4AGE bhp figures from dyno

What a long thread here .. Anyone here who drive a 150whp ++ mind to share their engine mods?

my e-manage is hook up with the ignition and also the fueling harness, but the problem of low end choking is still there, the ignition needed to be adv. to compensate for the choking but still its pulling back a bit when i throttle hard, when i throttle gently no such issues... any sifu can help?

Bump: my e-manage is hook up with the ignition and also the fueling harness, but the problem of low end choking is still there, the ignition needed to be adv. to compensate for the choking but still its pulling back a bit when i throttle hard, when i throttle gently no such issues... any sifu can help?

my e-manage is hook up with the ignition and also the fueling harness, but the problem of low end choking is still there, the ignition needed to be adv. to compensate for the choking but still its pulling back a bit when i throttle hard, when i throttle gently no such issues... any sifu can help?

Bump: my e-manage is hook up with the ignition and also the fueling harness, but the problem of low end choking is still there, the ignition needed to be adv. to compensate for the choking but still its pulling back a bit when i throttle hard, when i throttle gently no such issues... any sifu can help?

My guess is, you are running Trumpets. I compensate this choking with a fuel regulator with additional fuel. Mine, it's very smooth like normal. B4 i install the fuel regulator, it choke very badly. After installation, it felt very lightweight on the throttle and the car really scream thru like a roaring turtle.

I'm not running any piggback or standalone ECU, just an enquiry, does your Emanage improve the overall after installation / tuning ? I'm considering Emanage Ultimate or Dastek Unichip. Still haven't finalise the option because want to hear from pple's comment on both 1st.

mine has got both regulator and e-manage, but aft tuning the e-manage the low end is worse but top end good. if no regulator at all i think my car kenot move properly lor. My guess is the wiring or the igntion..

I don't know & dare not comment bcoz mine auto, so maybe different in some situation. I did asked my tuner about fitting the fuel regulator but he told me no need coz enough & can control with the injector harness wor....:hmmmm: But so far, not hesitation at any rpm, quite smooth lor...

I'm using stock regulator with E-manage as well, no hesitation problems as well.
Perhaps your tuner had tuned it too aggressive for WOT. U see, if u set the values from 0 to a sudden 7 or 10 in WOT at 3000-4000rpm, this means you are actually adding this value to the VVT timing advance. So this could cause the engine to stutter or hesitate as for the sudden change in timing which was too big of a value.
Btw, what do you mean by fueling harness? Basic harness (airflow) or injector harness?

Also, I recommend using original branded regulator such as Sard as some regulators does create a lot of problem. Btw, is you fuel press sufficient and stable when revving?

Bro,my car exactly facing the same problem as urs right now,and when i revved til 4-5k,there is knocking on the engine...:banghead::banghead:
really headache lah...

Knocking on 20V can also be caused by the petrol you use. In my case, whenever I use Petronas, it will definitely knock when VVT activates between 3000-4000rpm during hot weather or heavy traffic jam. Sometimes can knock at 2000-3000rpm also.
After constantly filling up at Shell (non-Vpower) about 2-3 rounds of RM50, the knocking slowly went away.
Perhaps this was the reason why Toyota couldn't launch Levin/Trueno/Corolla 20V in Malaysia coz using lower RON and low quality fuel here... hehe :bawling:

Bump: Knocking on 20V can also be caused by the petrol you use. In my case, whenever I use Petronas, it will definitely knock when VVT activates between 3000-4000rpm during hot weather or heavy traffic jam. Sometimes can knock at 2000-3000rpm also.
After constantly filling up at Shell (non-Vpower) about 2-3 rounds of RM50, the knocking slowly went away.
Perhaps this was the reason why Toyota couldn't launch Levin/Trueno/Corolla 20V in Malaysia coz using lower RON and low quality fuel here... hehe :bawling:

erm,i'm using v-power for my car woh...i mean shud try shell super or other brand?
fyi,the knocking happens around 1-2k rpm then happen again at 4-5k rpm,any ideas?

erm,i'm using v-power for my car woh...i mean shud try shell super or other brand?
fyi,the knocking happens around 1-2k rpm then happen again at 4-5k rpm,any ideas?

Mine too, at around 2k rpm; also using V-Power.

Here's what my new South Africa friends taught me:

Std pressure is about 2.7 bar or almost 40PSi. Here are the results :

48 PSI (3.3 bar) - There is a def increase in bottom-mid range torque but acceleration high up is slightly slower.

50 PSi (3.44 Bar) - Greater power increase in the bottom-mid

52 PSi (3.6 bar) - Huge increase low down but the car almost hits a brick wall at about 180kph

42 PSi (2.89 bar)- Slightly higher than stock and small diff in the mid range.

44 PSi (3 bar)- This seemed to be the sweet spot with the stock ecu where the bottom?mid range power increased without sacrificing the acceleration or top speed.
I love this setting and there is a def increase in torque in the low/mid range.

It must be noted as well that when the pressure is turned up the throttle response increases greatly as well. This was an added benefit.

With regards to fuel consumption....i have not noticed any difference! http://forum.9000rpm.net/img/smilies/big_smile.png

Another good bonus is that the higher pressure removes pinging on the engine. My car used to pig slightly under load below 2k rpm.....now it doesnt at all!

The next update will be with dyno graphs and power readings....BUt for now i recommend this to any 20v owner with the stock ecu. http://forum.9000rpm.net/img/smilies/cool.png

And this is what they say for those with management:

The guys that are running aftermarket management,don't need the FPR,becasue when the car is dynod,they setup up the time that the injectors will stay open.This is only benificial if you running std management since we can't adjust anything on it.

:biggrin:

And this is what they say for those with management:

The guys that are running aftermarket management,don't need the FPR,becasue when the car is dynod,they setup up the time that the injectors will stay open.This is only benificial if you running std management since we can't adjust anything on it.

:biggrin:

bro,meaning that for my situation i don't need to adjust the FPR is it??

Just got my answer from my South African buddies:

Guys DO still use AFPR if using after market systems, it can still give u gains and benefits ur tuning potential allot. Management cant alter ur Fuel pressure! U can only adjust the duty cycles on the injectors.[/QUOTE]

So I guess we do need a FPR afterall...

i see...thx for the info again...but stil kenot solve my knocking problem...

PC Modding I'm referring to airflow harness, I'm using malpassi fuel regulator .

Bump: PC Modding I'm referring to airflow harness, I'm using malpassi fuel regulator .

Good suggestion. Any sifus here wanna share their secret recipe ?

hmm better u refer this link and find this junk yard 4AGE owner to know detail..

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachments/tech-engine-management-monitoring/160602d1224250028-ems-dyno-results-junk-yard-4age-jpg

Bump: i mean,this link..hhe

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/tech-engine-management-monitoring/239287-ems-dyno-results-5.html

hmm better u refer this link and find this junk yard 4AGE owner to know detail..

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachments/tech-engine-management-monitoring/160602d1224250028-ems-dyno-results-junk-yard-4age-jpg

Bump: i mean,this link..hhe

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/tech-engine-management-monitoring/239287-ems-dyno-results-5.html

GSRTurbo: The airflow harness comes with the basic harness for Emanage blue. So I'm guessing that the airflow map has been enriched on the low end a little too much. Or it could be too aggressive on the timing on low RPM, which would cause the stock ECU to detect knocking thus the feeling of "choking". Anyways, I guess you'd better take your 20V to a reputable 20V tuner as mentioned by our friends here. Btw, try bypassing E-manage to see if the chocking still exists.