ABS is for stupid people?

my car doesn't hav abs and its a auto tranny car...
i always use both my legs to drive my car... one for the pedal and the left one for the brake...

didnt know when and why i started to drive like this... and in case of emergency and if my brain doesnt jam... i will press my pedal with my left leg and my right leg will tap on it....

saved me once when i was in a high-way and suddenly got accident in front of me... but my back got hit...

this is so nice. a fanatic for INITIAL D, watching it everyday and nite. teaching everyone dump their ABS and be the brake king of TODO DRIVING SCHOOL. Nice. i guess the kancil is red top 185 BHP with monster size SUDU LOGO (malaysia version of SPOON), CARBON fiber bonet and yellow kaler. DEMO car from a workshop owned by sum old time EX RALLY / F1 (FAIL DRIVING) that train lotsa youngster to race on the road.

That's the problem when people watch too much Initial D. "I can simulate ABS! I can perform better than ABS braking! Im from TODO WORKSHOP DRIVING SCHOOL!"

When a dam mechanics watch too much initial D, they will tell you 4AGE 240BHP 11000RPM is the king of all engine and plunk into AE86 GT APEX you can even win GTR, EVO, CIVIC TYPE-R, FC FD and only will lose to EVOIII when your engine EXPLODED or a blue SUBARU.

The problem started when we watch too much movie and listen too way often to mechanics.

When i stop listening to 1/2 baked mechanics, my car suffer the less. when start to listen to engineers, i understand a car better.

it took me 1/2 of dozen of accidents to learn how to JAM and avoid ramming into the back of the car. but yet i still end up kissing ppl's back.

ABS might not perform 100% the way we wanted but ABS definately is much more consistent braking on tight situation compare waiting for our respond do simulate ABS.

I wanted to tell you guys. STOP thinking that everything in the INITIAL D anime thing is something that you can easily apply.

I dont have ABS and *SUDU* mod engine in my car. i'm driving a stock kancil that taking corner at 100 without stepping on the brake. dont mess with a maroon kancil in subang area. :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

coz i always end up kissing something! stay away! :rock:

I have'nt owned a car with ABS until i bought my daily driver city idsi a year back. Till then i learnt how to ABS myself (braking smoothly before the overkill of locking up) especially in conditions with lack of grip (e.g. rain).

There was one time, i had to emergency brake with the city in the wet, i had to remind myself to not apply my self-adapted habit of own ABS-ing but instead just slam the brakes and let the ABS do the work. ABS certainly saved the day for me that day.....

Moral is, you have to be mindful whether a car has ABS or not, so you can take the appropriate actions in a given event...

neither do i... all my cars are not equiped wit abs... but i have to agree, sometimes, there are times when your wheels lock and u're desperate to stop the car without crashing into anything... so, i believe having abs will definiately help as i'm not fernando alonso.

Even Fernando Alonso could do better with ABS. It is a driver aid. And it can be made to cut in to help only when the wheels start to lock up. That way, if you get the threshold right, you get maximum braking force and if you get it wrong the ABS saves your ass from trouble.

indeed indeed... so i really dont see how some member felt so proud saying that they will do better without the abs. Hmm.....

We are all humans. We will all make mistakes no matter how skilled or how experienced we are. The electronic driver aids such as ABS and Traction Control are there to help us when we fail. To say that ABS is rubbish is to be ignorant and only goes to show that they don't know enough about cars and about driving them.

DarkSin said:
this is so nice. a fanatic for INITIAL D, watching it everyday and nite. teaching everyone dump their ABS and be the brake king of TODO DRIVING SCHOOL. Nice. i guess the kancil is red top 185 BHP with monster size SUDU LOGO (malaysia version of SPOON), CARBON fiber bonet and yellow kaler. DEMO car from a workshop owned by sum old time EX RALLY / F1 (FAIL DRIVING) that train lotsa youngster to race on the road.

That's the problem when people watch too much Initial D. "I can simulate ABS! I can perform better than ABS braking! Im from TODO WORKSHOP DRIVING SCHOOL!"

When a dam mechanics watch too much initial D, they will tell you 4AGE 240BHP 11000RPM is the king of all engine and plunk into AE86 GT APEX you can even win GTR, EVO, CIVIC TYPE-R, FC FD and only will lose to EVOIII when your engine EXPLODED or a blue SUBARU.

The problem started when we watch too much movie and listen too way often to mechanics.

When i stop listening to 1/2 baked mechanics, my car suffer the less. when start to listen to engineers, i understand a car better.

it took me 1/2 of dozen of accidents to learn how to JAM and avoid ramming into the back of the car. but yet i still end up kissing ppl's back.

