Sport car for fresh grads

Like others said its nearly impossible for a freshgrad with RM2-3K/month to own a sports car in Malaysia unless u have been saving money since you were a kid :biggrin:

it is possible, but depends on the definition of sports car. :rofl: some people think Forte Koup is sports car. others think Satria Neo is sports car.

the guy driving a porsche cayman probably thinks he is driving a sports car, and his ferrari parked at home is a super car..

at the end of the day, you siok can already lah.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/552021_10150766295728360_290539813359_9386874_695410223_n.jpg

What do you think? Totally true rite? hahaha...

---------- Post added at 06:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:51 PM ----------

it is possible, but depends on the definition of sports car. :rofl: some people think Forte Koup is sports car. others think Satria Neo is sports car.

the guy driving a porsche cayman probably thinks he is driving a sports car, and his ferrari parked at home is a super car..

haha..so need to change mentality...atleast any turbo car can consider as sport car..hahaha...

http://f.cl.ly/items/3O002z2Z0d2p322B120L/Screen%20Shot%202012-04-25%20at%206.56.40%20PM.png

my first sports car? hahahaha.

Haha... i like this post so much.
All are about the money. Money is the only main issue.

So for now, just install the adjustable sport spring and set of "ekjos buluh" to ur Kenari... prengg!!..prengggg!!... at least u can enjoy the sporty feel in ur ride sooner than 5 yrs waiting...

:itsme: i'm just talking about myself..how sad!!

haha...maybe complete with exterior first...move peanut..haha...engine keep stock for daily driving...buy less than 10k turbo. for example ford laser b8 engine..hahahaha...atleast can weng2 on weekend...:driver:

---------- Post added at 07:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:59 PM ----------

http://f.cl.ly/items/3O002z2Z0d2p322B120L/Screen%20Shot%202012-04-25%20at%206.56.40%20PM.png

my first sports car? hahahaha.

not bad for exora bold...quite sporty la....but I never try CFE...dont know how its performance..

---------- Post added at 07:04 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:02 PM ----------

I find it absolutely impossible for a fresh grad to pay and maintain a sportscar.

....Unless maybe you could persuade some loving family members to chip in for a hefty downpayment. (eg. Try to persuade your mom to lend you some of her life savings)

*runs off after giving bad advice*

yaa...I found that way also...unless got external money from FAMA!

better spend does hard earned money to pay back the study loan...but if you got scholarship...you should have saved some money before finishing the study...most who study abroad can at least save up to 10K before going back to Malaysia...that one not include working during term break...maybe can save up to 20K...that way you can at least have some decent DP to buy a decent entry level "sport car"...

or else...wait until you wanna get married...you might reconsider buying a sport car...hehehehe...just my 2 cent...

better spend does hard earned money to pay back the study loan...but if you got scholarship...you should have saved some money before finishing the study...most who study abroad can at least save up to 10K before going back to Malaysia...that one not include working during term break...maybe can save up to 20K...that way you can at least have some decent DP to buy a decent entry level "sport car"...

or else...wait until you wanna get married...you might reconsider buying a sport car...hehehehe...just my 2 cent...

ya..its true..thanks got advice...so for fresh grad only sporty car affordable..not sport car..haha

---------- Post added at 07:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:53 PM ----------

ya..its true..thanks for advice...so for fresh grad only sporty car affordable..not sport car..haha

trust me, yr wife wont allow u to buy a sports car when yr married.....
she will force u to get a 4 door car (evo, scooby's, skylines) are not included.....or either an MPV...
the only time u could buy a 1 is when yr single or retired......

---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:55 PM ----------

Danz earn 800 per month but then got dividen because he is the boss!!!

mana ada boss bro....my salary only rm800 fixed every mth only..no allowance, no claims, no OT...:thefinger: if im the boss, i will add 1 zero behind edi.

---------- Post added at 07:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:56 PM ----------

my advice, go for satria neo CPS is good enuf...then in future when yr have a stable income u might consider selling
yr neo for a sports car.

Danz, lucky my wife allow me..Hahahaha.....

SengSong, don't give up just work for your dream. Your current condition might not be a proper time to own 1 like what the others said. 33K/year is not enough because you also have to pay for other things other than cars..like food, clothing, misc...

TR...lucky u.....i almost bought my dream car after saving up...but ended up wife told me,
to use the money to buy an apartment instead of always renting....& continue my studies.....
but come to think of it, true also.......i could own my dream car but keep renting a hse outside with SPM & my rm800 per mth salary :thefinger: its not worth it.....

---------- Post added at 08:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:04 PM ----------

rm33k p.a enuf if u staying in kampung area, ride motorbike to work or basikal....
ive seen kampung ppl keep their evos, subaru's at home, but work as a normal govt officer also........only
bring out on weekend nights......maybe they got money cos they sold their land....that im not sure la....assume onli.:sleep:

my advice, go for satria neo CPS is good enuf...then in future when yr have a stable income u might consider selling
yr neo for a sports car.

good option...looking for sporty car instead of sport car...:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 08:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:28 PM ----------

Danz, lucky my wife allow me..Hahahaha.....

SengSong, don't give up just work for your dream. Your current condition might not be a proper time to own 1 like what the others said. 33K/year is not enough because you also have to pay for other things other than cars..like food, clothing, misc...

haha...i dun gv up yet...and not gv up at all...like you said, its not a proper time...can still bring that dream along for another time...to be exact proper time...when it seem affordable...:biggrin:

trust me, yr wife wont allow u to buy a sports car when yr married.....
she will force u to get a 4 door car (evo, scooby's, skylines) are not included.....or either an MPV...
the only time u could buy a 1 is when yr single or retired.........

