GSR blues and BOV problem..advice plssss

Prodrive_2068

GSR blues = turbo and fueling probs..huhuhu :(

Guys..hi and thanx for droping by..i have a few problem and i'm new to Turbo and forced induction..so hopefully the sifu's out there can lend me a few tips and advice..

o.k..my last prob was done..but noe i have a new prob..which is that i'm ysung a TD05HL from a vr4 rs..the stock injector for that engine is 510cc..but currently i'm using only 390cc..so my prob is this,when i get into the boost rpm,everything is good till 5500rpm..but after that i can feel loss of power..

is it because that i'm using a smaller injector?? cause i plan to put in a 510cc injector and plug in a emanage to deal with it..so any ideas and tips from the guru's out there..?? maybe 510cc is too big...

u guys tell me aite..pls pls bring in ur tips and experience..

thanx for droping by guys..really appreciate it loads..

Chheerrss..!!!

1. go for greddy type S,2nd should be around 350~400.

2.try greddy or apexi...if more budget,defi is da answer...:X-:

3.3'' is too large for sub 1.8cc,japanese stock piping is around 2.2",try to reduce it to 2.5" if possible...

for more info,u can try to go to mitsubishi forum @ 4G93T,lotsa sifu will be happy to help u out...bye!:_:

thanx keong..really appreciate it..looking for the above mentioned bov..hehhe exhaust..i'm selling my current one so that i can go 2.5" straight flow and of course got to get a new muffler..got any models or make thats not too noisy but yet nice to see and hear..?? thanx a bunch..

2.5 muffler pretty hard to get... if no choice,u can try 3",there r lot of 2nd HKS,APEXi,BLIZT muffler around...:_:

there is no exhaust piping to big for turbo car..... sound is the limit....

jo1,

bro,what do u mean there is no exhaust piping to big for turbo car..... sound is the limit....??? :Not_Impressed:

keong_GSR said:
1. go for greddy type S,2nd should be around 350~400.

2.try greddy or apexi...if more budget,defi is da answer...:X-:

3.3'' is too large for sub 1.8cc,japanese stock piping is around 2.2",try to reduce it to 2.5" if possible...

for more info,u can try to go to mitsubishi forum @ 4G93T,lotsa sifu will be happy to help u out...bye!:_:

wow.... a very 'costly' advise you have here.

for turbo car fit as big as you can.... turbo need a free flow exhaust to reduce backpressure....

jo1,

wah,really arr??? how come i dunno 1 leh... :X-: ,d biggest i've seen is da 4 inch from evo5 4wd n those RB & J series... but i think 2.5 inch is enough for 1.8cc turbocharge vehicle,too big not that good actually,why? i dunno leh...:X-:

the bigger the better.... sound is the limit and maybe space in certain car..
backpressure is the reason..

since u all been talking bout 2.5 ich exhaust..i got HKS DRAGGER 2.5 inch inlet for sell..its onli 280 maa..pm me if u want bro!

What happen to your blowoff?
My friend was using a SARD for quite some time, and there is no problems. He was even using the boostmeter.
I think SARD and Apexi are quite reliable for both blowoffs and boost meters.

For the pipings, I suggest just use 2.5" all the way, and use a 3" exhause. You won't go wrong with this setting. As Far as I know 3" pipings is only more feasable with Evo's. - Unless you got a highy mod GSR.

Just my opinion and from my experiences. :)

Are you sure the bigger the better??? the bigger the exhaust the slower the velocity of your exiting exhaust, that would cost u lost in power and ur exhaust gas doesn't exit fast enough.. In design there is always an optimum specification.. u can't just play around like this.. dun believe u can try 2 simulate exhaust flow on a computer..

you need the velocity before the turbine wheel to spool the turbo faster and you will need a bigger exhaust to let gas flow without restriction after the turbine wheel/housing.... are you talking about NA or turbo car..... come on google about backpressure, velocity and turbo exhaust.

Guys, jo1 is talking about BIG exhause not the pipings. He already suggested 2.5" pipings... so I can see he don't mean that 'bigger the better'

I think if you put 2.5" exhause it won't be too accurate on the flow at the back. I prefere put something a little bigger than 2.5" there so the flow is easy. Im sure you guys know that some people don't even use exhause...

Therefore I too suggested that 3" exhause size... well.. I'm no expert just from my experience & feeling, the rest its up to the person,... cheers...

bigger exhaust piping as well.... the bigger the better

wwaahh..thanx guys..i never expect to get so many advice from all the sifu in here..anyway,i've changed to 2.5" pipe straight all the way and a 3" blitz tip..just got myself a sheep dog bov..now i think my plug cable kong..hhaaiihh..never ending headaches..

Alright if you say bigger the better.... Try explaining this..

Lets say we assume at a constant pressure, that is the pressure right before we enter the turbine, we use this only as a refrence point.

Using simple energy equation which is
Pressure energy + Potential Energy + Kinectic Energy before and after the pump has to be the same, but this only applies for ideal fluids.. But air is compressable.. so once the air leaves the turbine not only will the pressure drop, the velocity will drop too.. and if we use to big a pipe.. Using the continuity equation which is

mass flow rate = density * area * velocity..

u can see that the bigger the area the lower ur velocity.. as the mass flow rate is suppose to be constant.. The reason why we enlarge the original piping bigger is because the original piping is to small and cannot release the exhaust gas fast enough as there is a maximum speed the exhaust can be release.. Therefore we increase the size.. but there is definetely an ideal size.. u can't just go increase the size man... Turbo or Non turbo is the same thing..

Anyways using a straight flow pipe would have already minimize hell alot of back pressure man.. there is no change in direction of the fluid flow... so what u have at most is also the friction between the air moving and the inner surface of ur piping.. and i don't really see how much force can be generated that u would suffer from GREAT back Pressure..

And before u go asking me to google i just refrence all this from Fundamentals of Fluid dynamics from munson... if u want to discuss in more detail i'm free.. As i plan to do a thesis related to all this heat transfer and fluid dynamics.. TQ

for NA you will need a proper size exhaust for scavenging effect but turbo application
there is no need for that effect because the air is forced into the engine.... try to take a pressure reading from a turbo manifold during full boost.... If you r boosting at lower boost certain size is acceptable but when you r boosting 2 bar and higher with bigger turbo(flow more than 60lbs) the big size exhaust will help you a lot.