Market Place - Pricing

Do you agree that Prices should be MANDATORY at Market Place

• Yes, I AGREE - IT'S MANDATORY FOR SELLERS TO PUT PRICING

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No- the sellers can keep the pricing off the list. Mysterious sellers gives me an erection.

• Couldn't be bothered - I never buy online : online sellers are all cons!

• Is there a market place? I didnt know it??

• Total voters
Must put real visible exact price. No hanky panky guessing what XXX means. If such case still happens then members help to report to moderator and the thread will be closed IMMEDIATELY.

Lessons need to be learned the practical way...hehehe

I for once totally F**King agree with this one. Seller should put the price to avoid some con seller out there. Before i want to buy bodykit from one of the retailer, i inquiry using email 1st, and seller give price RM1600, then a few days i call to confirm i'm buying without telling i'm the one who email him before, he slap me with the price of RM2200 just because ( i think) i'm calling from brunei..:thefinger::thefinger:

Aiya, it is already a culture or tradition in this automotive marketplace for one to call/sms/pm/email for price.

In such arguments, a "fishbone" analysis has to be done.

Objective: To identify the reason for sellers for not stating the price.

http://www.vectorstudy.com/management_theories/img/fishbone_diagram.gif

My opinion will be,

Seller gets the product from a supplier. The supplier doesn't give the seller a price list. However, the supplier himself doesn't have a price list . The supplier has to inquire the price from the manufacturer. The manufacturer doesn't want to give the price list. The reason could be the manufacturer wants to control the market or the manufacturer does not want to review the price list to its competitor due to similar products.

Furthermore, another factor could be. The seller is already used to inquire the price from the supplier.

Then there is a problem with your supply chain process. B2B communication and supply chain process is important. Imagine if such suppliers have problem giving u a simple thing such as a price list.. what happens if u go back to him for after sales warranty? if they do not provide a high level of after sales warranty or support, who gets screwed? of course the consumers.. and also you as the seller. It's a domino effect. However, being a responsible seller, u need to step up the game by taking the responsibility by providing a swap unit or taking on the repairs yourself. Remember, you can lose a sale.. another buyer will come but if you lose your name, u lose the game.

Suppliers are a very important - 'partner' per say. If your B2B process is of an unreliable nature, so will be your product. It affects you as a seller directly.

End of d day, u may choke on your 'fish bone' if u get screwed by yr supplier.

I for once totally F**King agree with this one. Seller should put the price to avoid some con seller out there. Before i want to buy bodykit from one of the retailer, i inquiry using email 1st, and seller give price RM1600, then a few days i call to confirm i'm buying without telling i'm the one who email him before, he slap me with the price of RM2200 just because ( i think) i'm calling from brunei..:thefinger::thefinger:

different people different pricing bro....

rm2200 nego ma maybe

Yes, I support that a price needs to be displayed for products that one sells or service offered. One the other hand human being human they will always ask for best price and tries to negotiate with you eventhough you state firm or not negotiable. It's part or Asian culture. Seller can only politely tell them that's the best price then the potential buyer can decide. I sell houses and some of these 'people' still ask for discount and comparing to other properties eventhough the built up and land are different. The seller got to be patient and polite to expect sales and to make a profit. Being a buyer, we will try to look for the best possible deals.

This is what I see as "the proper attitude of a professional seller". Courteous. Understanding. Customer will also feel comfortable. This is the kind of selling attitude that will bring one to success.

I thought no more such people.... Bro you really bring hope and repair the image of sellers man... :burnout:

being a responsible online trader, we cannot simply put the pricing that stray too far off from the the others who offer similar pricing. If the competition is too steep and the profit margin becomes razor thin, that sellers don't make enough to survive and finally seller decided to stop selling the product because it is unprofitable. In the end a product which is good, becomes inaccessible to potential customers.

A seller who does not display the price, doesn't mean he/she don't know about the market price and doesn't mean his/her business isn't competitive.

On the other side, a seller who displays the price not necessarily better than other sellers because because other sellers who sell the same product will sell at lower price to compete with this seller, to create an impression that this seller is selling it overly expensive, when the actual fact is, the product should be sold at this pricing.

Thus a price war has started, price war is not healthy for business thus shorten the product life cycle, when profit margin become so thin that sellers decided to stop selling and potential customers may not buy a good quality product. Those customers who bought the product at a low price as a result of a price war will not benefit in long term also, because when sellers stops selling the product means the end of the local dealership, warranty and customer support will end too. Ultimately, this marks the end of product life cycle within the local region.

To avoid a price war, a seller has to be smart enough to divert the customers' attention from focusing on the pricing to value-added benefits, like offer a free gift that is useful, bundled selling, purchase with purchase, sell products that is related to the main product to create value to the customers.

The seller is worried about profits and the buyers are looking for a bargain. By not displaying the price consumers cannot compare. In my case I too will not call a seller that does not display his/her price. In fact I will just look for other seller whom are selling similar product to compare. In the end the person whom are trying to protect his/her ricebowl will lose out. If you want to do a promotion then also state the price of products and also the gift that you will be offering along with the product you are selling then again the consumer can determine which is more worth it.

chc1980
wow... good strategic analogy.. but as consumers' can say...