Hahaha, quite true! My wife also would not allow me to buy an Evo or any other fast cars! She's scared I'll go nuts with it and also spend too much time playing with the car rather than spending time with the family! Only when we check out one very good E-IX, she was tempted but only just a bit. She said I'm crazy wanting to buy a Lancer that old (2005) and manual some more for such expensive price just because it's fast! :banghead: Anyway I also came to my senses and decided not to buy yet cuz the money is better spent for Dp of a condo or a house!
Well maybe I'll just get a Myvi a/t for her instead...:banghead:

Well you're absolutely right...a stock kancil or wira that change loud exhaust & bombarded sticker is also consider sports car to their owner lol...

well even if can afford the monthly installment doesn't mean you can afford to maintain it....I also used to fall under situation last time, tested ER34GTT, evo & scooby but lastly end up buying brand new honda civic after taking long consideration (car age, maintenance, warranty, bank loan etc.) :biggrin:

Unless you are a fresh grad with a salary of standard oil and gas company (RM4500 minimum), better not go for it. Save first, buy a house then only think of the car. My 2cents.

sports car is everyone dream since childhood, owning one is everyone's envy, maintaing one is everyone's headache, driving one is everyone's pleasure and selling one is suicidal for everyone...so sweet n sour of owning a sports car.
for a start, u may save hard to buy a sports coupe with NA engine i.e celica, dc2,levin,mx5, satria gti R3 etc, looks sporty, got some ommph but not so powerful yet easy to maintain...vrooom around and slowly upgrade to a bigger engine, slowly change to a snail inside then R35, 911, TTS or R8 so on.....

Life is cruel and reality bends one's will. We may not get all of our dreams but get close to it is also not bad. Settled for a lesser one is not a bad choice, it could be a blessing in disguise. You could get your dream come true one day soon I believe when you overcome the limitations. Cheers!

sports car is everyone dream since childhood, owning one is everyone's envy, maintaing one is everyone's headache, driving one is everyone's pleasure and selling one is suicidal for everyone...so sweet n sour of owning a sports car.
for a start, u may save hard to buy a sports coupe with NA engine i.e celica, dc2,levin,mx5, satria gti R3 etc, looks sporty, got some ommph but not so powerful yet easy to maintain...vrooom around and slowly upgrade to a bigger engine, slowly change to a snail inside then R35, 911, TTS or R8 so on.....

Totally agree! So now got lot of option for more affordable sport car...

I like this thread.

Let's go back to the very essence of what a "Sports Car" is. Sports - refers to an activity, a rush of adrenaline, a piece of individuality, a show of mad skills, a weekend getaway, a late night stress reliever - or anyhow one may describe. So what car is a true definition of a 'Sports Car'? In my view - can be anything from an L500 rigged Kancil, a 500PS evo or even your momma's Wira 1.5.

My advise is simple - get something you can customize - a good platform that you can learn on - and one that you will dare to have fun in. Don't succumb to the 'looks' and 'trends' or what the Joe next door feels is a good car. Get what you feel is right, then get cracking on it.

If your definition of fun is tracking SIC - Pasir Gudang - Gymkhanas, get a car with lots of spare parts and body parts available. KE70, AE111 corolla, EG civic, Satrias come to mind.

If your fun is bodykits and surfing the roads at slomo, rollin on dubs checking out honeys - then might as well go for something kit-able (not a volvo), with large wheel arches that will accomodate 18 inch rims and above (E36 318i maybe, or even a truck).

If your fun is Audio Systems - just get something heavy. any old conti would do.

I guess what I'm trying to say is at the end of the day, enjoy your run as a future motorhead, doesn't matter what you drive, and don't let anyone put you down for what you're driving. Enjoy what you do, be creative, learn the ropes, just because its a wira now doesn't mean it can't be a 612 scaglietti in 5 years.

So what's your idea of 'fun'? ;)

I like this thread.

Let's go back to the very essence of what a "Sports Car" is. Sports - refers to an activity, a rush of adrenaline, a piece of individuality, a show of mad skills, a weekend getaway, a late night stress reliever - or anyhow one may describe. So what car is a true definition of a 'Sports Car'? In my view - can be anything from an L500 rigged Kancil, a 500PS evo or even your momma's Wira 1.5.

My advise is simple - get something you can customize - a good platform that you can learn on - and one that you will dare to have fun in. Don't succumb to the 'looks' and 'trends' or what the Joe next door feels is a good car. Get what you feel is right, then get cracking on it.

If your definition of fun is tracking SIC - Pasir Gudang - Gymkhanas, get a car with lots of spare parts and body parts available. KE70, AE111 corolla, EG civic, Satrias come to mind.

If your fun is bodykits and surfing the roads at slomo, rollin on dubs checking out honeys - then might as well go for something kit-able (not a volvo), with large wheel arches that will accomodate 18 inch rims and above (E36 318i maybe, or even a truck).

If your fun is Audio Systems - just get something heavy. any old conti would do.

I guess what I'm trying to say is at the end of the day, enjoy your run as a future motorhead, doesn't matter what you drive, and don't let anyone put you down for what you're driving. Enjoy what you do, be creative, learn the ropes, just because its a wira now doesn't mean it can't be a 612 scaglietti in 5 years.

So what's your idea of 'fun'? ;)

I'm not really into audio. But I what I like the most is the surge power in turbo engine. As long as got turbo, I think well satisfied. Even I'm not a fast driver, but really interested to join track day once.

Fun for me can be describe as sitting on the bucket seat, turbo in house, moderate styling already enough for now, at least. Like 2doors the most either hatchback or coupe. Doesnt matter.

Well, after reading all the posts here, I'm really grateful with your effort to share your opinion and experience. It really worth it to learn from senior! Hehe:wavey: