Gauging interest on plasti dip

Gauging Interest : Which Plasti Dip Color Would You Prefer And What Would You Dip?

• Blaze Blue

Votes: 1 33.3%
  • Blaze Green

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Blaze Orange

• Blaze Pink

• Blaze Purple

• Blaze Yellow

• Base White

• Base Red

• Base Black

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • Smoke!

• Gun Metal

• Camo Black

• Camo Brown

• Camo Tan

• Camo Green

• Total voters
Possible to remove the door handles to do plastidip? if not then just leave the inside without dipped.
no one can see it anyway. Well, that's what I'll do. Unless remove the handles and then spray some gloss on it.

If u dip only the outside, we will rub it away from the inside. I will just tape it inside then.

Good try SF! Using the masking tapes to create curves is very tricky indeed. I did something to my car too ngek ngek~ will post it up tonight.

Yup, you are right, I was thinking the same thing, the taping part adi wrong as well but
now is about tearing out the masking tape part is the headache, the only way I see is
to use a very sharp blade to cut according to the shape a bit. If not, no matter how
perfect I tape, will still tear out. Unless Glossify works in making the plastidip stay on,
then is one of the easiest way liao :biggrin:

I'll redo when have time, just not something I can accept.

This time will bend the tape instead of overlapping

But to cut have to be very careful. If over painted surface might scar the paint or clear coat....:smokin:

Good try SF! Using the masking tapes to create curves is very tricky indeed. I did something to my car too ngek ngek~ will post it up tonight.
Yes bro, almost lost patience on that :rofl:

But will try again cuz I want it to be perfect. :biggrin:

But to cut have to be very careful. If over painted surface might scar the paint or clear coat....:smokin:
Yes, that's what I'm worried which is why I tried not to that time. Maybe will get Semi Gloss Spray and try on a steel metal or something. then see if i can tear it out nicely. If the effect is good, I will use it. If not then I just prefer it Matte. It looks weird for the bottom rear bumper to be glossy when
it suppose to be matte look.

Just dipped my handles. I experimented using anchor clear coats tho. It made the peeling so much less fun. :(
But i want to be able to protect my dips because its handles. So i just sprayed it.
Then in the process, i thought of something.
When we dip the rims already, we cover everything except the ring that is vulnerable when changing tyres, then spray many coats of clear coat, i think will protect it la.

luckily it's easier to find plasti dip in australia.. but the price is.. damn hot.. $25 per can.. not inclusive of $15 shipping!!

Just dipped my handles. I experimented using anchor clear coats tho. It made the peeling so much less fun. :(
But i want to be able to protect my dips because its handles. So i just sprayed it.
Then in the process, i thought of something.
When we dip the rims already, we cover everything except the ring that is vulnerable when changing tyres, then spray many coats of clear coat, i think will protect it la.
Ring? U mean the lug nuts? Even a painted lug nuts the paint could be scrape off when they remove the lugs, best just change to stainless steel lug nuts.

luckily it's easier to find plasti dip in australia.. but the price is.. damn hot.. $25 per can.. not inclusive of $15 shipping!!

must have many choices of colors then bro. Over here they are selling at 43.90 Ringgit Malaysia. But limited choices of colors. Red, white, black and clear that's all

the color choices also not much.. also the few common ones available in malaysia.. but i got no car to dip here.. my car is in miri ahhah.. at $25 per can its around rm75 per can!! :mad::mad:

Ring? U mean the lug nuts? Even a painted lug nuts the paint could be scrape off when they remove the lugs, best just change to stainless steel lug nuts.
l

I think he means the other edge where we discussed before, when the tyre shop removes and fit the tyres, they have to use the metal to wedge the tyre out and in....

I saw the dip diy mix-yourself kit at ACE Midvalley. Quite expensive but the colour combination is pretty awesome. Stupid thing is ACE MV didn't sell Xylene so I ended up not getting the kit cuz can't dilute.

My dipped panel on Sunday.

iphone001_zpsacf285ed.jpg

iphone007_zps482fac97.jpg

I peeled off the dipped emblem and replaced with headlight tint to have some smoke effect. Which one do you guys think is nicer on the emblem? Dip or no dip?

I think you should leave it dipped....hate chromey parts

hmm....Found it...cost about 33-34USD... But dips only

PhotoApr09113454_zps8d22e37b.jpg

My dipped panel on Sunday.

iphone001_zpsacf285ed.jpg

iphone007_zps482fac97.jpg

I peeled off the dipped emblem and replaced with headlight tint to have some smoke effect. Which one do you guys think is nicer on the emblem? Dip or no dip?

To me, I think I would either leave it chrome or just spray it with Red, to make it totally black especially is an emblem that attached to the grille, dont find it nice, unless is an emblem on its own like Honda CR-Z's Honda logo on the front bonnet, That I would make it black :smile:

But I think if you dip the 2 vents at your rear bonnet to black would look better. Look more standout than the ori grey. :smile:

Plastidip VS Clear Coated Plastidip

So, bought my Clear Coated Spray at ACE hardware, recommended by bro Cvkit, so thought of trying it out to
see the difference in results and also the vulnerability. Went to Sunway to take a look while waiting for Izso's Dyno
appointment on that weekend.

Clear Coated Plastidip

http://i860.photobucket.com/albums/ab162/Supra_1996/PlastiDIP/Plastidip%20VS%20Clear%20Coated%20Plastidip/ClearCoatedPlastidip-2coats.jpg

Normal Plastidip

Plastidipped-4coats.jpg

Plastidip VS Clear Coated Plastidip Comparisons

CleanCutComparison1.jpg

CleanCutComparison3.jpg

As you can see, the middle part was not dipped because it was covered with masking tape. Separate them into 2
different sections for comparison wise.

After 4 coats of dip with 4 passes on both side, I apply 2 coats of Clear Coat on the right hand side which can be
seen more glossy or with more reflection.

Difference of both, gloss part is smoother while plastidip is felt rubberized as usual. Smooth but not as smooth as your
floor or steel.

What I was amazed about is the durability of the dip after applied with gloss. Both allowed to dry.

So, I tried to rub out softly on the plastidip and it can come off easily on other ends but on the gloss part, it seems
like it has caked into the steel, but of course if you rub it hard enough, it will tear as well

A clear coat spray that cost RM9.50 if not wrong from Nippon Paint. I went and check again yesterday night for
clear coat as I was looking for something not too glossy but just wanted a semi gloss ones. However most of it
are for the use on wood, furniture and etcs.

Only 2 brands are for suitable for automotive. The other one cost RM7.50, brand BOSNY.

But the one I'm quite interested in, is the Krylon Clear Coat. Seems to be good but affordable price.
I think this is what I'm looking for. Clear Coat but Flat effect. I just love the Matte effect of the Plastidip.
So, gonna give it a try on this instead.

53530_061510.jpg

At 1st I thought it is really hazardous to health after reading the back but then most sprays are also the same.
Could cause cancer and other illnesses if inhale too much. So bear in mind even plastidip, try to do it in a well-ventilated
area and try not to inhale too much of it. Spray is just the smell but then plastidip, is rubber :afraid:

Too much of it may cause symptoms like dizziness and headache and some may caused numbness that might be
permanent throughout our life.