Exhaust mod on perdana v6

i was previously using super dragger (medium size, as u know there are 3 sizes.)
the sound was great & powerful during high boost.

but made a mistake by selling it & installed fujitsubo.
why? super dragger better? heheh..

for me Tanabe Hyper Medalion > FGK Legalis

and Blitz Nur Spec is one of the best in terms of straight flow muffler..
but i dono la since have not use Super Dragger before..

yeap, on boost really nice.

but im trying to make my car to looks and sound less rempit with a more gentleman looking and sounding muffler hehehe.

after reading the post..basically for N/A v6 engine with auto tranny will be the best if using s-muffler type with 2.3" I/D max and using stock piping and extractor and only change the muffler.? can expect any improvement in performance?

i want sound low bass like the blitz nur spec hahaha:love:

what about manual v6?

any recommendation?

think still stock muffler with double tip..
actually change of muffler does not help at all

why? super dragger better? heheh..

for me Tanabe Hyper Medalion > FGK Legalis

and Blitz Nur Spec is one of the best in terms of straight flow muffler..
but i dono la since have not use Super Dragger before..

bro, is Hyper Medalion an improved version of Medalion? I saw the difference is Hyper Medalion has longer muffler tip but don't know any sound or performance difference.

kurt, be it stock or slightly or heavily modded engine, muffler does have effect.

when u hi rev, diff is there, can definately feel it.
i used to have a straight flow without any cat con and stuff. pretty good. Then i got Gf and use the stock. u can just feel how restrictive is the air going out / bottle necked.

if u got xtra $$ around,u may want to try install straight flow, s flow and stuff, so u can feel the diff yourself. Else, ask around get more info. im poor and learned the hard way:biggrin:

kurt, be it stock or slightly or heavily modded engine, muffler does have effect.

when u hi rev, diff is there, can definately feel it.
i used to have a straight flow without any cat con and stuff. pretty good. Then i got Gf and use the stock. u can just feel how restrictive is the air going out / bottle necked.

if u got xtra $$ around,u may want to try install straight flow, s flow and stuff, so u can feel the diff yourself. Else, ask around get more info. im poor and learned the hard way:biggrin:

thanks for sharing :)

which do you feel is the best for a manual V6? I'm trying to learn and see if i can recycle my semi flow muffler :biggrin:

semi flow?s flow? for me i prefer a little improvement to the engine characteristic with very little to no noise increase. i vote for s flow.its a 2kcc v6,i will not go fot anything too small for fear of choking d flow. but if u have not done anything n want cheapet alternative,throw d cat con n resonator.hehehe. the inlet diameter of d muffler is important.the exit part is just for d noise only.

im not sure d stock piping size,but i will get 1 with about 0.2 to 0.3 inch bigger inlet diameter.

semi flow?s flow? for me i prefer a little improvement to the engine characteristic with very little to no noise increase. i vote for s flow.its a 2kcc v6,i will not go fot anything too small for fear of choking d flow. but if u have not done anything n want cheapet alternative,throw d cat con n resonator.hehehe. the inlet diameter of d muffler is important.the exit part is just for d noise only.

im not sure d stock piping size,but i will get 1 with about 0.2 to 0.3 inch bigger inlet diameter.

Semi flow, I think it's also refer as s flow to some.
In short, it's like those stock muffler, Just a little flat.

I just got my v6, recently.. How to spot If my previous owner did his exhaust before?

lift off the car or park at some slope / ramp i.e d front part going down, so the rear is exposed. so beside the muffler u will see 1 or 2 additional box/muffler at d middle. Extractor u got to see in the engine part,but for v6 rarely got people go to mod, coz hard to find shop who stock them.

6A12 stock piping size is 2", I have measured it the other day.

One thing I always want to ask is, why the need for S flow muffler for auto transmission? If back pressure is what auto tranny needs, than the stock muffler is more than good enough, but if after market mufflers like Tanabe Medalion s flow could give better performance and less restriction then why still talk about back pressure? How would type of muffler works differently in auto and manual?

yo.exact or more precise explaination i dono.i dun bother to dig up thosr discussion n stuffs in the net. my attempt to answer.any pro n senior plz correct if i get it wrong hehehe. oto car the ecu n tcu preset shifting rpm for normal drive is quite low.for them to detect to have similiar air flow in the exhaust flow b4 shifting so to fully realize d potential of striaght flow u got to rev.whereby for manual its eaaier to control d rpm shift point.at slightly aggresive drivig style d oto will tend to shift at higher rpm point so higher fuel usage n associated wear n tear. whether oto or manual i prefer s flow for sound muffing capability and xtra power liberated compare to stock muffler.

aftermarket s flow have better size i reckon for higher ezhaust gas exitting speed.

---------- Post added at 02:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:11 PM ----------

yo.exact or more precise explaination i dono.i dun bother to dig up thosr discussion n stuffs in the net. my attempt to answer.any pro n senior plz correct if i get it wrong hehehe. oto car the ecu n tcu preset shifting rpm for normal drive is quite low.for them to detect to have similiar air flow in the exhaust flow b4 shifting so to fully realize d potential of striaght flow u got to rev.whereby for manual its eaaier to control d rpm shift point.at slightly aggresive drivig style d oto will tend to shift at higher rpm point so higher fuel usage n associated wear n tear. whether oto or manual i prefer s flow for sound muffing capability and xtra power liberated compare to stock muffler.

aftermarket s flow have better size i reckon for higher ezhaust gas exitting speed.

like this one ya
tanabe hyper medallion

VwVNOmW.jpg
[/IMG]

or u wanna go for other std performance exhaust like Sti, forrester, legacy, skyline etc.....those come factory std on those cars.