4G91 Gang..

wirafly said:
oic, hmmm, next time if my car got tappet noise I sure double check on this also.

Many foreman told me if wanna play 4G9X DOHC engine, dun stingy on engine oil maintenance, when time come, just change it, no need use expensive engine oil but must change ON TIME (advisable every 4000km), many of them comment alot of their customer got a lot budget modify here and there but never bother service their car, end up when tappet noise come ask for service, they have the tools to service the hydrolic tappets but mostly customer have to change one set of 16 tappets, cause the carbon built up from engine oil already cause wear and tear for this sensitive tappets, which cause over RM1000 because it is very hard to determine which tappet koyak, end up most of the customer try their luck get another head for transplant.

yah i agree 100%.... last time when i newly transplant my engine.. the tappet sound was to the max... fucking irritating n embarassing... 1 shop quote me change all 16 of them.. 80/90per piece of not mistaken.... luckily i found a 4G91 textbook ...ALVIN SIFU dat is... after his advise my problem solved immediately... save my $$$$...

partyJOE said:
yah i agree 100%.... last time when i newly transplant my engine.. the tappet sound was to the max... fucking irritating n embarassing... 1 shop quote me change all 16 of them.. 80/90per piece of not mistaken.... luckily i found a 4G91 textbook ...ALVIN SIFU dat is... after his advise my problem solved immediately... save my $$$$...

If tappet noise come, not only irritating, but also lose of power.

skyline_maniac, you better fast fast change engine oil and see, if cannot solved then no choice you have to replace tappets, just pending your other mod project first lor

alvin24 said:
solving tappet problems IMPORTANT notice:
1. DON'T use additive... trust me, it'll make things WORSE!
2. DON'T use Shell engine oil... of all my years experience, Shell oil makes tappet noises louder
3. ALWAYS service on time!
4. ALWAYS check to see if got enuff black oil... top up if necessary

Solutions that nobody listens to:
1.DON'T alwiz high rev engine... obviously nobody listens to this

Recommended oils known to help reduce tappet sounds:
1. Magnatec semi synthetic
2. Penzoil normal oil (the yellow bottle wan)

I'm using Endless engine oil... doesn't reduce tappet noises as much as Magnatec does for my 4G91... but heck la... i find Endless oil to be smoother.

Other alternatives:
1. Service tappets... i know somewhere that does it for 100+ (forgot exact price)
2. Change all 16 tappets (or those loose ones only... depending on condition)
3. U can always 'try' to flush your engine before ur next oil change... it didn't work for me though... but it did work for some of my friends with minor tappet sounds (mine was pretty major back then... but i did a full tappet service and replaced the loose ones).
**Brand new tappets costs around 90 per piece

Advice for tappet noise prevention:
1. ALWAYS CHECK ENGINE OIL!! (very important... once the noise starts, it won't stop)
2. Don't always rev here rev there lar... or stay at high revs long long

**Reason why checking engine oil is very important is because if there isn't enuff engine oil, the tappet sounds will arrise... and by then, if u fast fast tambah oil also already too late, coz' once the sound starts, it won't stop.

Hope this info helps everyone with tappet problems. =)

SIFU'S advise... save it yo...

partyJOE said:
Solutions that nobody listens to:
1.DON'T alwiz high rev engine... obviously nobody listens to this

Agree, my first tappet noise come after I rev to test top speed on the way go KLIA, so, to all 4G91 member, we should put alvin advice in mind, dun high rev our engine.

wirafly said:
Agree, my first tappet noise come after I rev to test top speed on the way go KLIA, so, to all 4G91 member, we should put alvin advice in mind, dun high rev our engine.

i even put it on my desktop... no joke....

exclusive sale for 4g91 clan

i have my manifold heat shield 4 sale...
u all know how gud the condition is....
item sprayed with silver heat resistant paint...

ideal 4 those with 20mm 'think' karat heatshield like 1 2 runtuh likedat...
price only rm20....

