Dissapointment over 4G93 Power

cksiow,

i wish i have auto when i stuck in the fed highway and those kl road.. i never drive E240 b4 le.. it should be quite fun playing around with 1.8 doch wira using auto gearbox.. if got tritronic then syok la..

kudos to you guys, miscommunication solved !!!

g88,
I still haven't check those things out yet. Dead tired, being out the whole day. Pitch black when back home.

Stweart,
Hmn.....how does it feels ah, try depressing your accelerator pad at 1/8 of the throttle position. And don't exceed 3100rpm. That's how a benz E240 acceleration felt at abt the same throttle position. I enjoy the serenity and silence in there, but hey....now the 4G93 engine gives me 30% of what the benz can offer. That the plus point i must award !!! I would say, if the gearbox is "smart" and there is sufficient power, you won't even bother to touch the gear stick. Leave it to "D" and let it do it's job. Afterall, we pay to let it do it's job !!!

Guys,
what do you think abt the HKS open pod/port at RM100 (without the sponge--2nd hand) worthy ?

Also, does the Pwr/Eco switch works in my 4G93 engine ?! Does it still functions as back in my 1.6XLI or now it's just a dummy switch ?

cksiow said:
kudos to you guys, miscommunication solved !!!

g88,
I still haven't check those things out yet. Dead tired, being out the whole day. Pitch black when back home.

Stweart,
Hmn.....how does it feels ah, try depressing your accelerator pad at 1/8 of the throttle position. And don't exceed 3100rpm. That's how a benz E240 acceleration felt at abt the same throttle position. I enjoy the serenity and silence in there, but hey....now the 4G93 engine gives me 30% of what the benz can offer. That the plus point i must award !!! I would say, if the gearbox is "smart" and there is sufficient power, you won't even bother to touch the gear stick. Leave it to "D" and let it do it's job. Afterall, we pay to let it do it's job !!!

Guys,
what do you think abt the HKS open pod/port at RM100 (without the sponge--2nd hand) worthy ?

Also, does the Pwr/Eco switch works in my 4G93 engine ?! Does it still functions as back in my 1.6XLI or now it's just a dummy switch ?

What is the diameter of your exhaust system? Did u try modding your extractor to Hotbits extractor?

What is Pwr/Eco switch?

Have u tried Apexi Open Pod Air filter?

Alright, some updates on my little weekend.

Did a little "upgrade" , plugged in the HKS "Mushroom Head" filter with it's original 3-Layer filter. The performance is awesome !! I never like noisy rides but not until this. This filter surely makes me wanna rev my engine up high to listen to it's throaty notes. I simply just love em' !! The intake manifold just roars like the AE 86 in Initial D -the movie. It's mind blowing, didn't imagine my car could turn out to be like this. Apart from just the sound, I felt that the engine is more high rev happy.

Exhaust on the other hand has not been touched at all. Remains as stock 1.6XLI exhaust system from top to tail.

Now enjoying and studying each and every different mods giving what type of comtribution of improvements. Ultimately, got to tame my foot to be more law abiding :tongwink: .

Initial D,
The Pwr/Eco switch I mentioned only applies to Auto Trannys, it's a function switch to select the driving mode/gear selection. That switch is located next to the Handbrake at center console.

Pwr mode : Gear shifting/kickdown are more responsive. Don't need to floor the pedal as much as ECO mode.

ECO mode : For smoother driving, less kickdown. aka : (retarded gear selection)

cksiow,
This is only the "beginning" feel after upgrade to open pod...but i can tell later you will feel lost of power during hot day and higher fc....

g88,
Yeah...I've heard of such problems. And so, the concerned seller did gave me a piece of advice and he did help out to fabricate some card-board like heat shield.

FC yet to be determined, hope it still remains about 200Km for RM40 fuel (Dated : 22nd Jan 07'). For 1.6XLI, i'm able to travel about 230Km for the same amount of fuel.

This weeks goal : To tame my right foot to be more accelerator-pedal gental.

Regards,
CK Siow

your fuel consumption should be about 250km for RM50. lately i've been getting around 55 km for every RM10 worth of petrol i put in.

i finish my full tank of petrol (around rm70-rm73) with 400kms. with my 1.6 manual gearbox hehe..

quite high FC ler...

Stewart,
yours sure good la since manual...i am also able to get around 600-680kM on stock 4G93DOHC manual Sedan with fulltank RM80-84 kakakaka...

600kms is damn good fc le... y la petrol so expensive nowadays.. sigh..

g88,
what do you suspect is the cause of my high FC? could it be engine internals experiencing too much friction thus leading to less power and a higher FC?

every body happy now..
no dissapointment about the engine anymore...
so can change the thread title also ler..
heheheh...

cheers..

g88 said:
cksiow,
This is only the "beginning" feel after upgrade to open pod...but i can tell later you will feel lost of power during hot day and higher fc....

Believe it or not, but I managed to use those Metalic Sunshade as headshield for my open pod. U can really feel the difference.

whatdamn said:
g88,
what do you suspect is the cause of my high FC? could it be engine internals experiencing too much friction thus leading to less power and a higher FC?

Hmmm...i can't really tell yet since i dunno your engine condition and what have you modded...care to list here ??? :regular_smile:

InitialD said:
Believe it or not, but I managed to use those Metalic Sunshade as headshield for my open pod. U can really feel the difference.

As long you manage to "seperate" the heat from engine going into your intake that would consider CAI in regards that material you using...sunshade is cheap but not long lasting and the heat might be more on your engine bay since it's metalic surface....

Dear all,

After several days.....with RM40 of fuel, my 4G93 is able to travel up to 240KM !! Which is quite unbelievable but true to my eyes inspite of having an Auto tranny and the Open-Pod air filter installed. It's quite a remarkable improvement on my car as now I got the best of both worlds : fuel consumption of 1.6(A) and the power of 1.8(A) !!

I'm still yet to experience the power fade because mainly I'm driving on early mornings, late evening and nights.

Regards,
CK Siow

actually 1.8A Fc can be say better then 1.6A since it is more powerful so you don't need to accelerate alot...

g88,

So, which means with the same driving style, does the 4G93T gives a better mileage then my 4G93 since you are quoting based on power to weight ratio, i guess.