Double-Clutching

?
i also get confuse liao...

clutchless shift? then double shift?

if you shift double means not pressing clutch?

accelerate also use heel and toe?

where is all this coming from? :blink:

rev matching
a technique done during a downshift to prevent the "lurch" when the clutch is let off
- clutch in
- drop down a cog
- blip the throttle
- clutch out

heel and toe
one step up from rev matching. done when approaching a corner. it reduces braking distance by downshifting and braking at the same time, allowing you to brake later...or trailbrake into the turn, if you like
- feather the brake
- clutch in
- move into neutral
- rotate your right foot, and use your heel to blip the throttle, while still feathering the brake with the balls of your foot
- drop into lower cog
- clutch out

double clutch
as said, a technique used by drivers in the old days when your gearboxes didn't come with synchros. nowadays, we still do it with our synchro boxes when we wanna drop down a few gears at once, say, from 5th to 2nd
- clutch in
- move to neutral
- blip throttle
- clutch out
- clutch in again
- blip again
- drop to lower cog
- clutch out

clutchless shifts
a racing technique, done on racing dog actuation gearboxes which DON'T HAVE synchros.
UPSHIFT
- lift off on throttle
- pull to neutral
- wait/feel for revs to drop to matching speed
- plonked the gear in

DOWNSHIFT
- lift off on throttle
- pull to neutral
- blip throttle to match speeds
- bang the gear in

clutchless shifting CAN be done with our normal synchro gearboxes...just that its difficult to do, and it takes a lot longer than the normal clutch shift -_-

Boys, check your timing belt as often if you can if you play all these rev-matching games. Sudden increases and decreases in the revs puts more strain on the belt...so be careful lorr.

Better to wear out your clutch than snap the timing belt :o

yup...wat sarukun said is right.

thteh>> ei that day show u liao still blur meh...aiya

perform heel and toe before corner when u donwshift and brake..to dun upset ur vehicle balance and u have the enuff torque to power ur car out of the corner after u clear the apex. take alot of time to pratice, how i do is since the day i get my license perform heel and toe whenever i drive..(yes,heel and toe can be done when u r at low speed)...slowly will get it...but sometimes nervous still miss the rev..jerk abit..aiks..

double clucth...hmmm u see those old old lorry pass through listen the engine sound...how they change their gear.old old lorry still using gearbox without a synchro.

no lah, we started talking about double-clutching first...

it's just that AFTER mastering double-clutching, it'll be much easier to pick-up heel/toe...

AND THEN i said ppl who can perform clutchless shifts on synchro-g/b's are really

that is allllllllll

Originally posted by saru-kun@Feb 23 2005, 19:34
rev matching
a technique done during a downshift to prevent the "lurch" when the clutch is let off
- clutch in
- drop down a cog
- blip the throttle
- clutch out

heel and toe
one step up from rev matching. done when approaching a corner. it reduces braking distance by downshifting and braking at the same time, allowing you to brake later...or trailbrake into the turn, if you like
- feather the brake
- clutch in
- move into neutral
- rotate your right foot, and use your heel to blip the throttle, while still feathering the brake with the balls of your foot
- drop into lower cog
- clutch out

double clutch
as said, a technique used by drivers in the old days when your gearboxes didn't come with synchros. nowadays, we still do it with our synchro boxes when we wanna drop down a few gears at once, say, from 5th to 2nd
- clutch in
- move to neutral
- blip throttle
- clutch out
- clutch in again
- blip again
- drop to lower cog
- clutch out

clutchless shifts
a racing technique, done on racing dog actuation gearboxes which DON'T HAVE synchros.
UPSHIFT
- lift off on throttle
- pull to neutral
- wait/feel for revs to drop to matching speed
- plonked the gear in

DOWNSHIFT
- lift off on throttle
- pull to neutral
- blip throttle to match speeds
- bang the gear in

clutchless shifting CAN be done with our normal synchro gearboxes...just that its difficult to do, and it takes a lot longer than the normal clutch shift -_-

good one saru kun.. nicely explained :)

wah

saru-kun more expert than me liaw.

*kow-tow* 1000 times!

:lol:

eh seriously , you people who talk about double clutching , make it sound so easy , like its not a problem to you all .. i`ve been using this method for quite some time aready and i still find it rather hard to speed up the gear shift timing . i seriously have slow gear shift timing , which other standard car cannot tahan and then potong me like im a sohai fucker cause im hogging the road say when launching after a traffic light . :lol:

anyway if you see those lorries also has slow gear shift timing and really having a hard time engaging gears and then not to mention , the rpm goes down way below the optimum power band . how to solve this issue ?.

