Corona TT141 Conversion

Perdanalusuh, how ur corona project going on ? still searching engine ?? hehe!!
Hi Mojotudam.
Another TT141 corona..... good good! how much u bought the car?? got any pic can send me, very interesting on ur car !! hehe !! U planning to transplant 1G-GTE in ur car rite ?? the half cut u found is supra halfcut ?? make sure the engine is 3 version 1G, if not u will feel trouble. Ur car setting for drift or drag ?? if drift, suspension hv to change. Orginal corona axle can tahan, but don hv LSD, hard to drift.
My fren got 1 TT132 corona with 1jz inside. The power damn good, and my fren use the car for drift as well. Syok ...... . That TT132 suspension all changed, LSD 1.5way, ............!! MONSTER CAR. U can check drift.com.my.

i got the tt141 for rm3.5k. its an 82' model. condition is driveable but interior needs work. am i paying 2 high 4 the car?
anyway the halfcut i found is from ga70 supra. dunno if 3 version 1g or not.
is getting just the front cut enuff? watabout the rear parts? (fuel tank, axles n etc)
it's neither 4 drift nor drag. just thinking of using it as a daily ride. izzit a good idea btw?
is the whole ga70 halfcut able to fit into the corona or just the engine? watabout the dashboard?
whats the usual charge for fitting a 1g into a tt141? what else shud i look 4? as for the interior, any ideas how i can make it better?
i'm still looking 4 a suitable workshop which can do it. any recommendations guys?
hehe so many questions from me eh? :mouth_closed:

Hi mojotudam. Actually 3.5k already cheap, in my hometown std TT141 also need around 10K. You found ga70 half cut, good and go for it. Original manual or auto? My 1G engine also from GA70 supra. Now not easy to get 1G supra half cut. if u wan to know which version of 1G, u hv to check the ecu harness. Grey color=3rd version, yellow=2nd&1st version. 3rd version more power than 2nd&1st version.
Fuel tank can use ur original car 1, just need a external fuel pump.
About the axle, can use ur original car axle(but no lsd), or modify other indepent axle into ur car(but not easy to modify, time & $ are the main problems)
The supra dashboard can fit into ur corona, i saw 1 TT141 using supra dasboard. And Gx81 dasboard also can fit it. but take time to modify.
Interior, 1 set of bucket seat (hehee), rewrap all the things.
I will ask my fren where can get a good workshop for transplant engine. will let u know.
u driving TT141 mahh, sure i will help u 1 !! don worry !! but time & budget are the main issues, u hv to remember this.

thanx for all the pointers nicholas. it really helps a lot. can't seem to find many tt141 users. i wonder y? whats the difference between a tt141 and tt132 which i think is more popular i guess.
i'll check later which version is the halfcut that i found. hopefully its the 3rd:regular_smile:
its originally manual and i guess i'll maintain the standard axle 4 the time being. i really hope i can fit he dashboard in coz the corona's dashboard is pretty worn out:sad_smile:
bucket seats are definitely in my list. the main problem is the limited re$ource$ that i have or to be precise don't have
anyway i guess i'll just start one thing at a time then. hopefully sooner or later my tt141 could be as good as yours (i wish! hehe)

In KL, i don't think got so many TT141 users. In KL, all ppl drives new car mahhh !! hahaha.!! Old car no ppl wan ..... so pity. However, in my hometown many TT141 already modded, all are monster. 2jz inside also got. Even new car also scare them. Old car can run very fast, if modded it correctly.
TT132 older than TT141. My fren got 1 full modded TT132 in KL, black color 1. Damn powerful and very nice car.
Resources not enough then modify slowly, if not bankrupt more faster !! haha!! I started mod my car from 2001 until now, but still not yet finish. So many things plans to do, but resouces problem & i'm still study in KL, not much time to modify my car.
My car fully std, body kits and interior all original, even steering wheel. haha!! Sure ur car can better than mine in future. Don worry, just need time to do it.

huhu... rupanya nicholas is here... hahaha ..... i still remember when he convert tt141 using 1g himself with d help frm his brother in-law he almost vomit blood when it comes to spending loads of money for perfection ... its actually up to ur expectation towards ur car... nic had a very high expectation and tats y he spend alot.... if u look in front of u d engine bay it can join any auto saloon anytime.... wher else me i expect more on interior, performance and ICE for my car... i dun care wat other pl say but wat d hack im blasting my ICE even though im doing drift in SND...

and another of our fren ... hahaa.. tinking of his nick name make me laugh....fui lin's tt141 oso convert 1g himself.. spend minimal .. i tink less than 2k kawtim everyting but d wiring.. my god .. look like maggie mee...intercooler and exhaust piping duno wher d hell he get those pipes frm ......but still prove reliable when driving to tawau all d way frm miri for 16 hours.... again it depends on ur expectation i should say .... for me my engine bay might not need to be as clean,shiny and colourfull as Nic's car but i will make sure my woofer boom louder than his .. hahahaa....

erm... depends on d expectation again ... if thirst for horsepower i dun tink ca18 can quench d thirst... just tried on a minor mod S15 y'day ...nothing great though its running on 1.2bar... but ride quality... thumbs up...