ABS might not perform 100% the way we wanted but ABS definately is much more consistent braking on tight situation compare waiting for our respond do simulate ABS.

I wanted to tell you guys. STOP thinking that everything in the INITIAL D anime thing is something that you can easily apply.

I dont have ABS and *SUDU* mod engine in my car. i'm driving a stock kancil that taking corner at 100 without stepping on the brake. dont mess with a maroon kancil in subang area. :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

Ha ha ha. You are funny :D.

My car don't have ABS too....and I agree that it does help you when you need it.
Because, normally, when we panic, our brain does not work that well. Hence, no time for manual ABS (if that is even possible).

DarkSin said:
.... i'm driving a stock kancil that taking corner at 100 without stepping on the brake. dont mess with a maroon kancil in subang area. :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

u mind or not? stay away from me...ha ha ha :lol:

ya ABS do saves mi once..
when i havin drag wif my fren, suddently 1 "SLK" cum out at d junction... luckly d car had ABS, its let mi still can turn d steering while braking...

but after when i hav changed my engin to EVO...
with d twin-port brake, i plug it out.. :tongue:

both r good, but u hav to noe how to use it...
2 to 3 second for proton ABS to switch on...
b'coz my fren crash his car while we racing at d hightway..
he go too near to ppl butt.. hah

hi bro..

acbc said:
ABS is controlled by a computer... in a real race, those have to go to lighten the car...

I too threw out the ABS... useless heavy junk!
hi bro,
i need some help...
1 have 1set adjustable for repair
but i dun know where can fix it ?
do u all bros know?
TQ

To drive a car without ABS especially on Malaysian roads must be crazy. A lot of people here sometimes brake for no apparent reason sometimes. Not a lot people know how much pressure to apply the brakes on a car without ABS.

ABS is for stupid people who have nothing better to do to discuss about...

ABS is a matter of preference... more inclined for the less experienced drivers, whereas the more seasoned driver will know how to react and has better control over his/her car

for those who own abs-fitted cars and those who don't. guys, as most knew, the function of abs is to help steer the car while gradually feeding the brake with pressure. but, do normal drivers who never own an abs car before practice the brake system before they drive it on normal road? because it seems that whenever there's an emergency, most people will slam the brake, abs kicks in, avoid the car in front and steer the car towards whatever-waiting (either incoming car or towards an empty drain).
now which is more dangerous? slam the car in front of you or avoid while braking and hope god saves you from whatever danger at the roadside or from incoming cars? my answers is that, driver of abs-fitted cars should observe and practise on applying this braking system if you are not used to it. cheers.

frentra said:
for those who own abs-fitted cars and those who don't. guys, as most knew, the function of abs is to help steer the car while gradually feeding the brake with pressure. but, do normal drivers who never own an abs car before practice the brake system before they drive it on normal road? because it seems that whenever there's an emergency, most people will slam the brake, abs kicks in, avoid the car in front and steer the car towards whatever-waiting (either incoming car or towards an empty drain).
now which is more dangerous? slam the car in front of you or avoid while braking and hope god saves you from whatever danger at the roadside or from incoming cars? my answers is that, driver of abs-fitted cars should observe and practise on applying this braking system if you are not used to it. cheers.
eh.. wat are u talking about? abs doesn't steer your car... it the driver wit the steering that steers the car. So, when u hit hard on the brakes and with abs kicking in, u just keep your damn steering straight or to any direction u want to avoid obstacles, which of course.. dont la turn towards on coming cars. hahahahha.

aijoh.....

zephyr3d said:
eh.. wat are u talking about? abs doesn't steer your car... it the driver wit the steering that steers the car. So, when u hit hard on the brakes and with abs kicking in, u just keep your damn steering straight or to any direction u want to avoid obstacles, which of course.. dont la turn towards on coming cars. hahahahha.

aijoh.....

abs is to help you steer your car when emergency. that's what i'm saying. for normal car without abs, when the wheels lock, you cannot go anywhere except straight, right? therefore, abs helped so that you can steer your car.
and during emergency, do you have enough time to look where you are heading? all in a split second. emergency, step hard on brake, steer your car to avoid slamming the car in front and at the same time look towards the incoming car? got time meh? you must have a regular accident to have that type of reaction. cool......

aijoh......

most luxury cars have ABS...but rich ppl buy it ..i dun think they are stupid... :biggrin:

nowadays, most cars are pre-installed with abs whether you want it or not. it's not optional.