Originally posted by escaflowne@Feb 23 2005, 20:21
yup...wat sarukun said is right.

thteh>> ei that day show u liao still blur meh...aiya

perform heel and toe before corner when u donwshift and brake..to dun upset ur vehicle balance and u have the enuff torque to power ur car out of the corner after u clear the apex. take alot of time to pratice, how i do is since the day i get my license perform heel and toe whenever i drive..(yes,heel and toe can be done when u r at low speed)...slowly will get it...but sometimes nervous still miss the rev..jerk abit..aiks..

double clucth...hmmm u see those old old lorry pass through listen the engine sound...how they change their gear.old old lorry still using gearbox without a synchro.
hehehehe, just post for fun nia

Used to practise heel and toe but got bored of it recently... now all I want is a comfortable and problem free car. I think it causes more strain to your gearbox bearings due to constant downshifting and high revs, as I got this noise problem with my bearings after practicing alot of heel and toe...

Clutchless shifting... I also can do... but different conditions la. :P
Lets say youre rolling at 3rd gear, 1000 (idle or close to idle) rpms. Put to neutral, then without stepping on the clutch push with *light* pressure the gearstick to 2nd gear (it wont go in yet)... as the car slows down, at one point the wheel and engine speed will match and the gearstick will slip into 2nd easily without any effort. There, clutchless shifting. At 10km/h :P

Originally posted by psyk@Feb 24 2005, 10:55
if silap buat.. or timing out.. what happens ah? :P
the usual grinding sound when you failed to stick in the gear correctly...

clutchless shift is used in racing so that drivers can concentrate on braking and blipping the throttle...
i know some ppl argue that you can do it too using heel/toe method...

but if you look at it in racing context... to get maximum performance.. you'll need to brake at the maximum possible force without locking up and at the shortest possible distance... heel/toe will not allow you to do that because when you start rocking your right foot to blip the throttle... the ball of your foot will not be able to keep constant pressure on the brake pedal...

:)

Originally posted by bigboystoys@Feb 24 2005, 16:38
clutchless shift is used in racing so that drivers can concentrate on braking and blipping the throttle...
not usually...because its a bit of an overload for your brain to compute how much to blip up when you downshift when you're charging towards the end of the straight at 160 - 200km/h...i see many racecar drivers still use the usual heel toe technique....

watch best motoring and watch all the japanese drivers. don't take it from me....learn from them, they are the GODS ^_^

i do rev matching instead. helps my shifts smoother. also if i upshift fast enough the car won't jerk as much.

If im not mistaken
there's a vid clip showing a dude double clutching with a bmw long time ago in zth

Originally posted by bigboystoys@Feb 24 2005, 16:38
heel/toe will not allow you to do that because when you start rocking your right foot to blip the throttle... the ball of your foot will not be able to keep constant pressure on the brake pedal...
Which of course, braking properly is also essential to perform heel & toe. I'm having this problem as well :P

Originally posted by saru-kun+Feb 24 2005, 19:05 -->
QUOTE (saru-kun @ Feb 24 2005, 19:05 )
--QuoteBegin-bigboystoys
@Feb 24 2005, 16:38

not usually...because its a bit of an overload for your brain to compute how much to blip up when you downshift when you're charging towards the end of the straight at 160 - 200km/h...i see many racecar drivers still use the usual heel toe technique....

watch best motoring and watch all the japanese drivers. don't take it from me....learn from them, they are the GODS ^_^

cheers [/b][/quote]
when i stated clutchless shifting used in racing.. i meant serious racing business...
unless your referrals of the jap gods are really that god to be able to heel/toe while maintaining absolute maximum possible braking force on the brake pedals... then i kowtow to them... but in reality it's almost impossible... maybe the gods of the gods driver would be able to do that... ie.. schumacher.. senna?

i'm not saying that clutchless shifting is the most correct method ... it's also almost as hard to do it perfectly like heel/toe... however.. when done correctly, it'll definitely be more advantageous compared to heel/toe; it allows you to do left-foot braking as well ..

may i refer you to read a simple and entertaining book of 'Drive To Win' by Carroll Smith.... it's very very good stuff to read.. and it's not that hard either for those that don't know much about car racing technical stuff also...

:)

I drive an automatic car.........

What's clutchless shifting?
Heel and Toe?
Double declutching?
Why so troublesome ah this clutch until got so many techniques to learn.......

SaruKun can develop SMG for my car ah? Very boring to use my left foot for the clutch.