I like this thread.
Let's go back to the very essence of what a "Sports Car" is. Sports - refers to an activity, a rush of adrenaline, a piece of individuality, a show of mad skills, a weekend getaway, a late night stress reliever - or anyhow one may describe. So what car is a true definition of a 'Sports Car'? In my view - can be anything from an L500 rigged Kancil, a 500PS evo or even your momma's Wira 1.5.
My advise is simple - get something you can customize - a good platform that you can learn on - and one that you will dare to have fun in. Don't succumb to the 'looks' and 'trends' or what the Joe next door feels is a good car. Get what you feel is right, then get cracking on it.
If your definition of fun is tracking SIC - Pasir Gudang - Gymkhanas, get a car with lots of spare parts and body parts available. KE70, AE111 corolla, EG civic, Satrias come to mind.
If your fun is bodykits and surfing the roads at slomo, rollin on dubs checking out honeys - then might as well go for something kit-able (not a volvo), with large wheel arches that will accomodate 18 inch rims and above (E36 318i maybe, or even a truck).
If your fun is Audio Systems - just get something heavy. any old conti would do.
I guess what I'm trying to say is at the end of the day, enjoy your run as a future motorhead, doesn't matter what you drive, and don't let anyone put you down for what you're driving. Enjoy what you do, be creative, learn the ropes, just because its a wira now doesn't mean it can't be a 612 scaglietti in 5 years.
So what's your idea of 'fun'? ;)