Got Smoked big time

guys,

just wondering la..i heard the R3 is light and obnoxiously powerful bcos using a 1.3 body. izzit true?

tequlia,

The R3 is light because we (RaceRallyResearch) developed and specified the car with lighter material (Interior carpet, carbon bits, lighter wheel and tyre combo). Also we removed items we deemed detracts from driving pleasure. All this attention to details cut the weight of the car to 995kg( kerb Weight) which is 135 kg lighter than it's fat bro the GTi.

It is not as some people believe a 1.3 body. A standard Satria shell be it 1.3 /1.6 /1.5/ 1.8 are actually all the same. The Satria R3 shell however comes double spot welded. This increases torsional rigidity. Meaning the shell is stiffer, making it a better platform for the suspension to work from.

Now when your car is light it's response is enhanced because it accelerates & brakes better than a walllowing fatty.

And when it's a stiffer & lighter (not to mention a bit more powerful than the avrage GTi) that's when you get the R3's " Brutal Performance".

Comprende?

agreed with feisal there...
basically the R3 is a new birth of the GTI bcoz GTI is the flagship of proton...
there will be 3 stage to modd the R3...
if i'm not mistaken proton will produce performance parts 4 R3, bodkits...

Originally posted by faisal@Feb 16 2005, 12:27
tequlia,

The R3 is light because we (RaceRallyResearch) developed and specified the car with lighter material (Interior carpet, carbon bits, lighter wheel and tyre combo). Also we removed items we deemed detracts from driving pleasure. All this attention to details cut the weight of the car to 995kg( kerb Weight) which is 135 kg lighter than it's fat bro the GTi.

It is not as some people believe a 1.3 body. A standard Satria shell be it 1.3 /1.6 /1.5/ 1.8 are actually all the same. The Satria R3 shell however comes double spot welded. This increases torsional rigidity. Meaning the shell is stiffer, making it a better platform for the suspension to work from.

Now when your car is light it's response is enhanced because it accelerates & brakes better than a walllowing fatty.

And when it's a stiffer & lighter (not to mention a bit more powerful than the avrage GTi) that's when you get the R3's " Brutal Performance".

Comprende?
huh.... double weld spot... cool.. :blink: but still sad coz brand is still proton and the price for our own citizen still quite expensive further more export models proton are more luxury than local ones. In japan, domestic vehicle all is equipt with full accessories and they will export only standard accessories to others countries.

Originally posted by mxsteven+Feb 16 2005, 15:58 -->
QUOTE (mxsteven @ Feb 16 2005, 15:58 )
--QuoteBegin-faisal
@Feb 16 2005, 12:27
tequlia,

Comprende?

huh.... double weld spot... cool.. :blink: but still sad coz brand is still proton and the price for our own citizen still quite expensive further more export models proton are more luxury than local ones. In japan, domestic vehicle all is equipt with full accessories and they will export only standard accessories to others countries. [/b][/quote]
Uh?? mx,

what's ur point. The Satria R3 comes with Recaros, Momo wheel, Yokohama tyres. And it's only RM4k over the Gti. What car under RM80k gives you all these equipment and performance.

FYI. In Japan not all cars are fully equppied. there are bare bones, no frills cars for sale.

Originally posted by faisal+Feb 16 2005, 16:21 -->
QUOTE (faisal @ Feb 16 2005, 16:21 )
Originally posted by mxsteven@Feb 16 2005, 15:58
--QuoteBegin-faisal
@Feb 16 2005, 12:27
tequlia,

Comprende?

huh.... double weld spot... cool.. :blink: but still sad coz brand is still proton and the price for our own citizen still quite expensive further more export models proton are more luxury than local ones. In japan, domestic vehicle all is equipt with full accessories and they will export only standard accessories to others countries.

Uh?? mx,

what's ur point. The Satria R3 comes with Recaros, Momo wheel, Yokohama tyres. And it's only RM4k over the Gti. Whta cat under RM80k gives you all these equipment and performance.

FYI. In Japan not all cars are fully equppied. there are bare bones, no frills cars for sale. [/b][/quote]
still quite expensive.... further more the momo seat & momo wheels is really crap.
for my opinion i rather get a secondhand better car.

no offence thats is just my opinion. :P

Gee... if Recaro SR4 Seats & a Momo wheel is crap I really wonder what would impress the likes of you. :huh:

You'd probly prefer tatty worn out interior of a 2nd hand car but as you said that's your opinion so to each his own.

