exhaust piping diameter...

arrowhead

ok, my question to all sifu's is... for example, b16a, recommended piping size is 2.3". now this 2.3" is internal diameter or external?

because i notice most 2.3" are actually the external diameter, meaning, measured from the outside, not inside. therefore, if its 2.3" outside, inside diameter would be like.. 2.1"? 2.0"?

which is which? pls help me clear my mind.. hahaha :hmmmm:

• Exhaust_Systems-Exhaust_System_Diagram.jpg
    Exhaust_Systems-Exhaust_System_Diagram.jpg
    12.6 KB · Views: 487
Last edited by a moderator:
i read sumwhere d fd2r comes std with a 2inch pipe, and a valved muffler. 2.5inch is way too big for a b16

even in japan, exhaust piping/exhaust size are about 2.3" inlet for the 1.8s, so again my question is, the 2.3"/2.5" we normally request is the inside or outside diameter?

Hi bro,

I thought u have your own answer already as you stated above in Japan exhaust piping/exhaust size are about 2.3" INLET for 1.8. So it's inside diameter lo...:biggrin:

That inlet is the exhaust inlet not the diameter.. Inlet meaning the point where the exhaust pipe connects to the muffler, therefore the exhaust inlet. Not the inside diameter

Ok ok.But my opinion is if u are on bigger diameter, you will get more pickup but no top end & vise versa where smaller diameter, you will get more top end & less pickup.

Correct me if I am wrong...:biggrin:

Walau bro arrowhead. You really pay attention to accuracy oh... 2.3" inner or outer also got much difference on performance meh? This is really called fine tuning man... Serious racer ah? :biggrin: Anyways, not expert here. Support you. After you find out please share ^^.

sil80-13 : i think its the other way round. larger size normally gives u more top end cuz no restriction at all, however smaller = higher velocity = torque? i'm saying this based on my experiment with a b16a throttle body and b18cR throttle body. i lost torque when i changed to the 1.8 one.

veloc : hahaha, its not fine tuning. its making the most out of what i spend on. this is because i got no money hahaha!

True... Smaller for good low-end response and torque and bigger for top end power. But my nightmare experience is... If you are using auto, don't ever simply increase the diameter and don't ever use straight flow. Must s-flow.

Haha. Sorry dude. Now only got to know I say it wrongly. Actually what u say is what I want to say...Lolz...:biggrin:

no probs, we are all here to learn...!

anyway, no one knows? alamak. i dont plan to spend 1k-ish on the wrong exhaust piping diameter...

I think it should be calculated based on inside diameter, not outside. Unless, all the steel producer company can standardized the thickness of the steel that they producing.

I deal with steel pipes in my job... We have what it called "schedule" on pipes...

example, we will have 2" schedule 10 pipe and 2" schedule 40 pipe.... in this case, the schedule 40 has a thicker wall. The OUTER diameter always the same regardless of wall thickness.

SCH10 = Outer Diameter = 2.375; Wall Thinkness = 0.109; hence inner diameter is 2.157"
SCH40 = Outer Diameter = 2.375; Wall Thickness = 0.154; hence inner diameter is 2.067"

In your case, I should think the exhaust manufacturer is call the "system" a 2.3" system based on the outer diameter for the convenient of marketing.... I haven't come acorss 0.3" gap type of pipe measurement before... the pipe size goes like 1/2", 3/4", 1", 1 1/4" 1 1/2", 2", 2 1/2", 3"

Hope it helps...

what i read was, changing to a bigger pipe and straight flow zorst gained only 1hp, AFTER the engine was retuned with the new zorst setup, and dat was done on the dynojet iirc so dat 1hp doesnt mean anything to me. type Rs are given the utmost attention by honda, i think theyve given much attention to sumthing as simple as zorst setup, kan? its better to get a bigger cam set, then think about changing the zorst size imo

