4G91 Gang..

changing the entire engine head just bcoz of the lifter????
cannot repair dat prob mer???
if the problem arises again (which is very likely for 4g9x)...
gonna change the head again???

mine oso hav the sound...
dunno is the lifter or tappet or watever....
but during cold start oni....
after warm up everythin is just fine.....

hi milo.....
y dun u just use the entire a/c system from the halfcut???
can use the digital a/c ma.....
i dunno whether the compressor from 4g1x can b used by 4g9x engines o not.....
but then i guess better dun rojak la.....

Bump: changing the entire engine head just bcoz of the lifter????

hi milo.....

changing the entire engine head just bcoz of the lifter????

hi milo.....

No la bro...just want to take off the lifter only...the head just keep as spare part....hehehhe....already ask spare part shop....one biji lifter RM40.00...if 5 lifter kong...times to 40 already 200....hehehhe...

Mine whle cold or warm same noise will hear.....huhu :biggrin:

u talkin bout the "tik tik tik" sound huh????
cant beat em....join em la....
hahahaha...
but i find mine still tolerable....
heehee

so am i... mesin jahit sound but not too loud lah...
soundprofing the bonnet helps.... :smokin:

mine comes and goes...cold start,esp in the morning..kinda loud..duno tappet or lifter..or its the same.. change engine oilevery 5K..using semi syn.. but no problems whatsoever,so like what cal says,just live with it..

guyz..i'm newbie here...:wavey:

just wanna ask for the advices from the expert in this thread about 4g91 engine... basically i already change my satria car engine with this engine about 3 years ago...n using automatic transmission (for my wife). the condition all stock..no mod had ever being done..since the car just parking in the garage for almost a year, now i had an idea to make this car more fun... so my questions are:

1) the fuel consumption is RM10 = 35km-40km.. i think is not too economical for the stock engine.. have u guyz try any piggyback? im thinking to use e manage.. have anyone get idea pro n con about it? have any idea else than e manage.. based on your guyz experience..:smokin:

2) im using standard mandard satria exhaust..so im looking to change the piping+header+exhaust.. got any idea what size of pipe diameter and the Japan brand for the extractor and tabung exhaust (not too loud..nanti my wife's become louder than the exhaust:banghead:) that usually use for 4g91 engine.. gain max torque and hp

3) any advice for me to make this car more fun??

thanks guyz..:biggrin:

my god...
ur FC is crazy man!!!
FC high oso hav to go close to 400km per full tank la....

m using emanage now.....
i'd suggest u to finish all ur "hardware" mods/setup before proceed to emanage/other piggyback...
so dat the tuner can tune ur engine to suit the mods u've done.....

on my old exhaust setup.....
i can easily get 420km per full tank....
but after i go kacau my exhaust setup...
now FC went up edi....

for satria exhaust setup...
i guess u'd hav to ask bro joe for suggestions.....

Bump: my god...
ur FC is crazy man!!!

m using emanage now.....
i'd suggest u to finish all ur "hardware" mods/setup before proceed to emanage/other piggyback...

now FC went up edi....

hahaha
my car oso like mesin jahit dy...specially in d morning..
so far stil can tolerate lah..

fulltank can go upto 420km ar?
town drive or got rojak w hway?
mine's like mad expensive..
towndrive, fulltank can only reach close to 350km

rojak driving style.....
got highrev, got normal drive....
but no highway cruising....

my god...
ur FC is crazy man!!!

m using emanage now.....

now FC went up edi....

hahaha..that why la i want use piggyback..at least can play with the air fuel ratio first...mostly not intend yet to play with cam or other parts in the engine..:rofl:

what type of emanage do u use? is it come complete with all the harness? what is the budget bro? do u know any sifu to dyno and setting the e manage...recommend please:biggrin:

i installed 1.5yrs back (oct'07)....
if not mistaken....it was RM1,500....
emanage blue (new) + ignition harness + installation + dyno tune....
done at JC Racing (Amoil) Sunway.....

rojak driving style.....
got highrev, got normal drive....
but no highway cruising....

could it be bcoz im on auto tranny?
hmmm..
btw, i changed my muffler dy..
remember i told u abt d muffler for 1.8 n 1.5 thing that shop told me..
i gues it really efekted the car...now its ringan on acceleration
:biggrin:

some said.. worn hydraulic lash can eat ur camshaft from time to time. i also face the same prob. the lifter cost a lot. damn.like buy engine head. but if change head , we still cant guarantee the new head will free from the lifter prob. hmm .. better change.

bro ayell...
we all stock/mild mods engine oni...
urs soooooooooo many hantu/toyol inside...
sure hav to feed them kao kao la...
wahahahaha

