4G91 Gang..

urgent! please help me

guys i have my tapet replaced today, but the noise is still there... i think it is even worse than before. i suspect thast the tapet i changed gone already also. but the workman said is my block loss already. i have never heard of anything like that before. so please help me. u guys have any idea?

my tappet just replaced oso bunyi bising...rpm after 4k damn bising...kenot go fast oso...mahai....any1 know y?
need run in?
dun think need rite

MiTec-i said:
my tappet just replaced oso bunyi bising...rpm after 4k damn bising...kenot go fast oso...mahai....any1 know y?
need run in?
dun think need rite

my car also like that la. above 4k walau, really can not take it man the noise... i suspect it is not the tapet la now... did u do anything to rise up the compression of ur engine? like metal gasket and some head job? tomorrow i will take out the head and c what happened. now suspecting the valve touching piston. cos if the distance is so right tht the valve will touch the piston when u press hard and the ecu adjust the timing. it is like u knock two coke can gentlely, the ping ping sound there but these two cans won dent. any way tomorrow i will know what happen to my engine. hopefully.

after being silent for 1 mths +, finally my tappet sound is back... but mild sound during cold start only... the cause it .... i just retune my car... previous distributor timing was very high... adjust back to normal... now got sound aredy... like i mention b4 in this thread... adjusting distributor has effect on tappet sound.... another reason cud be due to Q8 engine oil....changed to this cos experiencing white smoke problem... dats tried this oil... but felt no difference in engine performance....

lash adjuster

Hi Guys..I got info from some1 that da like tepet sound is came from our lash adjuster and this will hapened when using hi-cam.. I'm not sure about this but I already change da lash adjuster and sound gone already.. another way is setup adj cam pulley at maximum A mark.. Any komen??

owh .. TT = teh tarik .. good .. for this 2 week i patah kaki .. my car at the paint workshop ... i dont wanna use herbie colour anymore .. changing colour .. ill post my car pic if done for all 4g91 gang .. :X-: .. just wanna survey .. how much the labour charge when changging clutch 1 set .. at the same time modi. flywheel `POTONG`for more pickup??

herbie... labour 80... sceem f/w 40...
bro.. tell me when yr car complete... then we do 1 TT for new members.. many new members but never met b4... more fun to communicate if we know each other better...

!!4g91!! said:
Hi Guys..I got info from some1 that da like tepet sound is came from our lash adjuster and this will hapened when using hi-cam.. I'm not sure about this but I already change da lash adjuster and sound gone already.. another way is setup adj cam pulley at maximum A mark.. Any komen??

bro... tappet = lash adjuster

read abt it here http://www.lancerregister.com/faq/F01/f01.html ... there alot of things dat cause this sound... if discuss here memang not enuff time... the list goes on n on... its basically a design defect by MMC... the hole infront the adjuster is too small causes clogging dat makes the sound... sum say MMC later came up wit a 3rd generation adjusters which has bigger holes... but dunno can solve the problem or not... changing the new 1 cost a bomb.. 1 piece=90rm x 16piece.... second hand 1 has no guarantee on solving the problem... recond 1 rm30 likedat a piece... servicing is abt 150 for the whole set...
my 2 cent.. tappet sound is common among MMC engine lar... just need to jaga maintanance abit... even if u put new 1s... then dunt jaga.. after 6 months sound cums out cannot do anythg lor....

thats a good idea partyjoe .. because im lone ranger .. and dont wanna be alone anymore .. but i cant speak english .. TT must speak english meh ? :emoticon_U: .. please reccomand me foremen .. because here at kajang .. they wanna charge rm150 for that job ..

p/s: loneliness is killing me .. nobody wanna be lonely but im nobody:emoticon_U:

Herbie said:
thats a good idea partyjoe .. because im lone ranger .. and dont wanna be alone anymore .. but i cant speak english .. TT must speak english meh ? :emoticon_U: .. please reccomand me foremen .. because here at kajang .. they wanna charge rm150 for that job ..

p/s: loneliness is killing me .. nobody wanna be lonely but im nobody:emoticon_U:

actually we only speak 10% of england during TT... dat also we use 4 naming parts,eq. pistons, trottle body,clutch, gear box n so on... becos we dunno this words in malay... if not we sure use 100% B.M 1...hehehe... hope u got the message.. just cum only lar bro... i also prefer to talk in malay 1 lar... btw TOM wont be there....heheheheh
btw u from kajang ha... Daremax also from kajang... u know him ha... maybe can cum together...

4G91 takde Tappet, it uses Lash Adjuster.

When I first convert to 4G91 my foremen put in mineral oil 20-50W... back then the engine was very quite. When I switch to semi-syn, then the music begins.
I tried switch around with different brand of semi-syn oil... but the noise become worse, from cold start to even when engine is hot. I also tried playing around with ignition timing and etc... it seems to quite down a bit but after a while it start to bising again.

Finally I switch back to mineral oil, the noise reduced.... now its like tet-tet-tet for 20 sec after cold start... and then it stop. Its not 100% gone but at least some improvement.... will try flushing on the next oil change.

Hope this helps.

Snake~~ said:
4G91 takde Tappet, it uses Lash Adjuster.

When I first convert to 4G91 my foremen put in mineral oil 20-50W... back then the engine was very quite. When I switch to semi-syn, then the music begins.
I tried switch around with different brand of semi-syn oil... but the noise become worse, from cold start to even when engine is hot. I also tried playing around with ignition timing and etc... it seems to quite down a bit but after a while it start to bising again.

Finally I switch back to mineral oil, the noise reduced.... now its like tet-tet-tet for 20 sec after cold start... and then it stop. Its not 100% gone but at least some improvement.... will try flushing on the next oil change.

Hope this helps.
Yaa, our engine no tepet.. If got tepet sure u will smoke someone behind and can adjust till silence.. myb u are right bro.. My pomen oso told me like this as he mention dont used any thick oily for my engine.. The music will begans till worse.. 20-50w is quite good for 4g91.. He suggest used pekat2 punya oily.. sure that oily is cheap above 50 bucks.. Btw, i will wait n see the result coz i already use 20-50w last 2 day ag..

any1 intrested in swapping their stock 4G91 intake manifold wit my 60mm rebored 91 intake... pls let me know.... no need to pay me a single cent... just pay 4 the swapping... rm30-40 likedat... reboring yr stock will cause u more than dat...
reason for this... planning to put back my stock TB...