Hello everybody....
as far as i know...for japan n stell piping 2.3" is inside diameter not from outside to outside.for normal piping (besi putih) 2.3"is outside to outside diameter....it,s ok to you to go with 2.3" besi puith for b16a.ada duit lebih go for steel n ori pipng japan.performence mmg ada different ma....bunyik lagu syok steel piping....

arrowhead,
Mind tell me wat haf u done 2 ur B16A(A/M) n wat exos m r u running now?In all honesty,IF ur engine is relatively stock(prolly w d usually I/H/E bolt-on mods) w no internal mods,ur better off w a MAX 2.3"(inner diameter) piping size....So,unless u haf bumped up ur compression ratio by a few points,der's really no point in upping d size of ur exos piping coz ur engine won b able 2 pump sufficient "pressure" 2 fill it......REMEMBER,d CORRECT exos system will help scavenge exos gas frm ur engine n dis determines output too....

1 more point i'd like 2 point out whn it comes 2 modding 2 chase 4 more whp/torque...kindly look @ d overall graph(after a dyno session of course) n not just d peak gain...
like extremeleo's example,he only mentioned abt d 1hp gain after fine tuning whc is correct in his words,means nothg...BUT,IF der's OVERALL gain across d RPM,now,dis is another story,right?example,peak hp gain 1hp..BUT mid-range,say @ 5000rpm,der's a gain of 5-6whp?of coz it's worth it thn,right?

Cheers n happy modding........

arrowhead,
Mind tell me wat haf u done 2 ur B16A(A/M) n wat exos m r u running now?In all honesty,IF ur engine is relatively stock(prolly w d usually I/H/E bolt-on mods) w no internal mods,ur better off w a MAX 2.3"(inner diameter) piping size....So,unless u haf bumped up ur compression ratio by a few points,der's really no point in upping d size of ur exos piping coz ur engine won b able 2 pump sufficient "pressure" 2 fill it......REMEMBER,d CORRECT exos system will help scavenge exos gas frm ur engine n dis determines output too....

1 more point i'd like 2 point out whn it comes 2 modding 2 chase 4 more whp/torque...kindly look @ d overall graph(after a dyno session of course) n not just d peak gain...
like extremeleo's example,he only mentioned abt d 1hp gain after fine tuning whc is correct in his words,means nothg...BUT,IF der's OVERALL gain across d RPM,now,dis is another story,right?example,peak hp gain 1hp..BUT mid-range,say @ 5000rpm,der's a gain of 5-6whp?of coz it's worth it thn,right?

Cheers n happy modding........

understood sir, and good to point it out. i was comparing the expenditure for dat zorst to be fitted in, a 1hp gain, or 5hp gain in sum of the revv band isnt worth it, i wudve tuned the engine with the std zorst. ive seen a gain of 40hp in a b16a when tuned properly on the dyno dynamics. now, dats sumthing to talk about. can u imagine whats the improvement across the revv range sir? a lot more then 5hp fyi

d zorst system i mentioned was an expensive one, a very famous brand, and tested sumwhere around sunway. wasted imo

extremeleo,
depends on wat stage of tune ur in...whn u say u've seen a 40hp gain frm a B16A,my question wud b,wat was d baseline reading?of course dat cud happen coz i've seen it myself on my B16B,by just changing d header n fine tuning my VAFC.let's say u haf a B16A pushing ard 170whp,dat's QUITE @ it's limit(w.out touching d internals).....@ dat moment,if u were 2 spend say like a few Ks 4 a reputable exos system(whc i assume will still b able 2 support further mods) isn't really a bad investment....especially whn u come across sumthg dat is rare n u know it'll fit ur budget/car/objective,by all means,grab it.....doesn't matter if u only gain like 1hp NOW,it'll come in handy la8 on..............

i wud just like 2 stress again my point whn it comes 2 modding.....look @ d overall powerband....if 1 has a 170whp B16A,doesn't necessarily mean sum1 w a 160whp B16A will loose.it all depends on HOW d power is developed n how d power is put down 2 d ground...

cheers n happy modding......yeeehharrrr!!!!!!!!