ueo katsuhiro said:
go for ca18det

too late. i already bought a 1g halfcut. the car is in the workshop at the moment.
i think the labour charge is quite high 4 me :emoticon_U:
to install just the engine and make it run is gonna cost me rm1.5k but if install everything (dashboard, all the supra stuff) is double the charge!
waddaya guys think???:shocked:

Hey, mojotudam. u already bought the half cut ??? so fast ?? The supra half cut came with 3rd version 1G ?? how much u bought the half cut ??
Actually rm1.5k for engine conversion, i think is very fair. But depend on the quality larr. Last time, i install the engine by myself + supra half cut. The total $ that i used is more than 7.5K. And i not install dashboard and all the supra stuff. Tat y make me bankrupt ...............
Ask this guy - renxun. he is my fren who driving TT132 1jz. Maybe he got few foreman can introduce to u, then u can compare compare the price lar. See which 1 can meet ur budget.
Good Luck for ur engine conversion.

hahahaa..speaking about converting ownself...actually its worth bcuz d wiring job is very messy...and it do cost few hundred bucks for a wire man to wire everyting properly for u....engine installation ther will be slight modification to d mounting bracket on d chasis side... and that require some "kung fu" to make it perfect and its quite a tedious job as d front is not long enough have to cut here and ther... trouble some.. nic spent 3 months to get it done and running... mechanic only 2 weeks or less... so u save alot of time ther as well..if u are in kl i can recomment d master of converting old cars to monsters tat i knew...d most important ting u should concern now is d workmanship whether its well worth or not ... take alook at d cars at d current workshop and peep inside d engine bay .. if u are satisfied then u go ahead... if not ....i guess even he offer u rm500 also does not serve d purpose....if i were u im willing to pay more for d best workmanship i can get as it involve only 1 time and also d overall safety of the car.....chasis strenghtening in front,welding and also tidy up wirings...

thanx 4 the feedback. the car is still in progress btw. still needs a lot of work tho. i'm planning to maintain the corona axle 4 the time being. just wanna ask what rear disc brakes are the most suitable to fit in that axle? or shud i get another axle with disc brakes or lsd? any suggestions?

Mojotudam please do take pictures when everything is done and please do tell us the result.My Corona is still running standard.I have to take turns to mod the car.This is my project right now

Current project
1.Morris Minor conversion - still in progress.Engine done but need to upgrade to disk brakes , retune engine , interior cosmetic , add air-cond...bla bla bla...already two month but still not ready 100%.

Upcomming project
2.Perdana TT - do 100K service with minor engine , interior and suspention upgrade.

Future project
Convert the Coronna.

Till now I still wonder why I still keep all these old scrap... : )

Hi mojotudam...... !!! how's the progress of ur engine conversion ?? i think should be no problem larr, 1G easy to fit into corona unless 1jz larr, need alot of modification. For my suggestion, the engine mounting better use the original 1G mounting and only need to modify the chasis mounting.
The orginal axle still can "tahan" 1G engine power. If the axle condition still ok, then u no need to service it, wasting $$ only. Only Ae-86 LSD + disc axle can fit into corona......., but problem is too expensive now. 1 AE-86 axle cost u around RM1.4k. Presently, my car still using std axle, but next year i will install my LSD axle into my corona. And i also got the TRD rear spring + adj abs waiting for install it into my corona. i think my car can use for dori dori ......... hahaha.
Anyway..... good luck for ur engine conversion.

progress is quite slow at the moment but i'm in no rush. my mech estimates it shud be ready by new year (hopefully). now concentrating on servicing the engine. seems like 1g parts are quite rare in local spare parts shop. had to change the water pump n clutch set coz condemned alredi. still thinking of what disc brakes to install in the rear???

Hi mojotudam ..... ur car can complete on new year ?? so fast ?? Good...... after completed don forget to take me go out "yem cha" wow !!! hahaha !! Water pump should be difficult to find.... even 1jz also not easy to get larr. Not like Mitsubishi engine some popular in Malaysia !! Try to search from different different spare parts shops ....... if not UMW. Clutch set i don't think very difficult to get ........ takes ur 1G clucth set to spare parts shop "for sample", they can find for u. if directly ask them for 1G clucth set, they sure say don hv. Better takes the sample to go there.
About the rear disc brake ......... change to ae-86 rear disc axle larr if u can get.

izzit fast? i feel like its been in the workshop for ages hehehe anyways i'll let u know when its out altho the interior is still a mess. feel ashamed lar to show ppl haha
so far the engine parts are ok. i found out that spare parts in the sunway area are easier to find compared to others. maybe becoz all the big boys toys go there perhaps. ae86 axle i think is quite expensive so i'll hafto skip the idea for the time being. what rear discs ru using for ur corona?

Currently my axle still maintain std larrr..... but i got 1 ae-86 rear lsd axle at home. I bought it 2 years ago, b4 i change engine. But final drive only 4.1 ....... not enough for me, now searching 4.3 final drive. hahaha !! Complete my study this year, so next year back to my hometown and start mod my car. hehe !!