will the exhaust silencer harm the engine or turbo?

im not sure either 02100 ur car is manual or auto....if auto noise would never been an issue...u can use silencer as it needs back pressure...
for manual,my advise bring down the boost to 0.5-07...reduce the b/p going bak to turbos/engine....
another way...chg ur exhaust piping to 2.5 inch...if urs is stock than no problem(>200hp)
but if already done some mild mod etc bigger intercooler,custom intercooler piping,bigger turbo than not possible...
c whc 1 suits u

All u're afraid of with silencer is the restriction within the exhaust system. If u really want to use silencer, can... Increase ur exhaust system diameter
to reduce the restriction...

And FGK though big, but can put sideway... Like original. Less yeng lor, but makes ur ride quieter.

hijack a bit....can i use 3" midbox to reduce the sound since i'm now on straight flow

sure can,but need to see the mid bullet is thing like net or not,if open type is no problem,if your waste gate pipe is direct out is better~

the silencer too small or got net will harm your turbo 100%back pressure damage turbine fin or bearing

hijack a bit....can i use 3" midbox to reduce the sound since i'm now on straight flow

Like said by chrissyong, look for those straight flow midbox. Less
restriction. And still does the job well. 3" + straight flow mid n rear muffler. If u look for those rear muffler with cylinder shape will still bising. Look for those oval cross section straight flow muffler...

sure can,but need to see the mid bullet is thing like net or not,if open type is no problem,if your waste gate pipe is direct out is better~

the silencer too small or got net will harm your turbo 100%back pressure damage turbine fin or bearing

Yamen...

if thats wat u want just bring down ur boost to stock la..no need to take out silencer anymore...

I think you can get it at Kakimoto at Sunway & I believe Sunway area few shops is selling it. You just ask for exhaust bypass valve. But that one only use when u meet up with road block. Can't be use on long term driving...Hope this helps...

FGK is way too big for my car....over the hump will be a big deal...!! im using 3inch inlet diameter exhaust d, shud not be a problem ...cuz the problem is at the silencer which designed was too small for this exhaust... maybe around 2.2 only after reduction of size...!!Yup i also finding the oval shape exhaust sumhow like midbox type...but i need custom it or i buy like mr2 turbo ones only... still hunting... ~~by the way... i just finding the solution to solve it out ...since putting a silencer not advisable...i'll take it off ..have to sacrifies la...

easy way chop chop shop lor

It is very very simple. If your car is 660 turbo boost 1bar, the engine is equialvalent to 1200-1300cc. Just install piping and silencer/muffler of 1300cc range.

And so if 1800cc turbo is about 2500cc engine capasity, just install exhaust system for that rating.

Street tuned turbo belo 1.2bar does have much worries compared to 1.2bar-2.0bar or above. Dont confused yourself can complicate things.

It is very very simple. If your car is 660 turbo boost 1bar, the engine is equialvalent to 1200-1300cc. Just install piping and silencer/muffler of 1300cc range.

And so if 1800cc turbo is about 2500cc engine capasity, just install exhaust system for that rating.

Street tuned turbo belo 1.2bar does have much worries compared to 1.2bar-2.0bar or above. Dont confused yourself can complicate things.

Err.... Just to get things right..

When an engine is 1000CC with comrpession ratio 9:1 boosting at 1 bar, it still means 1000CC, but having compression ratio 18:1.

Just that the compression happens in 2 stage;

1) Intercooler piping. (atmospheric pressure = 101.325kPa where 100kPa = 1 bar). So, induced air 1 bar + atm 1 bar = 2 bar.

2) In the cylinder. 2 bar (from the manifold) X 9CR = 18. Which is why, reducing a little compression ratio can save the final pressure at the Top dead center during the compression stroke.

But rule of thumb, u can still use the same method to be on the safe side. But the cost is a little overkill. But as long as it's safe.

Err.... Just to get things right..

When an engine is 1000CC with comrpession ratio 9:1 boosting at 1 bar, it still means 1000CC, but having compression ratio 18:1.

Just that the compression happens in 2 stage;

1) Intercooler piping. (atmospheric pressure = 101.325kPa where 100kPa = 1 bar). So, induced air 1 bar + atm 1 bar = 2 bar.

2) In the cylinder. 2 bar (from the manifold) X 9CR = 18. Which is why, reducing a little compression ratio can save the final pressure at the Top dead center during the compression stroke.

But rule of thumb, u can still use the same method to be on the safe side. But the cost is a little overkill. But as long as it's safe.