Engine dies when AC turned on

rashidbb

Hello there folks,
i drive a satria 1.3 1997 model.

I have been having this problem recently.
Started when i was at a traffic light and engine was idling when is died.

I turned off AC and started the car again - it was idling ok but not like normal.
As soon as i turned AC on the engine struggles to stay alive and finally dies again.

What you think can be the problem here?

initially i thought it was one of my spark plugs not firing so i replaced them but still the same issue.
Also clear the carburator head just incase it was clogged and no air flow - but still same issue.

What else do you all think i should do to approach the problem ?

tq in advance.

Rash :banghead:

edited: i realise the engine dies after putting more load on.

for eg: i tested it at night and realised the engine rev dropped when i turn on the headlights, then i tested it with the high beams / emergency lights / etc etc / .
so in other words the more load the engine gets the easier it dies.
by switching on the air cond(heaviest load) engine dies right away!

with this info : do you think the alternator is the issue ?

adjust ur aircond ON idle rpm by screwing da idle load compensator.... check all vacuum lines if they are all connected properly to and from the ficd....

i adjusted the idle rpm, in other words making it slightly higher... it balances the aircond load but engine still sounds like its not normal - sounds like its firing on 3 cylinders.

i opened and cleaned distributor/spark plugs/ and cables and reinstall them. but same issue.

also checked all vacuum hoses seems ok.
really not sure what is still the problem!

:mad:

:adore:

please check your belts too...

done this too...

all ok - no changes...

help me out folks! a man in darkness!

:bawling:

i adjusted the idle rpm, in other words making it slightly higher... it balances the aircond load but engine still sounds like its not normal - sounds like its firing on 3 cylinders.

i opened and cleaned distributor/spark plugs/ and cables and reinstall them. but same issue.

also checked all vacuum hoses seems ok.
really not sure what is still the problem!

:mad:

:adore:

done this too...

all ok - no changes...

help me out folks! a man in darkness!

:bawling:

if ignition ok... check fuel filter and fuel pump... make sure they are supplying sufficient fuel into ur engine....

ok regarding the fuel filter and fuel pump.
bare in mind im not a pro mechanic - ehhe

i removed the fuel filter connected the lines directly just to test it out for while.
the engine issue was still there.

put the fuel filter back and now am unsure of how to check the fuel pump.
is there a way to diagnose ?

ok regarding the fuel filter and fuel pump.
bare in mind im not a pro mechanic - ehhe

i removed the fuel filter connected the lines directly just to test it out for while.
the engine issue was still there.

put the fuel filter back and now am unsure of how to check the fuel pump.
is there a way to diagnose ?

ahaks... me too dunno how to check fuel pump condition.... :P

throttle body and check the plug wire....sometime it go haywire coz the plug wire is damage...

carburetor, belting, air cond compressor too......coz if air cond compressor gonna jam, it will caused the engine dies off too...my dad car faced the same prob b4

but all carburator engine....must warm up every morning...at least idle for 5mins

ISC kong kua....
Normal lar proton 1.3/1.5... Even with mitsubishi....

FICD kan nye....

ISC kong kua....
Normal lar proton 1.3/1.5... Even with mitsubishi....

FICD kan nye....

ok isc i suppose is some speed sensor ?
my car caburator - got isc ? where is it located ?

and FICD ? you mean to install ficd ?

please do state clearly bro, im excited!

ok isc i suppose is some speed sensor ?
my car caburator - got isc ? where is it located ?

and FICD ? you mean to install ficd ?

please do state clearly bro, im excited!
too bad i gonna potong ur stim...

carbies dont have ISC.... ficd got lah.... ur car original also got ficd.... ficd got 2 tube connected to it... 1 is from intake manifold... another one links to ur idle load compensator (which looks like a ufo) attached beside ur carburetor.... at ur idle load compensator, there is a screw which can be used to adjust ur aircond ON idle rpm..

ok, so knowing this now.
how can i possibly check and diagnose if the ficd is the problem ?

Aiks ... thanks for clearing up my unconcluded message. ISC = Iddling Stepper controller. Purpose is to produce suction/vacumn into the manifold when iddling(throttle close) for the engine to continue running...

FICD = Fast Iddling Control Device is a less intelligent device that does the same thing. But more relaible compare to the smarter brother...

Din really read the thread thoroughly... so din realize it a carburetor. Sorry, my fault.

So, there is a adjustment screw on the device. try tunning around. if it still dun solve, try change one...

it's either your timing is out or your alternator is too week it may sometimes be your battery too.. try checkin it out from your mechanic..

chceked battery gud. checked alternator gud.

check markers by spinning crank and matchin cam tdc with factory set markers.

gotta a feelin its the third cylinders eksos valve.

putting the car to rest for a few days - had enuff .
will resolve matter soon

read that you changed your sparks plug, what about the cables?

could be the plug cables bro, had that with my hyundai sonata, turned out that plug cables konk out...maybe switch with your machas and see whether it will help?

ok, so knowing this now.
how can i possibly check and diagnose if the ficd is the problem ?
got vacuum gauge??... normal aircond OFF idling is at 20mmHg... aircond ON will be reading 15mmHg...

if FICD is leaking, ur aircond ON reading will be much lower....

if u dont have vacuum gauge, can check the leaks manually... plug and unplug da vacuum tubes to see which one leaks air when aircond ON and OFF... if leaks/sucks a little when OFF aircond, means FICD kantoi adi....

Im going to try and resolve this issue myself.
I have managed to find out its a valve problem.

bad compression on third cylinder.

i would need a vrs kit (gasket/rings) when im done and putting it all back.

anyone knows where i can the vrs kit from ?

you might need to check your FICD's condition (buy a new one, cost you around 20 bucks) and also vacuum hose connection ( any blockage in carbbie vacuum connector counts too )

Im going to try and resolve this issue myself.
I have managed to find out its a valve problem.

bad compression on third cylinder.

i would need a vrs kit (gasket/rings) when im done and putting it all back.

anyone knows where i can the vrs kit from ?

Aikss.... U should have realize that ur engine sounded like subaru before u realize the air cond. Did compression test or not..? Or just pull plug one by one..?