"that's not my problem.. that's your problem.. go sort it out, we want pricing to be displayed"

What u r saying is a monopolistic competition... are u saying u have such a high volume of purchase or such a high purchasing power that can 'throw price' to start a price war? Price strategy can be thought up in a few ways.. not necessarily 'hiding' it..

go ahead and talk to the people at ministry of trade and consumer affairs... they'll throw your case out..

however, i applaud your initiatives as based on my searches, as of yesterday, all your for sale items are with prices.. kudos to u dude! keep up the good work.

just to highlight and reiterate one fact...product life cycle is independent from price wars...however, product life cycle management in terms marketing does...

---------- Post added at 10:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:30 PM ----------

The seller is worried about profits and the buyers are looking for a bargain. By not displaying the price consumers cannot compare. In my case I too will not call a seller that does not display his/her price. In fact I will just look for other seller whom are selling similar product to compare. In the end the person whom are trying to protect his/her ricebowl will lose out. If you want to do a promotion then also state the price of products and also the gift that you will be offering along with the product you are selling then again the consumer can determine which is more worth it.

Quite on the contrary, my main objective is not to bargain but to see if the product on sale falls within my budgeted disposable income. However, if that product does fall into that category, further bargaining would not hurt as it will contribute to a surplus of budgeted disposable income for other expenses...

As for the bolded phrase.. i agree... most consumers would not call unless they are those who 'wanna look for cheap' alternatives or in cantonese 'sei kai' aka mati ayam.. so for sure these callers will get ' eh? can nego or not!?' coz their targeted audience are these buyers..

How you post your for sale postings governs what type of callers or buyers u will get. U straight away post the price - then u get a serious call.. u put a dodgy posting wthout price u'll get ulats calling u to nego 9 9 ....

Take for instance, there was this set of semi slicks i saw for sale... it's been months.. and yes, it has a pricing stated but since it has been there for months and the seller cant seem to dispose of it, i asked if he could let go of a pair instead of a set.. he then replied that perhaps it's better he let go of the total set but at a discounted price... it's a good deal actually but it falls outside the budgeted disposable income for that intended expenditures... so i walked away...

So sellers, dont complain monkey buyers when you post with quality that attract apes... ;) no offense ya? this is strictly for discussion sake..

wow... good strategic analogy.. but as consumers' can say...

"that's not my problem.. that's your problem.. go sort it out, we want pricing to be displayed"

What u r saying is a monopolistic competition... are u saying u have such a high volume of purchase or such a high purchasing power that can 'throw price' to start a price war? Price strategy can be thought up in a few ways.. not necessarily 'hiding' it..

go ahead and talk to the people at ministry of trade and consumer affairs... they'll throw your case out..

however, i applaud your initiatives as based on my searches, as of yesterday, all your for sale items are with prices.. kudos to u dude! keep up the good work.

just to highlight and reiterate one fact...product life cycle is independent from price wars...however, product life cycle management in terms marketing does...

---------- Post added at 10:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:30 PM ----------

Quite on the contrary, my main objective is not to bargain but to see if the product on sale falls within my budgeted disposable income. However, if that product does fall into that category, further bargaining would not hurt as it will contribute to a surplus of budgeted disposable income for other expenses...

As for the bolded phrase.. i agree... most consumers would not call unless they are those who 'wanna look for cheap' alternatives or in cantonese 'sei kai' aka mati ayam.. so for sure these callers will get ' eh? can nego or not!?' coz their targeted audience are these buyers..

How you post your for sale postings governs what type of callers or buyers u will get. U straight away post the price - then u get a serious call.. u put a dodgy posting wthout price u'll get ulats calling u to nego 9 9 ....

Take for instance, there was this set of semi slicks i saw for sale... it's been months.. and yes, it has a pricing stated but since it has been there for months and the seller cant seem to dispose of it, i asked if he could let go of a pair instead of a set.. he then replied that perhaps it's better he let go of the total set but at a discounted price... it's a good deal actually but it falls outside the budgeted disposable income for that intended expenditures... so i walked away...

So sellers, dont complain monkey buyers when you post with quality that attract apes... ;) no offense ya? this is strictly for discussion sake..

Wow... you made searches ah Blackhowling??? You're really into this aren't you?
Haha... Anyways it's a good thread addressing an arising problem.

Marketplace would be a much more fun place to browse if there's bidding option. Just my 2cents.

Whatever it is, zth committee member should decide whether to put or not the price tag. Once it's become the law, every sellers would have to obey it. Like it or not, zth still is the attraction of Malaysian motorist/enthusiast, meaning, people would still come n do business here.

Frankly speaking, most of the time i'd either shopping @ ebay or mudah, zth is kinda like 'pavillion' for me since the price is quite higher than other marketplace out there(sorry, no offense, this is my personal POV).. perhaps with the new enforcement zth marketplace would be a better trade area for us.

Never had an issue when asked to list the pricing if it's mandatory.

Don't feel like doing it then don't sell. Simple.

However, putting up a complete price list for a brand, e.g. Ultra Racing, is impossible.

Do we still need to debate over this? I think the results have pretty much shown what most forumers here want. Can we have a decision already? Unless the sellers still want to state their points, i don't see why we shouldn't make it mandatory for all sellers to display their prices. Honestly, I don't see any downside with this decision from both the buyers' side and the sellers' side. If I'm missing anything, please enlighten me.

my fren siva say he go papaya farms also the milk there got price

You go fine dining do they just show you a menu with pictures but no prices? You'll die guessing them LOL....

No... kena berlagak sikit...

"If you are asking for the price - it means you can't afford it."