OMG.. the Recaro SR4, Momo tuner steering and lightweight Advantis are crap? Gulp...

I feel 'crappy' suddenly... talk about high expectations... BTW, those are my favourite items from the car, including the Yoko rubber.

Originally posted by faisal@Feb 16 2005, 17:20
Gee... if Recaro SR4 Seats & a Momo wheel is crap I really wonder what would impress the likes of you. :huh:

You'd probly prefer tatty worn out interior of a 2nd hand car but as you said that's your opinion so to each his own.
i still prefer Bride and racing hart rims... but yoko tires are ok.

till the end..... that R3 still expensive lahhhhh..... no discount ah?

Well, everyone has their own preferences. So Bride and Racing Hart it is!

Yokos are ok only? What tires do you use?

Aiyo, since you say the SR3 is expensive, get a 1.3 Satria then mod la... No seam-welding though.

Originally posted by Crash@Feb 16 2005, 17:45
Well, everyone has their own preferences. So Bride and Racing Hart it is!

Yokos are ok only? What tires do you use?

Aiyo, since you say the SR3 is expensive, get a 1.3 Satria then mod la... No seam-welding though.
yeah loh.... thats why i wanna 2 get skyline R33 better than buying the R3 hehehe...

2nd hand car want to compare with new care? erkkk r u OK??
u should compare evo 5 with r33 laaa i think thatz fair enough...
.... new cars easy get loan while 2nd hand cars hardly to get loan, hurmz am i rite?

didios,
Ah, a nicely done reply. I'd thank you for sharing your further insights from a different point of view, one which I have again missed from looking at. I guess sometimes, I must've been caught by my spontaneous replies at the spur of the moment. This is the kind of reply that I like to read, where someone points out an opinion from a different angle, rather than flaming here and there. In relation to your topic, then I guess I'll just conclude my views to say that unexpected things do happen, given any kind of circumstances. Perhaps that's where the word "accident" comes in, where something we never expect to happen, happens. I've edited my earlier post accordingly. Peace dude.

Everyone's entitled to their opinions. But it's unfair to compare things on a different ballpark; such as 2nd hand vs. brand new, modified vs. stock, imported vs. local, and so forth.

Anyway, for RM80k+ I don't see the the Vios or City having Bride or Racing Hart rims either :P

If we were to scale down a bit and use the same argument at RM40k, how come I don't see people complaining about Kelisas and comparing them to 2nd hand EG6's?

Taking that previous point, I have to agree with steven that the brand might be a problem here;

If UMW were to release a limited to 150 units http://www.toyota.co.uk/cgi-bin/toyota/bv/vsroom/main.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@1839817971.1108561456@@@@&BV_EngineID=ccccadddlifflgecfngcfkmdfkidffi.0&rc=CO6&bs=61&eoid=undefined&goid=undefined&d=undefined&cc=209&tc=&mytype=G&fl_name=GCO6_61.html&print=(3dr Hatchback) TRD equipped with a 1.8 VVTL-i engine, AD07's, double-stitch welding, TRD bodykit and other TRD bits everywhere (part for part with what the R3 was upgraded with).....

....do you think they'll sell it for RM77888?

Don't think so, baby B)

Satria_95, peace to u 2 dude. We cool :lol:

Totally agree with Prozac bout comparing cars. Kelisas and EGs are good points to where as people have different oppinions. If u compare a SR3 with a R33, that two cars are in a league of their own. The price for the R3 is rather good i reckon bcoz of the stuff it comes with. Just compare the civic single cam Vtec (malaysian market) with the civic type R. See the difference there. I guess SR3 with GTI is rather a good buy.
I'm just saying my point here. No hard feelings aiight peeps.\

:lol:

Cheeers

tested the car..very GOOD...but still expensive...15 year old design..old engine..
proton still a proton....after a year...here got sound there got sound..
just my 2 cents....

Originally posted by LS1@Feb 17 2005, 03:26
tested the car..very GOOD...but still expensive...15 year old design..old engine..
proton still a proton....after a year...here got sound there got sound..
just my 2 cents....
I'll take this "15 yr old" design to the latest Colt design anytime! :D

In an Elise you won't be able to hear even the person next to you :P

eehhh... The sounds come FOC in all proton.... hehehe ....the dashboard sound and etc etc... Proton Memang Boleh one.... R3 good car, fast , good cornering but a Proton still a Proton that come with the BOLEH sound....

This is wat i hate bout Proton....... :lol: