stoker 1.8 into b16a block...

If you want to stroke a B16 with a factory crank/rods, you typically won't be able to do so because the piston will extend past the deck of the short block and ram into the top of the combustion chamber. Though i would love to see how you can do it with OEM :hmmmm:

:idea: swap block to B20 + 84mm high comp piston then Re-grind the engine block number to match the B16a. Now that can be done under RM3500.

for sure with some modification to the parts... its not pnp.
there must be some reason for those choosing this kind of mod. what do u feel if ur b16a can win the b20 in drag. :biggrin:

Ofcourse I would feel proud to have my 1.6 win over a 2.o liter in the same chassis. But question is, even with modification, would it be possible to stroke the 1.6 to 2.o using OEM parts? Even re-sleeving the B16a and boring it out to 86mm wouldn't make up 2000cc.

Here's how I was thinking of doing it. Send b16a block for re-sleeving, bore it out to 86mm or 87mm. Use K20a3 OEM 86mm piston or K24 CRV piston 87mm. It'll give roughly 11.1:1 and 10.8:1 compression respectively. Ofcourse this needs modification to the piston and rod slightly for clearance sake. This is with B16a and b18c1 head ofcourse of your choice. RS is still 1.74 which is still good to go for the high side.

Even by doing so, its only making up 1.8 litre of displacement. How to get the other 200cc? Changing the crank = change in rod as well. Really curious on how you can do it without having clearance issue.:hmmmm:

D-IV,
bare in mind,swapping to d B20 block will only get u 1974cc.....assuming u plonk in a B18C crank into d B16A block n dump ur gonna net ard 1916cc oredy.....AND....YES,plonking in d 2L crank into d B16A block is possible......it's been done n its STILL running..FAST?YES..VERY VERY!!!!!!!

hattech-v,
hehehehhe..u dun wana list down d resepi 2 do it here meh?hehahahahha

Akuma,

Since its running, I guessed it works then.. I won't argue with it. I just don't see how you can get a workable compression ratio and how it can clear from hitting the head using all OEMs.

Do educate me on how it is possible then using OEM. PM me if its not possible to let out the secret.

Nevermind, i figured it out. I don't think its possible to use all OEM. Piston needs changing. Raised pin, low compression height and low domed. Correct me if i'm wrong.

b16a block sleeved to 86mm
B20B 89mm crank
B16A conn rods
Custom Piston.

All on B16a head.

wah...good info...i think the b20 outside will be shamed by the car powered with b16a block only...hahhaha...also can cheat the opponent when drag....:driver:

wah hattech,y u never told me this setup?
expensive ha?
i think its btr than my setup right now.

owh yeah,will be visiting ur workshop soon.
mau rechip itu ecu.

D-IV,
well,u'd b surprised w wat our local engineering shops can do nowadays......but watever they do,they r still using d OEM parts 2 mod...so essentially,wats in d 2L stroker B16A r still OEM Honda parts....well,hattech-v din say plug n play OEM Honda parts,right?hehehehehehheheheh
n last piece of puzzle dat baffled me is d choie or conrod.....i got dat figured out dy..kekeekkeke.....
come watch d SDB lar dis Aug..alot of dis "B16A" in Class F!kekekekeke

akuma?dun wanna tell me bout d recipe a?
pm lah....
i'm not entering drag battle pon.
jes wanna know.hehehe:biggrin:

Yes i do understand that it can't be used without the modification done.

Anyway, going with this setup will affect reliability. Yes, it runs strong but haven't been proven to be reliable for how long. I would have to congratulate hattech-v for bringing up this useful topic and proven it to work. My mind has always been set to build engines for extra reliability as well as make power along with it. I wouldn't mind putting this kinda set up if my car only sees the drag strip because it does put a lot and i say again, a lot of stress on the parts. And i really beat on my engine hard everyday to go to work wahaha:rofl:

I'll come down maybe next year if there's another event. Don't have much time this year. Honestly i haven't visited any Performance Shop in West Malaysia yet, i'll have it planned next year when my Uncle at Johor is free to bring me around.

