Clutch/Exhaust/BOV.. 4 Evo

Soundstream,

Titanium exhaust (includes full titanium pipings) are really really light ! Easily lighter by 200% compared to the stainless steel...talking about full set here la.

If I'm not mistaken, I saw HKS slightly less than 2K in KL..not sure if it's Silent Hi-Power. U PM Stormvolution 9 la coz I know he bought one and he has 'lubang' for this..good price.

ckwon,
What indicator la ? post your question in a new tread outside la..otherwise not many ppl will see it in here.

ckwhon said:
i tot i stated fuel indicator in the title?

any lights on the meter can get blown.. just small bulbs inside only.. can change yourself also..

exhaust system....

Do we need catalyzer when install new exhaust system ?
Been thinking on the Hpower409 but heard no production lio.
aNY of u guys having HpowerTypeR? 3 inches? :Not_Impressed:

ckwhon,

how's your light indicator ? hav u change the blub ? :regular_smile:

Ellow guys...

I'm using exedy hyper single for my clutch... slightly heavier than standard e7 clutch...

as for bov... using the GFB stealth fx... a good bov... can twist to vent out or in...

exhaust system... i use rs*r carbon fiber exhaust... bassy sound but when put in the silencer... will sound like a stock car...

Jabby said:
Ellow guys...

I'm using exedy hyper single for my clutch... slightly heavier than standard e7 clutch...

as for bov... using the GFB stealth fx... a good bov... can twist to vent out or in...

exhaust system... i use rs*r carbon fiber exhaust... bassy sound but when put in the silencer... will sound like a stock car...[/quote

Yo bro,

hyper single plate for clutch ar ? is it good for an evo ? i dono but ppl awiz advise me to use double wor...any significant different sifus ?
what size is your exhaust system ? normaly mod exhaust from standard 2"+ to 3" ? any idea why u choose rsr rather than others ?

:_:

Twin plate clutches are hair-trigger clutches, very on-off in character. If you need to spend any time in traffic with your Evo, i.e. if the Evo is your daily driver, not really advisable.

IMO, clutches are the one main modification that totally destroys the streetability of any car, so choose very carefully or you may end up having to change again to something more manageable.

Cannonfodder,

thanks for the explanation. guess stick with ori better..hehee..

:shades_smile:

Yeah, clutches really depend on how you drive and how much torque your car is making.

You can never have too much power. You can never have too much brakes. But you can definitely have too much clutch.

Aftermarket clutches are noisy, most of them are heavy, and they tend to chatter when cold. I have the Hyper Single in my car and every time I get in, I pray I don't meet a traffic jam.

If you're still on your stock clutch, see how long that lasts you before it starts to slip. That should give you a decent indication of whether or not you need a stronger clutch.

Sound Stream,

Cannonfodder is right. Let me help a little.
Here's a quick table I put up to help you to compare clutch for evo:

| Clutch Type | Grip | Max Power | Driveability | Clutch Pedal Weight |
=========================================================
| Stock Evo | Normal# | ~280ps | Excellent | Medium Heavy |
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Normal Racing | Good | 280ps | Good | Very Heavy |
| Clutch pad
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Single Plate* | V. Good | 300-350whp | Hard | Light |
| Twin Plate | Excellent | 300-450whp | Very Hard | Very Light |

*Also known populary as Super Single, Hyper-Single..etc.
#Slips and grips deteriorite after wear & tear especialy at high rpm.

As for those Carbon Single plate (ie..HKS LA Carbonfibre clutch), the grip is good and light but it will wear much faster than the normal single plate clutch.

As for Driveablity, it basically refers to the 'engagement' point where by the harder it is, the less freeplay you can hold the clutch with before the car starts moving.

Triple plate no need discuss la..unless you got 5-600horses lor otherwise is really too much of power !

Hope this help.

P.S: I'm using HKS GD-Max Twin Plate clutch..really really hard to drive especialy in Jam and Up-Hill driving. But can't resist it's grip ! hehe..

B18C-R,

wow...very simple and detail table shared here.
oO well, then single plate easily to wear n tear...but normally what's is the
lifespend for this single plate to wear n tear ? errmm let's say in terms of city drive......

as currently i'm still using stock clutch. the gear engagement very light lor
pick up is not there....quick slow at 1st gear pick up need to press more fuel before let go the clutch..hope you guys able to understand what i mean here.
Ppl awiz advice me to use twin plate instead single plate saying evo wor y use single plate.....haha so i manage to get a ralliart twin plate clutch with me...haven't install yet..but according to the table chart given by you...gai liow...as the Driveability shows hard....
ain't good for city drive but good for pick up at 1st gear right?

ok 1 more thing, abt the grip..i donot understand about it....

:Not_Impressed:

Soundstream,

'Grip' here means de clutch grippiness on de fly wheel!!! Excellent means whenever u release de clutch, its very easy for de twin plate clutch to hv full grip (even on high rpm) on de fly wheel thus hv much better power transmission onto de wheel/road!!! :_: Whereas for normal ori clutch, especially during high rpm, de grippiness of de clutch tends to slips for a while b4 its able to grip onto de fly wheel thus power loss here... With de same car setting, twin plate clutch wil hv high hp on wheel compare to ori clutch on de dyno machine... So it clearly explain de function of de after mkt clutch... Besides, ori clutch easy to wear n tear compare to twin plate... Tht's de main different btw de twin plate clutch to de ori clutch!!! :_:

Hope this help!!!

Stock clutches are made with minor concessions to power upgrades, but are primarily for good drivability (easier modulation) and drivetrain protection (tendency to slip and when launched hard, the clutch burns before the gearbox breaks).

Performance clutches make little to no concessions to either. They assume you will be using them for competitions, where every last bit of performance counts (difficult to modulate with little to no slip, since it's assumed you only need to launch once, at the starting line) If you are very aggressive with a strong clutch, you risk damaging your transmission and things downstream. You will also need to learn shift properly or else you will start to wear down your gears.

Grip or clamping force refers to how much pressure is applied onto the transmission. Higher force means instant take up, so every time you press the accelerator, power is transmitted immediately. Lower grip surfaces have a little slip/slack built in to reduce tranmission shock (again, to protect drivetrain), so every time you prod the accelerator, the response is slightly slower.

Cannonfodder,

Great explanation here. Overall here guess stock clutch still the best for daily driving.

Ori Bov.............e7/e8/e8mr/e9

Hi all,

It's long time never update this thread..Anyway, how do you guys compare ORI evo BOV from E7 to E8 to E8MR to E9...in terms of response ?

Let's take ORI BOV E8 and E9....what if i change my ori bov e7 to E8 or E9. Any significant changes to the response on my e7 ? :Not_Impressed:

Hope you guys understand what i meant here. :_:

ori E7 is made of plastic, and the E8MR n above arent. Am not sure if the E8 is the same as the E7 or E8MR above. the point this was made so as it is situated at a very hot area, hence the plastic would start to brittle in time to come.

NoTiGuY said:
ori E7 is made of plastic, and the E8MR n above arent. Am not sure if the E8 is the same as the E7 or E8MR above. the point this was made so as it is situated at a very hot area, hence the plastic would start to brittle in time to come.

oOOO plastic...E8MR or E9 ? what material ?
Any E9 here can explain ?