Party, my birthday last time u neve wish me pon.. hahahaha.. pilih kasih la u..

actually there is a way to test the lash adjuster, but for sure our local mechanic does not have the actual machine to test / calibrate it la.. so the other way is submerging it in diesel over nite then press2 inside the lash adjuster hole to relieve any sticky areas or any residue that is blocking its function.. if it is too loose then have to chage la.. last time when my timing belt putus i did the servicing 1 time.. now still ok.. hehehe..

wirafly said:
haiya, if mod this mod that and didnt drive like mad then what for.. hahahah.. dont worry, hte sound is only temporary and it doesnt really hurt ur engine performance..

partyJOE said:
hi there bro... ISC is the IDLE SWITCH CONTROL... which located at the throttle body...
i face this problem also b4... now using FICD to solve it... abt the manifold, i read in PMC dat it better to use GSR manifold cos the route is shorter... but donno abt he effect, cos im using stock manifold rebored to 60mm...abt the hotbit extractor 1.6 .... our 4g91 taiko alvin was using it b4 but dunno wheather 1.6 or 1.8 punya... mine is 93 cap ayam 1...
In general modding, the shorter intake manifold will shift power band to lower RPM, extremely useful for turbo car to assist turbin spool up.. longer intake manifold will shift ur powerband to higher RPM thus giving extra "breath".. its like on the Mivec for higher RPM utilization.. so u choose what u like.. only thing is the GSR ones are bigger port so matching throtle body and ported head will be more appropriate..

tajulsans said:

actually there is a way to test the lash adjuster, but for sure our local mechanic does not have the actual machine to test / calibrate it la.. so the other way is submerging it in diesel over nite then press2 inside the lash adjuster hole to relieve any sticky areas or any residue that is blocking its function.. if it is too loose then have to chage la.. last time when my timing belt putus i did the servicing 1 time.. now still ok.. hehehe..

so bro...the hydraulic tappet can be serviced laa?? oh thank god..the noise is really irritating!! so just submerge it in diesel overnight laa??..i will give it a try...thanx!! :biggrin:

tajulsans said:

Service using machine, the workshop infront my house got provide such service, RM150

tajulsans said:
In general modding, the shorter intake manifold will shift power band to lower RPM, extremely useful for turbo car to assist turbin spool up.. longer intake manifold will shift ur powerband to higher RPM thus giving extra "breath".. its like on the Mivec for higher RPM utilization.. so u choose what u like.. only thing is the GSR ones are bigger port so matching throtle body and ported head will be more appropriate..

you wrong, longer intake manifold for better low end, shorther intake manifold for better response on high end, MIVEC have longer intake manifold to compesate it low end torque

partyJOE said:
HAPPY BIRTHDAY AYELL

:birthday: :dancing2: :shakehand :beer: :party: :dancing: :rock:

GOD BLESS U...

Thanx partyJOE.. Thanx Guys.. Wish you happiness as well.. Sorry for not log-in here for a quite sometimes, been bit busy these days..

er,wanna ask...when is the next TT,y now 'mo seng mo hei' wan?
wirafly,where is tat?i think my tappet 'kua' d...coz use q8 oil oso stil noisy in the morning...

wirafly said:
you wrong, longer intake manifold for better low end, shorther intake manifold for better response on high end, MIVEC have longer intake manifold to compesate it low end torque
eh.. like that ka?? i though i read somewhere about this.. but nvm, until i get a reconfirmation on this matter loh.. mayb some other fren can confirm oso..

1.8 extractor

hi all 4g91 gangs. I just want to ask to all 4g91's sifu what a different between 4g93 extractor taken from wira 1.8 and satria GTI 1.8? Can the extractor from satria GTI 1.8 suit our engine 4g91? Thank you to all sifus.

tajulsans said:

alamak dun merajuk la u... i just ternampak his name in the birthday list ma... so wish him on behalf of us... nevermind... yr birthday next year... we celebrate together... make it as our big event....

Aiya.. cannot set date just like that ma.. it has to be collective ma.. hmmm, but then wait for everybody to agree is like going no where oso, just set at this friday nite lah.. Rendezvouz at Esso Sunway (since WOC not going to have TT that nite)