Eterna 6a12 or 6a12tt?

hamtaro00

Hi guys recently just finished my Waja project [NA terror], am now looking to move to Perdana.somehow i cant blow the flame inside of having a 6 cylinder.

My choice boil down to these 2 engine selection, im looking for some opinion on which to get. Saw this ad in mudah http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Perdana+Twin+Turbo+RS+auto-14611917.htm, its an auto'd car by the way as manual version is priced way higher.

wonder if the FC will be the same as the NA version or worst, is the G/box reliable and wont have to face those gearbox changing annually etc.[heard that FC no good and g/box kong easily, not sure if any1 can vouch] had tested the manual version of 12tt, i would say its not bad.

my driving style much alike ahpek, means vry seldom will rempit and cilok around,so i guess the auto can do for awhile. for the NA version, i heard that the engine is somewhat stronger than the proton produced [not sure on this] and the g/box is better [not sure if that means no ATF cooler needed].

oh by the way any member nearby Bdr Sri Permaisuri can help me to check the car on the ad? or got any kaki that going to let go their beloved 6a12tt ride at a good price in around 16-17k range?

hehe:biggrin:

if u go for auto version, do ensure the ATF cooler is installed, cos the ATF tends to overheat
in our country. but i suggest go for manual version better.

hi bro manual version tend to overpriced abit IMHO. or if there was any cheaper, the place is too far to travel and cant justify. Pics see OK but wasted time and money to get there, c the car alot problem and not up to expectation.... :sleep:if u got any lubang to find me a cheap 1 then good i will go for manual haha. got commitment already but the flame for cars not yet die.:biggrin:

the last of the last option really to go for some NA buildup, which really drain the wallet.:thefinger:

if u plan to go for auto tranny, do install an ATF.
since u have a lower budget, y not go for RVR turbo manual?

by the way is FTO LSD gearbox a direct fit to A12 also? assume that the diff beside having a LSD is the gearing ratio?

plonk in to NA 6a12 will it actually be better or worst, compare to ori eterna manual g/box. if stil unable to get a FI'd perdana by end of this month, think will go NA path again.:driver::banghead:

ori 6A12TT auto version will have an ATF cooler (with small fan) factory installed.
but any auto gb will surely rosak bro, better get manual box.
but if u drive like makcik going to pasar, then it will last you a little bit longer la while u save up for manual box.

FC wise, 6A12TT auto will be more than 6A12NA.

6A12NA japan or msia is the same, engine toughness wise.

FTO 6A12 gb cannot fit to Perdana 6A12 engine, becoz of the configuration of the engine.
FTO gb is on the left and Perdana gb is on the right. mounting points are different.
but if take the internals, i think can.

my advise, for ease of mind, get manual gb..

thanks for the advise. Will need to look high and low lo. up until now the option is leaning towards NA build. Hope it will turn out a good 1:banghead::banghead:

hi senior senior, rakan rakan sekalian.

im going to 'interview' a 6a12tt manual next week. kindly share with me what place and things to see and take note more. if want to check accident, front side easier but if behind or look from below / upskirt, where to spot?

previously tested a unit whcih require some effort to shift from 2nd to 3rd gear [suspect used too much for traffic light drag], beside than that i dont know what else want to test.

so with hearing and looking around the engine bay, how to detect if the engine and turbo, clutch is working good? and also wanted to know will the ABS stiill working after new engine with diff ecu planted in?

fnger crossed, hope that unit will be a good conditioned.already sold off my waja and now need to take my kriss around

Check see whether the main body got cracks or not? Worry got cracks.. then not that good le..

yo l2s:wavey:

for frontal side, i know to look at the line near at the bonnet area and the gap of the doors. should be even. but the back side or lower chasis, im not sure which place to look for.

and for turbo'd engine, cold start should be a little noisy like diesel yes? but after then i shouldnt be hearing any funny sounds or whinning?

ooh, and also to pull the rubber from the door hinges for checking

hi senior senior, rakan rakan sekalian.

im going to 'interview' a 6a12tt manual next week. kindly share with me what place and things to see and take note more. if want to check accident, front side easier but if behind or look from below / upskirt, where to spot?

previously tested a unit whcih require some effort to shift from 2nd to 3rd gear [suspect used too much for traffic light drag], beside than that i dont know what else want to test.

so with hearing and looking around the engine bay, how to detect if the engine and turbo, clutch is working good? and also wanted to know will the ABS stiill working after new engine with diff ecu planted in?

fnger crossed, hope that unit will be a good conditioned.already sold off my waja and now need to take my kriss around

other than what stated above,
check:
engine - open oil cap and see the cams are not blackish, for V6 tappets noise will be visible but not too loud, check around engine no oil leaking, check injectors no leaking, check timing belt not koyak or keras, listen to other noises besides the tappet noise.

turbo - check exhaust (when accelerating) no blueish or silverish smoke coming out.

clutch - just press accelerator and the car will go, no lagging between pedal press and the car going (if u know what i mean), like no half clutch play. smell around the engine bay for burnt clutch smell.

ABS - anyone can take out the bulb for ABS check (in the meter console). so to try ABS, u have to do emergency braking la.. galant or eterna twinturbo do have ABS, so if connected, still can use..

what about blackish smoke? friend told me that sometimes AFR too rich,got smoke out. cams, i think most of the car will have yellowish to black cam and surface.

yep, black smoke usually becoz of ARR too rich.
if u want, u can check the sparkplugs to see the condition.

white smoke, usually becoz: when idling = valve seal. when driving = piston ring.