a question on Mugen Formula head cover.

lightningfield said:
how to get the rough surface?? what paint to use??

mine is silky smooth like baby's butt.
That's actually called powder coating. Powder coating is a dry type of coating, which is applied as a free-flowing, dry powder. The main difference between a conventional liquid paint and a powder coating is that, the powder coating does not require a solvent to keep the binder and filler parts in a liquid suspension form. The coating is typically applied electrostatically and is then cured under heat to allow it to flow and form a "skin." The powder may be a thermoplastic or a thermoset polymer. It is usually used to create a hard finish that is tougher than conventional paint. Powder coating is mainly used for coating of metals, such as "white goods", aluminium extrusions, and automobile and motorcycle parts. Newer technologies allow other materials, such as MDF (medium-density fibreboard), to be powder coated using different methods.
The most common polymers used are
polyester, polyester-epoxy (known as hybrid), straight epoxy and acrylics.
Production:

1. The polymer granules are mixed with hardner, pigments and other powder ingredients in a mixer
  2. The mixture is heated in an extruder
  3. The extruded mixture is rolled flat, cooled and broken into small chips
  4. The chips are milled to make a fine powder
The most common way of applying the powder coating to metal objects is to spray the powder using an electrostatic gun, or Corona gun. The gun imparts a negative electric charge on the powder, which is then sprayed towards the object, which is grounded. The object is then heated, and the powder melts to form a hard coating. It is also common to heat the metal first and spray the powder onto the hot substrate. Preheating can help to achieve a more even finish but also opens the door to other problems, such as runs caused by excess powder. See the article "Fusion Bonded Epoxy Coatings"

Another type of gun is called a Tribo gun, which charges the powder by friction. In this case, the powder picks up a positive charge while rubbing along the sides of a Teflon tube inside the barrel of the gun. These charged powder particles then adhere to the grounded substrate. Using a Tribo gun requires a different formulation of powder than the more common Corona guns. Tribo guns are not subject to some of the problems associated with Corona guns, however, such as
back ionization and the Faraday Cage Effect.
Another method of applying powder coating, called the Fluidised Bed method, is by heating the substrate and then dipping it into an aerated, powder-filled bed. The powder sticks and melts to the hot object. Further heating is usually required to finish curing the coating. This method is generally used when the desired thickness of coating is to exceed 300 micrometres.

if i got 4000 also i wont spend money on MUGEN head cover.

recipe for spraying on DOHC VTEC cover for RED TYPE R or BLACK. is using "wrinkle spray/paint" .. i donno if here got. but overseas a lot.

use of "wrinkle spray/paint" .. when u spray on ur cover. when its dried.. u can see the paint turns into wrinkle.. as original as RED TYPE R cover n also Black top cover.

power coating n wrinkle spray might be different. but wrinkle spray is the recipe for spraying to red or black DOHC VTEC cover.

good luck of finding n trying.

* i would spend for RM600 for original OEM brand new H22A Type-S red cover. rather than buying RM4000 for MUGEN cover.

I dunno about the wrinkle paint.. but for me the effect is dissimilar..

The original one is rough like sand, and more like powdercoating like hikaru said, except it's rough, unlike smooth powdercoating.

lightningfield,
whn lar u wanna sedar?toking abt RM4000 cam cover here n der?padahal teh tarik RM1 pun nak aku belanja...HAHAHHAHAHAHAH..kantoi..kantoi!dun marah me.ehhehehe

mie, i buy mugen headcover then i airbrush flower design ahh. im a lover not a racer remember kakakakakaka i always say to my gf " i mugen you honey.. means i love her. she likes it! hahahahaha

oi akuma. teh tarik can have evryday la dey. thats y u havto belanja me. mugen headcover? maybe once in a lifetime chance. right right? unless u have 9 lives then maybe u can consider getting it on your 9th. haahahaha. skali tengok kat ah seng ada jual hahahah mau biol aku. hahahah.

btw..my gearbox fd is FOUR POINT FOUR Ok?

hhaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaahhaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhaaaaaa

things i am looking forward for the upcoming weeks/months:

1. mugen headcover (seeerriously)

2. door visor (otw - home made)

3. silencer for border 304 speed (cannot take it anymore)

4. OS GIKEN for Y1 .. got ahhhhhh???

lightningfield said:
can la wei but since mugen is copyrighted so it will become MOGEN. hahahah

MOGEN PAWER!!!!!!!

'Moo'genlah!!! If american.. 'Miugen!' Malaysian 'Moo'gen because of cows are common in Malaysia.. ROFL!

Mugen means infinite.

So 'Mugen power' actually means 'infinite power'

if you want to use japanese to say I love you.. you can use either.

Anata ga aishiteru zo!

or

Omae wa daisuki da zo! <-- less formal.

shiroitenshi. u shud know, these fellas especially crower75 has the tendency to like MEN. oh wait. it shud be TENDENCIES. not tendency.

haaaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

hahahahah...........you watch out aaa meeoorrrrrr.............when I get back to KL and when you pass infront of my house, get ready to dodge some batu bata hahahahahaha