Did High Rev Will Damage to Engine?

scomatic

Hi there,
I think this is stupid question... Did the High Rev can make Damage to engine? Because sometime, i rev until it cut off le.. So now wondering, it will cause a problem to Engine also...

wear and tear laaa .. high wear of coz laa higher wear and tear ... so expect shorter life span for engine lorr ..
but 20v is built to be a high revving engine .. so it will be able to take more in terms of high rev ... not only 20v .. some other engines oso high revving engines are prone to this higher wear and tear ..
it is only logical to expect that much life span from a machine .. what ever machine .. but if u push harder (high revving) then logical to accelt that life span will be shorteed laaa ...

QiW said:
wear and tear laaa .. high wear of coz laa higher wear and tear ... so expect shorter life span for engine lorr ..
but 20v is built to be a high revving engine .. so it will be able to take more in terms of high rev ... not only 20v .. some other engines oso high revving engines are prone to this higher wear and tear ..
it is only logical to expect that much life span from a machine .. what ever machine .. but if u push harder (high revving) then logical to accelt that life span will be shorteed laaa ...

ermm... got the RPM cut also will be high wear and tear???
16V are more able to take more in term of high rev la, because the 16V engine is build tough then 20V le... If wrong please correct me..

with RPM cut - vrrrroooommmmmmmm cut cut cut...less wear n tear...
without RPM cut - vrroooooommmmmmmmmmmmmMMM...aiyaaa pecah engine, kepala meletoppp...

that's why engine oil come in hand...
but which engine oil is suitable for high revving the high revving engine spec...heeee...

scomatic your question for me is not silly...but knowledge maa...for me laaa...others don't know...huuu...

the idea for long lasting engine is to drive very slow & dont rev above 4K rpm. hehehe

VTEC is for high REV man!!!! ...

vrOOMmmmmmm.. pRANGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGgggGGggGGGGGGG (how VTEC sounds) ...

if u like speed then rav kow kow. Toyota engine known to be reliable,won't kong so easy.Anyway Toyata engine kosong also very cheap. If engine kong then just replace it. I wont cost a bomb like other car like Honda and Mitsubishi.

koolspyda said:
the idea for long lasting engine is to drive very slow & dont rev above 4K rpm. hehehe

ermm.. drive slow.. then throttle body dirty again le... just port poslish the head...

mrbear said:

vrOOMmmmmmm.. pRANGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGgggGGggGGGGGGG (how VTEC sounds) ...

errm... VTEC arr?
It can High Rev but cannot vs with Toyota tahan la...

tctho said:
if u like speed then rav kow kow. Toyota engine known to be reliable,won't kong so easy.Anyway Toyata engine kosong also very cheap. If engine kong then just replace it. I wont cost a bomb like other car like Honda and Mitsubishi.

ya... agree.. Toyota are build for tough... but worry also ma... Now just port poslish, balancing... now the respond very good lor, rev also very easy to going to top.
that why wondering are the high rev will damage to engine or not...
many magazine said if using the stock ECU high rev are no damage to engine 1, because it cut off before ur engine are going to dangerous line.

BTW, got any protection? like using what engine oil are recomendation for 4AGE?

scomatic said:
ya... agree.. Toyota are build for tough... but worry also ma... Now just port poslish, balancing... now the respond very good lor, rev also very easy to going to top.
that why wondering are the high rev will damage to engine or not...
many magazine said if using the stock ECU high rev are no damage to engine 1, because it cut off before ur engine are going to dangerous line.

BTW, got any protection? like using what engine oil are recomendation for 4AGE?

I tried Pennzoil and mobil 1 fully syntetic b4 in my BT. But i prefer mobil 1 feel smoother and lighter. wondering what engine oil u use?

if the engine's ecu still have the rev cut it will be safer..even for aftermarket ecu the engine revcut still available but mebbe higher than standard..i think it's stupid to remove the rev cut..mebbe during the race or full throttle acceleration we still ingat where to change the gear..but just imagine during that time we miss shift and rev goes really high then kabooo..mm..even f1 cars have rev cut but thiers can be changed on the fly..wirelessly..nice..

for vtec..i respect for thier high revving characteristic..i know b and k series will win 4age anytime, but for toyota..a lot of respect goes to it's reliability..i read somewhere stating that 4age can withstand 8500rpm reliably but due to production needs they just set it to 7500 for 4age..16v..for example..real life story..my fren been using the blacktop 4age mated with the 'weak' 7a block and its bottom end except pistons..still happily 8000 rpm revving till now since two years..with no mechanical failure yet..mebbe we got lucky or mebbe the toyota reliability itself.

engine oil i use the mobil 1 too..i agree with u..feel smoother and lighter.

tctho said:
I tried Pennzoil and mobil 1 fully syntetic b4 in my BT. But i prefer mobil 1 feel smoother and lighter. wondering what engine oil u use?

Walao.. fully syntetic woo..... BTW, don't use the Pennzoil la, no pickup, and heavier abit... Pennzoil oil are low grade a bit lor...
I just use MIP Partially Synthetic 10W/40...
Previously got test the Q8 F1 Formula 10W/50 (Full Synthetic) also not satisfaction.

mrbear said:

have you heard the sound of 4 throttles with trumpetssss (velocity stack) during high rev...:X-:

20v with 4 open trumpets = noisy...LOL! PRAAANNNNGGGGGGGGGGgggGGG....
Oh fuk...polis!.....

fritz said:
20v with 4 open trumpets = noisy...LOL! PRAAANNNNGGGGGGGGGGgggGGG....
Oh fuk...polis!.....
dun say open trumpet lar.. me AFM one i see police roadblock i also free gear cruise pass them... scared..

so far they just let me through..

4 throttle with trumpets during tapping the throtlle...fraappp..frapp..fraaap..frappp...fraaaaaaaappp...praaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiiinnnnggg...riiiiiinnnnngggg...riingg...alamak..ade call..heheh..a bit emotional..hahahah