Bump: bro ayell...
we all stock/mild mods engine oni...
urs soooooooooo many hantu/toyol inside...
sure hav to feed them kao kao la...
wahahahaha

mine, try once, with 5 passenger + luggage full tank from KL to Kuantan exit gambang then to kemaman via seaside road where my my fuel gauge drop to 1 then i refuel..forgot how many km i clock.. but i might say, i am very shock & impressed on the FC of this engine even for Auto. if manual. shud be more saving. maybe my stock setup, piping & exhaust does the magic.. wonder if my low rpm effect all this.. :confused:

i think I paid bout 80 bux each lifter (brand new) last time, but the price inclusive of installation. So I paid nett 1280. IF not mistaken lar... too long ago can't remember.

I changed them once before only.

ayell,
your fuel consumption damn champion man... *clap clap*

hai n slm to all bro..sorry 4 interrupting..just want to get some opinion,advice n experience from u all..my care have 4G91 engine rojak with 4G93(maybe putra) head,throttle body,ECU n 1.8" exhaust piping..the exhaust manifold n muffler all stndrd but the problem is i used 1.3 proton sntndrd gearbox..what is the best gearbox that suit in my car now?is using 4G91 gearbox is better or maybe 4G92 or 4G93 is better?what about the best clutch plate to used?how much the cost? i hope u all can help me..thanks..:driver:

Bump: hai n slm to all bro..sorry 4 interrupting..just want to get some opinion,advice n experience from u all..my care have 4G91 engine rojak with 4G93(maybe putra) head,throttle body,ECU n 1.8" exhaust piping..the exhaust manifold n muffler all stndrd but the problem is i used 1.3 proton sntndrd gearbox..what is the best gearbox that suit in my car now?is using 4G91 gearbox is better or maybe 4G92 or 4G93 is better?what about the best clutch plate to used?how much the cost? i hope u all can help me..thanks..:driver:

hai n slm to all bro..sorry 4 interrupting..just want to get some opinion,advice n experience from u all..my care have 4G91 engine rojak with 4G93(maybe putra) head,throttle body,ECU n 1.8" exhaust piping..the exhaust manifold n muffler all stndrd but the problem is i used 1.3 proton sntndrd gearbox..what is the best gearbox that suit in my car now?is using 4G91 gearbox is better or maybe 4G92 or 4G93 is better?what about the best clutch plate to used?how much the cost? i hope u all can help me..thanks..:driver:

Bump: hai n slm to all bro..sorry 4 interrupting..just want to get some opinion,advice n experience from u all..my care have 4G91 engine rojak with 4G93(maybe putra) head,throttle body,ECU n 1.8" exhaust piping..the exhaust manifold n muffler all stndrd but the problem is i used 1.3 proton sntndrd gearbox..what is the best gearbox that suit in my car now?is using 4G91 gearbox is better or maybe 4G92 or 4G93 is better?what about the best clutch plate to used?how much the cost? i hope u all can help me..thanks..:driver:

Gearbox is a personal preference. There is no such thing as 'best'.

If u want short ratio gearbox, then stay with your 1.3 gearbox. The gearbox can take the torque of the 4G91. IF u want a longer ratio then 4G93 lor (4G13 n 4G91 have almost the same ratios). For pick up of course 1.3 gearbox better la... for better FC on slow drives and cruising then a longer ratio would be better.

As for clutch also depends lor. You want comfort just go back with OEM clutch. You want performance then get a semi-racing exedy clutch.

Semi-racing clutches are a bit more jerky when engaging gears, more siong to your car (bushings KO faster, if u're still using clutch cable you might wanna re-enforce your firewall, if clutch pump will KO faster, etc etc etc), clutch will be more stiffer to press (exercise your left leg!), and the ware+tear is much faster.

Based on my experience (i'm on my 4th set of racing clutch now), if this is your daily car, your clutch will be a goner after 1 year++ a bit (less than 1+half years). That is IF you do not get stuck in traffic jam. I don't get stuck in jam often.
My friend driving a type-R gets stuck in jam DAILY coz' his workplace quite teruk jam, 6 months the clutch botak already.

The thing about driving with a racing clutch is that, if you want to maintain your racing clutch longer, you cannot balance your clutch too much. Meaning, once u engage gear, u have to fully disengage your clutch pedal, so your car launches (which is very siong to the car la). IF you balance it, the high friction force created by the racing clutch will ware off the clutch very fast.
If you're REALLY unlucky, you might end up burning your clutch even BEFORE it wares off. What happens is you balance it too much till the surface burns and the grip is no longer there (u end up damaging the clutch). The surface becomes smooth and is unable to grip. =p

Anyway, quite a long post this one. Good luck on your decisions! =)