How much does it cost to resleeve a block and balancing the rotating assembly in your area anyway? They charged me quite high here in Brunei for resleeving... plus i'm not sure of their workmanship.

D-IV,
woopppss..my bad...din realise ur frm Brunei....well,i guess its not a trend over der 2 dis kinda "rojak" stuffs hurh?coz i've heard of so many stories of ppl over der buying crate engines frm reknowned tuners across d globe n also pay them 2 go over 2 Brunei 2 tune their cars......n hehehe....since ur in Brunei,i guess d charges der surely higher thn here too....normal lar...like having a cup of teh tarik...price in Kuala Lumpur n my place Kuantan itself oso different mah?kekekekekekkek
n ur right abt d reliability part.....dats y i never did any such mod 2 my engine coz i do alot of track n also autocrossing(can c my car in d latest KERETA mag,key word:AP Motorsport)........so,dangerous as i always keep d rev btween 6000rpm-9000rpm thru out d course

egb18c,
cup...sorry ar?not i dun wanna share d recipe but i also never do b4,u wanna blif in watever i'm gonna tell u meh?u might as well go n PM hattech-v,ask him out 4 a "date" thn u let him tell u d recipe ler..ehheehe.better dat way

Yes, few people here actually do buy crate engines but not a lot. Money talks right, its the same everywhere. I don't have a problem having some mat salleh tuning my car as long as they do a proper job.. we do have local tuners here, just that the market is not supporting it yet. Rojak stuffs? Not sure about this though, i've heard only stories of people mix matching parts but haven't seen in person yet.

Your car was on the mag? Niceee... congrats.

egb18c,

I think you're better off sending your block to be re-sleeve to 86mm, use b16 rods and crank. Stick to 1.8 liter and rev happy with proper tuning... RS is still 1.74. Just need some machining done to the rods and pistons to clear. It'll still be under RM3.5K.

akuma,

hahaha,maybe i'll give a visit soon,wanna do sumthin wit my car anyway.
but still y he didnt mentioned bout the oem stroker kit when i overhaul my car.dang.
AP motorsport?padang lalang area is it?

D-IV,
bout ur setup,its not going to happen soon,cuz jes overhauled my car.jes wondering how to make b18/b16 to 2.0 :hmmmm: as its new to me n m quite broke wthout any money:rolleyes:
owh,will update d lean engine after ive rechipped d car.
thx for d information:adore:

D-IV,
not being featured in d mag la....was in sum autocross event n sum1 decided 2 snap d pic of my car n post it up........n y whn u mention abt tuners,u only mention abt mat sallehs?Japanese tuners not good?

egb18c,
dat u go n shoot him lar 4 not telling u..how i know?n oit..whr got OEM stroker kit 1?its either aftermarket or cheap cheap Malaysia Boleh rojak style lar..ahahahhaah
n eekkk??!!how u know padang lalang area?u frm ard here?n nope...AP Motorsports is in Setali area..a new shop.....owned by Gemuk,ol timer who owns d lil performance shop behind UMW Toyota.....d 1 in Padang Lalang is EAG....same gang too

malaysia rojak one lowh,i think,from wut i read from the thread.
m from kuantan maaa.but studying in kl.thats y i know kuantan area.
but i dont know any workshop there.hehehe.takot,everywhere i c is big front mounted intercooler car.heheh

wah hattech,y u never told me this setup?
expensive ha?
i think its btr than my setup right now.

owh yeah,will be visiting ur workshop soon.
mau rechip itu ecu.

haha u never ask me how come to tell u.
come la.. anytime at nite. if wanna practise oso will be good.

btw, if comparing this kind of mod, i prefer something that has better RS.

akuma, come n participate la this coming sdb round 3. test ur 2L b16a... kekekekekkee.... caaaaabuttt....