but i will see the dealer tomorrow for the number 1-5.
> according to the dealer they going to do the Kastam thingy for tax clearance.

ongteckweng,

you are very lucky to have the completed mod EVO 9... with the same price i get for EVO 8 MR.

fyi: Sabah taxation is 300%+10%+5% = not 315% but on top of the additional %. crazy....

---------- Post added at 10:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:10 PM ----------

hi guys,

does the EVO 8 MR come with rear sealbelt?
i can find in that car..... mmmmm

yes, my e8MR got rear seat belt.

---------- Post added at 08:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:39 AM ----------

yes, my e8MR got rear seat belt.

RE: Request info/suggestion

hi H22-C,

lucky for me to find someone own the same model with me...
might be you can share any experience/suggestion for my ride.

i intend to install several gadget ASAP (referred base on friends).

1- install turbo timer : choosing Apexi (pen type).
2- install boost controller & meter (GREDDY GReddy PRofec B-specII as per suggested the mechanic): how to set correct boost range?
3- some said, i have to change the air filter to K&N type 6inch??? is it suggestible???

maybe anyone in here might help to find the gadget above.
since i'm in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah. everything very limited.

expected to change around Nov 28, 2009.

regards,
pangyau

---------- Post added at 10:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:43 PM ----------

hi H22-C,

2- install boost controller & meter (GREDDY GReddy PRofec B-specII as per suggested the mechanic): how to set correct boost range?
3- some said, i have to change the air filter to K&N type 6inch??? is it suggestible???

regards,
pangyau

Re: Request info/suggestion

hi H22-C,

regards,
pangyau

---------- Post added at 10:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:43 PM ----------

hi H22-C,

regards,
pangyau

u can always order ur racing parts online but of cos u have to beware of conmen..

khsim,

thanks for the link and very useful.
my car stated: Manufacture date is March 2004 Year second decade month (2004.03.2).

seems difference what i have in my Pink Slip...

as we mentioned earlier, 2004 is the yr of MR....if its stated 2005 in ur pink slip, 2 scenarios:

1) the Japs registered the ride in 2005. The Japs pink slip will not show manufacturing yr but registered yr...
2) something fishy abt ur car dealer.

pang yau,

1- install turbo timer : choosing Apexi (pen type). - i am using this one also, good.

2 i am using GReddy PRofec B-specII as well, although it shows the boost level, but it is difficult to read it while driving, better you get a set of defi or so.

to set it, i suggest you read the manual, there are a few more parameters need to set rather than just the boost level, in order to maximise the stable boost with minimal spike... like "start boost" and bla bla bla, cannot remember, need to read the manual.

3 air filter to me not important, you can test test change this and that since it is not expensive, i am using HKS drop in element for my ori air-box.

FYI. evo789 are all almost identical when come to modification... any evo owner can help answer your question.... :P

if got budget,go for newest HKS turbo type 1,got turbo timer function and apexi RSM function,price i think around RM7xx.