planning to buy savvy..need suggestion..

z_eypul

i planning to buy savvy. but i dont know what model can i choose.from proton edar prefer savvy amt.plz help me to give some opinion.maybe for maintanance and so on..tq..

my bro has the savvy amt, with experience driving it i would not really buy the amt my self. the shifts seem a lil rough as the car jerks and then shifts. we also had problem when the transmission check light came on and the car would not upshift from 1 to 2. sent it back to proton and they said water got into the gear box. after solving the prob the transmission checklight still tends to pop up every now and then but after restarting the car the light seem to go away. at the end of the day its up to u to select a manual or an amt but i thought i should share my experience.

Ya. I read a magazine before, it complains about the AMT. Is like there's no need for such a imperfect feature. The worst thing is it did not work properly.

so..u'r prefer manual??like that??any problem plz..need u'r help..

i think the manual, will be alot better. my friends savvy which a manual is so much nicer to drive, shifts can be smooth and i think the manual shift time is better than the amt.

im not sure bout that, cause curently we have some cuppons that pronton gave us. so now we dont pay much for servicing

from my experience, i wud give the savvy manual a 7 out of 10..built, creature comfort, styling...everything is very refreshing..the downside is MAYBE on the engine..u really have to rev it to get the power..on small throttle opening it kinda lags a bit..then it really moves..handling is good on std springs..so my suggestion wud be the savvy manual..:vroam:

i'm one of d savvy owners(MT)...test drive 1st..then u'll know:)
for more info u can join savoc.net (savvy owners club)

proton always monopolize the entry level buyer.long live for proton and savvy

The sound is due to inappropriate AT fluid being used... (proton use normal AT fluid in savvy)..

Gotta use these oil.
Manual gearbox oil - for Savvy AMT and MT
14122006009.jpg

AMT fluid ( only for Savvy AMT)

elf2.jpg
[/quote]

Other wise it works fine..check out savoc.net

elf AMT fluid only for savvy?like this sure problematic if cant get at other places.

That means the AMT problem can be solve??
By the way..howz the fuel comsumption on AMT and MT....
Need help...Really wanna know it coz plans to buy also..

Actually the ELF oils are easily avalaible at any spare part shops... the Renaultmatic D3 cost RM60 plus for 2 litres (AMT needs only 0.8 litre)

Not sure about the Tranself oil..cost about RM100 I think.

That means the AMT problem can be solve??
By the way..howz the fuel comsumption on AMT and MT....
Need help...Really wanna know it coz plans to buy also..

yes smoother gear change..not a prob actually..just irritating.

I would say my savvy mt FC is phenomenal... with slight mod R3 muffler and apexi open pod...it gives about 16 km/l from melaka->KL expressway then from kl-rawang-tapah-cameron highlands using federal roads.. I need only refill once with a piece of RM50 note to got to cameron from melaka and jalan2 there..

A piece of RM50 note is also sufficient for long distance trip balik kampung - > covering 500 km on federal roads. around 20km/l...mind you I did not actually adhere to the speed limit of 80 or 110..sometimes occacisonally floorred the throttle to get to the max..cruised at 100-110 cos savvy felt better at this speed, due to the better suspension can't really stick to 80 even on federal roads lol...air con on all the times... I prefer to travel on old road and federal roads and I think everyone knos why di...damn nice to drive around bends...mostly with a pasenger (my girlfren)

For urban drive in melaka, not much stop n go traffic like in Kl it gives around 15km/l.

heard that MT fc is actually slightly better than AMT fc..but still better than kelisa auto anytime..

Let me remind you guys servicing Savvy is quite expensive esp for timing belt change...but I still think the cost is within the range of many peoples budget la...

Just to give slight idea about the cost.

The cheapest air filter and oil filter...

Rm18.50 and RM7.50

http://img92.imageshack.us/img92/9109/dsc00310gr4.jpg
DSC00312.jpg

Drop in filter..

Washable Redline Air filter -RM85 -special price for savvy club members
Zenden air filter - around RM130 I think - got a seller in this forums.
Datsun 120Y oil filter is compatible with Savvy's
Bocsh H7 headlamp bulb - RM24 from spare part shops.
Dayco Timing Belt kit set rm355 100,000km without oil seal
Dayco Timing Belt kit set rm380 with oil seal..
Spark Plug Cable Original Proton-rm430 comes with coil..
Clutch Kit set-rm555 (Original Proton), comes with bearing
Air filter-rm57 (original proton)
Oil filter-rm22(original proton), local rm11
spark plug(champion)- per piece rm20 ( this is Savy original plug)
wiperblade-rm30 bosch 22/16
Castrol magnatec 4L-rm76
Front Headlamp-rm215 (per side) Original Proton
Rear taillamp-rm160 (per side) Original Proton
Side mirror Original Proton rm94 Original Proton per side
Absorbers-front rm128, rear rm80 per side (Original Proton)
Brake shoe rm105 Original Proton
Bosch Dot4 Brake Fluid 1 litre-rm19
Hella twin-tone Horn rm39 per box( with relay)
Bosch twin-tone horn rm35(without relay)
Mercedes Benz coolant 1.5litre rm27 Made in Germany

Labour charge for savvy timing belt change is RM100.

according to the service manual booklet.

service interval.

Oil change - 10k km
Coolant change - 60k km
Oil filter - 20k km (not many people do this)
air filter - 20k km
gearbox oil change - 40k km
spark plugs - 40k km

wow..savvy maintanance very quite xpnsive..but after 10k km..my waja for oil change, oil filter, and labour charge rm100-120 after 5k km..but i heard better for savvy oil change after 5k km..anybody know if i right or wrong..??

depends on the type of oil u use la

if still under warranty, authorised SC will only service ur savvy every 10k km ..want to change at 5k can do outside la.

I've been using Petronas Mach 5 ( a mineral oil) since day 1..anud I used it till 10k km before change..so far no prob now mileage (32k km).

thankz bro..anybody got a problem u'r savvy..??i want to know before i book savvy..