3sge Beam vs 4age Bt

francbs

Hi, anyone would like to share with me the advantage of both engine as i am deciding which engine to transplant into ae101 4afe. Kinda confuse at this moment. Any feedback will help alot.

3sge beams have more horses and high torque compared to 4age bt ... 4age bt much easier to mod cause parts are abundant ... 3sge beams hard to mod .. because of the high compression ratio the 200ps power output at 7000rpm is almost bottle neck already .. it depends on yourself really .. wanna go for some not so common mods or easily available parts for modding lar .. I also have the 3sge beams engine ...

advantages of 3sge beams

- 200ps @7k rpm & 210Nm@6k rpm .. but to get this output have to use ron100 fuel .. expect around 16xwhp if stock form
- rare
- beautiful
- vvt-i
- 2L

.. cons
- higher road tax
- hard to find parts
- not much aftermarket support
- not many mech know about this engine
- addictive vvt-i from 4.5k rpm onwards
- expensive but I think blacktop market price are higher due to the demand .. not much ppl play with 3sge beams ...

at this moment someone offer the same price for beams and 4age bt. Only the installation different a bit only. Both 5 speed.

xMika ... how is ur ride on it?

btw what do u mean by addictive vvt-i from 4.5k rpm onwards

mine still in workshop .. final stage of transplanting already .. haven get to try it .. i have a few corona club members with both 3sge beams and 4age bt in their coronas ..

rm4.3k + trade in my engine and gearbox .. superb condition halfcut ... mileage 94k only ... steering, carpet, brakes, absorber everything very very complete .. mine was the SS-III with LSD and superstrut suspension ..

how is the condition of your halfcut ? have you found the 3sge beams halfcut ?

yea ... well someone quote me around 5.5k for beams from st202 halfcut ... 5 speed. the rest i have no idea as i dunno know much about beams engine and their parts. btw i am in kuching so the price is high here.

5.5k is the standard price ... if the condition is good then get it ... it all depends on you ... 3sge beams or 4age bt .. if you want easy mod then 4age la ... if you feel like going for something different then 3sge beams ..

at first , i was thinking of 4age bt ... since it is common and easy to get + it should be cheaper than beams engine. but after looking around, 4age bt 6 speed - around 6k-6.8k - might got 1 engine with gearbox (around 5k) not halfcut
4age bt 5 speed - around 5.5k
4age bt auto - the cheapest i heard is 4k but dun have stock. only left 5.5k for it.
then the mechanic poison me with 3sge beams at the price of 5.5k.

no much review can be found regarding 3sge beams ... so i am confuse on which one to go for.

btw u mention about "addictive vvt-i from 4.5k rpm onwards" ... may i know what does it means?

the 3sge beams has the vvt-i features .. like the honda b family engine with vtec ... got high cam lifting ..

4age bt has the vvt function which has almost the same function ... but vvt-i is better

3sge beams is a very advanced engine for its time .. during 1996~1999 ..

ok la just go for the 3sge beams engine since your mech knows that engine .. you wont regret :)

---------- Post added at 02:06 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:06 AM ----------

Nov strnka 1

---------- Post added at 02:07 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:06 AM ----------

check out the link

the 3sge beams has the vvt-i features .. like the honda b family engine with vtec ... got high cam lifting ..

4age bt has the vvt function which has almost the same function ... but vvt-i is better

3sge beams is a very advanced engine for its time .. during 1996~1999 ..

ok la just go for the 3sge beams engine since your mech knows that engine .. you wont regret :)

---------- Post added at 02:06 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:06 AM ----------

Nov strnka 1

---------- Post added at 02:07 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:06 AM ----------

check out the link

thanks for ur info and advice

there are many corollas with 3sge beams all over the world .... handling issues shouldnt be a problem ... maybe the car will be front heavy since the 3sge beams are made from cast iron block .. but if you get the SS-III halfcut with the helical lsd .. then it can cure the understeer effect ..

---------- Post added at 01:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:59 PM ----------

dont forget to get good tyres la ... dont buy budget tyres hehe .

my vote goes to 4AGE BT..

lots can be done to the engine..

it can go up to 1950cc with a stroker kit

can put ARC induction box, Tom's intake, FGK extractor, Toda cam, standalone ECU

it can go more than 230 horsepower..

and get a 6speed gbox.. sure can tapau stock 3SGE after u've done all of the above.. :wink:

---------- Post added at 02:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:08 PM ----------

but if u lazy.. just get a 3SGE :wink:

2zzge also can fit .... the manual 6 speed .. whoa .. theres one ae92 trueno with 2zzge at my mech place .. 4th gear can reach 200kmph already ..

now got few option adding as kena poison from some of my friend who mod car.

for 1.6cc ~ 4AGE
for 1.8cc ~ 2ZZGE
for 2.0cc ~ 3SGE BEAMS or 3S-GTE (4wheels)

that is the choice for ae101 but will seek out half cut shop to see what stock they have and also the pricing for it.

btw how much is the transplant charges and what actually will they do when transplanting it? i heard some say just do transplant only and some do top overhaul and check the gearbox and so on. Hope someone will share on this.

the 4wheel 3s-gte is not possible lar if you want your car to be fully street legal but 2 wheel is ok .. use gearbox from the fwd 3s-fe ot 3s-ge ... if your halfcut condition is damn good like mine .. i dont even have to change the timing belt .. because the timing belt changed at 80k km .. now only at 94k km ..

some mech that dont want troubles in the future like leaking or what lar they will open the engine and change those oil seals and valve seals ..

transplant charge varies from each mech ... the way they do it also different ..

I think if you wanna go simple = 4age, special abit = 3sge, uncommon but powerful = 3sgte, expensive but lastest technology VVTL-i = 2zzge ..