DIY Voltage Stabilizer

No need connect, just let it open....

LED indicator just the extra function, when u remove it no need connect empty space back....

There are so many version of VS in this thread.

For those who have build and install them. Which one or combination of values is most effective ?

I have constructed one with a total value of 32K uF and install in my ex600 kancil but not see any effects except for easier starting in the morning.

Is 32K uF suitable only for highter cc car or i should have more capacitence?

car engine power still a loosing when a/c turn off ...... but others thumbs up ....... lights is surely brighter ..... n i used to have some problems with my dash lights .... not also no more oledi ..... power supply in my car is at a stble rate ......

today i dismantle my so called Mugen voltage stabilizer, suprise suprise , it on;y got 1 4700uf capacitor , but i dun understand why it uses a diode instead of a fuse at the + terminal. On the PCB it marks fuse , but they solder fuse. Does this means my voltage stabilzer not working? the LED does blinking though........Does all this DIY stabilizer performs better than a PIVOT raisin?? :X-:

Otoman said:
today i dismantle my so called Mugen voltage stabilizer, suprise suprise , it on;y got 1 4700uf capacitor , but i dun understand why it uses a diode instead of a fuse at the + terminal. On the PCB it marks fuse , but they solder fuse. Does this means my voltage stabilzer not working? the LED does blinking though........Does all this DIY stabilizer performs better than a PIVOT raisin?? :X-:

Can you post photo? Top and Bottom View...

many VS in the market are with 1 cap only... n sell u at RM80 and above... wats expensive is the packaging...

DIY VS can be better than Pivot Raizin... but not all...

khguan said:
many VS in the market are with 1 cap only... n sell u at RM80 and above... wats expensive is the packaging...

RM80? wat brand a?

copz lat time i bought one Arospeed vs...veli nice one....at rm168 if not mistaken..but bloody hell....inside oso one big capacitor n the fuse is soldered.....i knew this because the fuse burn n i opened up and wanna change the fuse....but end up changed the whole fuse case as the origin one cant be change.....thumb down for arospeed:Not_Impressed:

Otoman said:

sorry typo , i mean on pbc they mark 'fuse' but they soldered a diode, i think this thing can light the led only , not stabilising the voltage....i'll modify it since i just got my original pivot raizin today....hehe....

guys, i question , my grounding wires are silver colored , i think its aluminium ,8 gauge bought at Brother's PISA , should i go for OFC copper or mine is sufficient.

Otoman said:
sorry typo , i mean on pbc they mark 'fuse' but they soldered a diode, i think this thing can light the led only , not stabilising the voltage....i'll modify it since i just got my original pivot raizin today....hehe....

guys, i question , my grounding wires are silver colored , i think its aluminium ,8 gauge bought at Brother's PISA , should i go for OFC copper or mine is sufficient.

can use la...dun waste unnecesary money....mod another thing better...if u still wana change it...u can upgrade to 4GA size...thick one coz 8ga is normal size (Small only)

BTW, wat car?:_:

waja 1.6 auto. today tested pivot raizin. hm,....feels gear change smoother ,

- Increases torque at low and middle speeds. -a little
- Stabilizes idling and improves engine kink-over.yes
- Improves engine response.noticeable
- Increases headlight brightness.no,still the same
- Improves fuel economy.dunno yet
- Improves battery life.dunno yet
- Improves bass sound.definately no
- Improves radio reception quality.nope

i'll be installing grounding tomorrow....will update if got any improvement

i dunno bout u guys , but i find that do grounding can feel more improvement than voltage stabilizer. anyone know where to get 4gauge copper ofc cable in penang? I've been to thye huat , theirs is non transparent one...not nice.

khguan said:

Guan , can give a good circuit that is better than Pivot?

eh.. dat was my previous DIY VS for sale... although stop production already... i cant give u ler... sorry...

voltage stabilizer product making profits woo...
actually what is inside is soooooo cheap...
all u need is parallel as much e.capacitors only.. box u can make urself..

diode and cap is basically make it worse...

after any supply, if put diode, it will drop 0.6V and then will vary
with current (unstable) and temperature... if too hot even can drop
to 1V (mean fr 12V => 11V).

just put e.cap enuff... goto mobikon (or any electronics shop) and buy 3 pcs
of 10,000uF or 8200uF e.cap. solder them in parallel and use thick wire to connect
to ur battery + and -. thats all.

if u can afford more, u can try buying 2.2F/6.3V (not uF, its F!!!) cap and put 3 pcs in series (so that volt rating = 18.6V (batt can become 14V).

hepi diy..

2.2F that is a lot of charge. Wouldn't that be dangerous?
Have u tried it in your car?

I think if DIY a VS, if can to maintain the voltage at 13.9 or lower, if above 14v, something might get fried.

xyber9 said:
2.2F that is a lot of charge. Wouldn't that be dangerous?
Have u tried it in your car?

capacitor keeps the charge only and voltage WILL NOT be higher than the voltage being feed into its terminals. in this case, it will not be higher than ur battery voltage. a lot of charge but low voltage is not that dangerous. a lot of volt is dangerous tho. of course, need to take care not to short anything. even without any capacitor/VS, your battery alone already can give 40A/60A of currents... thats already dangerous for ur body...

this weekend im DIY ing my own 0.16F capacitor.

normally batt can be a bit above 14V also .. most electronics can tahan until 16V and higher sometimes.. depends.