About the discontinued of the new FD2R

hanhng

Hi Vtec enthusiast,

I'm just wondering if the Honda stop bringing in FD2R, would the other car seller like Naza or Mutiara Motor still importing them? Because i think if they don't, the price of the FD2R will become pretty solid, so what do you reckon??

Thanks.

I'm sure other dealers will bring in second hand/recon from Japan. Even if they do bring them in, I would imagine that the price of FD2R would not drop too much.

true, I think the price for 2nd hand Honda Civic is really good even for the 1.8 and 2.0, because of the lower road tax and maintenance cost perhaps?? It's definitely a good buy.

why they discontinued?

Reason is here:
Honda said:
having evaluated the model based on environmental performance, which is the new method of calculating emissions in JC08 mode, as well as current market demands, we believe that the time has come for us to discontinue production of the 4-Door Civic Type R

Link is here: http://www.honda.com.my/newsevents/news/details.dot?inode=66407

Honda said:
Honda Motor Co., Ltd. will discontinue production of the 4-door Civic Type R at the end of August, 2010.

japan spec CTR will stop production...only the euro version will continue production...

FYI...top gear pitted both the japan spec n the euro spec in a head to head battle n the japan spec won. whomever has the cash....faster get a FD2R n keep it. it's going to be a very expensive classic 1 day.

I am a bit confused. Is Honda stop making Type-R all together or just this CTR?

japan spec CTR will stop production...only the euro version will continue production...

FYI...top gear pitted both the japan spec n the euro spec in a head to head battle n the japan spec won. whomever has the cash....faster get a FD2R n keep it. it's going to be a very expensive classic 1 day.

like the honda CRX

I am a bit confused. Is Honda stop making Type-R all together or just this CTR?

there are 2 versions of the current civic type R(CTR for short)

1 is the japan spec which is also the 1 we are getting here(4door)pic below
http://star-motoring.com/archives/2007/8/2/motornews/Civic%20Type%20R%20front%20three.jpg

the other 1 is the euro spec CTR(2door)pic below...
http://excaliburleasing.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/2006_Honda_Civic_Type-R_Concept2.jpg

the japan spec 1 will be discontinued...the euro spec 1 will still be in production.

I must have read it incorrectly when I first heard the news. I know that they will still continue with the Euro Type-R but my understanding was that will be the last Type-R Honda ever makes. I guess I was wrong.

It's a shame that they going to stop producing FD2R:bawling:
Quickly buy it, it really is a great car and i think it is going to have great value in the future too.

guys...read it over at paultan...

first is the speculated news..

paultan.org/2010/04/18/honda-to-discontinue-the-civic-type-r/

then the confirmed news

paultan.org/2010/04/19/its-official-fd2-civic-type-r-to-be-discontinued-after-august-japan-to-get-2010-spec-uk-built-hatchback/

there r no news yet on whether the CTR family line will stop at the current model but i dun think it will...they cant. they've already gutted the NSX n CRX....gutting the CTR would just make honda have less n less of a racing pedigree...

on the other hand...the CRZ isnt such a bad car. i wouldnt mind having it over a CTR...

It's a shame that they going to stop producing FD2R:bawling:
Quickly buy it, it really is a great car and i think it is going to have great value in the future too.

The design of FD2-R is so common and similar to normal FD1/FD2. I don't really think that it's going to have a great value if people keep-it. For those who intended to own a FD2R after this, grey importers would bring them in after this a recond car..or worst case, just buy the normal FD1 and Accord Euro R halfcut or FD2R halfcut and let the mechanic do the conversion!! (since both model shared the same gear ratio but different FD)

Unless it has a unique design like old CRX or even like S2000 or even DC5S/R, then I think it worthful to keep.

Like I said in other posts, it is very sadden to see the end of Euro-R/Type-R era (JDM of course) :bawling:

Yup its sad... now the trend is , buyers are going to FN2R. Euro Civic Type R

Especially JDM model, we were lucky to have the JDM model in our country. They don't even sell it in Australia but the Euro model. I would say JDM model is more special:adore:

so the CTR is going to be discontinued...

Honda have already discontinued most of their "racing" chassis --> NSX, S2k, Integra...

Its a consumers world...and 98% of consumers are buying "normal" chassis cars like the City, Jazz/Fit, Accord, Civic, etc... doesnt make much business sense to produce Type-Rs for 2% of the market...which is currently spoiled for choice...

Evos for Mitsu... STi for Subaru... Fairladys for Nissan... RX-? for Mazda... etc...

Both Honda and Toyota are leaders in mass produced vehicles... and both are battling for market share of the consumer market...so the decision to cut the Type-R is timely...