AE111 20v black top engine pinging!

scott .....everyone is waiting for your pics lar .........kekekeke .....

move move move .....:burnout::burnout::burnout:

Is it located just before the cat converter? I mean before the main exhaust piping? I saw 1 sensor down there for my car

that is the o2 sensor, which is located at the extractor down pipe.. the exhaust temp sensor is located after the extractor which is on the main pipe or the catalytic converter replacement pipe, if you are using jdm full set piping then u will know that we need another section to replace the catalytic converter - about 7-8 inches long.. i will post the pics soon

scottwrx
i have a question for you, previously do your engine run without the sensor???
yah recently one of my friend told me that, cause is a feed back. i have it, have to find one day to install it but mine wire is too short have to find a way to extend it but i dont wish to cut the wire do anyone of you all have any idea??? or where can i get the socket????

bro do u have the pics of the sensor.. if yes plz post it to confirm.. it is a thin and long sensor, about 2 inches long, if it comes with socket then u need to whack one hole for the sensor to go thru the body, ori location is 2 inches in front of the gear shift screw,

i have been quite busy now, until now i also haven got the chance to install the sensor. photo i will try my best to take and upload if i really have the time. if dont have dont blame me.

all sifu,how can me noe tat our engine is in high or low compression?can any1 tell me?

scottwrx, are you referring to the exhaust temp sensor which displays temp on the AE111 meter cluster? Mind sharing a picture or two of the socket and wiring? I think I saw an unused socket near the gear/handbrake lever too...

sensor bracket
IMAG0085.jpg

sensor
IMAG0087.jpg

this is the place to go thru the body
IMAG0089.jpg

AE111 got exhaust temp meh? o thought that is the outside temperature reading from the aircon...

and i found out there is one more unused socket, the seat belt one..... hope it helps...

Oopss, scott yeah i was referring to the outside temp display on ae111 (carib) meter cluster. As for the exhaust temp, pls post a picture of the connector socket?
Yeah... seat belt socket is to connect to the seat. Some Levin/Trueno/Corolla GT seats comes with seatbelt sensor + socket, if not then have to DIY the wiring.

From my experience, when turn the aircond on, it starts to ping, black smoke appear from exhaust. There is also a significant voltage drop in charging system (looking at my voltmeter). So I serviced the alternator, change all bearings, clean all connectors, change the carbon brush and then reinstall the alternator.

Then no more pinging. Aircond runs smoother and quieter, no more voltage drop even when switch on two large spotlight. I've push the pedal to the floor and still no pinging. So, I assume my problem is due to alternator overload when aircond system switched on. I've explained the problem earlier in other thread

Just my experience. Dont blame me if your pinging problem still occurs

bro i will have to take out the centre piece to take the pics.. will do it this evening if got the time..

then all the sifu, where can i buy the sensor?? now my car juz only leave tat part only... then already can complete my project la... now 6 speed gearbox already up... deshboard fix also liao... only that exshuat themo sensor only... who got the contact o who wanna sell to me? sms me at 0124155135 at working hour... thank you so much...

Hello,

Sorry for getting the old thread back to life but i have a question.
I'm missing the EGT also with my swap, but do i really need it? Some say i should some say i won't. With my harness the connector isn't there also. But when i look at the ECU connector, the cable is there.

Does someone knows which are the Ohm ranges of the EGT? I'm thinking of using a (for example) 200K 1/4W resistor. So the ECU 'thinks' the EGT is allright.

Mine also have this issue recently after 5 years of my BT. What I realized is, when I add in those fuel line / injector cleaner (whatever they call it) during pumping of petrol, the pinging sound was almost gone until the petrol left 1/4 tank.

Could it be my injector dirty?