JL subs... need help sifuz...

jeff_v2

last week i do some window shopping at puchong... i went to this one shop then i saw a JL audio sub... i ask the worker there, he said that this is las stock he want to let go the 12' sub for 1200 both with box... well the prob is when i want to see the sub he said cannot bcoz has skrew with box, and when i want to know the series he also dont no.. so how come... but he said that i cannot get this price at any other shop.. he ask me to put some advance so that he can save the subs for me.. but i said nex time laaa...

after that he show me his demo van... ADAM's well never hear i told him.. the van has 9 12' sub.... i said that i had no confidence wuth new brand stuff so he promote me american sound subs dual coil & 2 magnet... btw i totally dont know what is that... can some one expalin to me what is dual coil & magnet... dose it play important role to blas our subs... the sub he want to give me 1250 for 2 12'... he said that 1 american sound same as 3 adam's.... wooow that totallly great...

so now i guess i wanna let go some of my ice stuff :

1. 2 kicker ex 10' subs... for 550... nego
2. agako amp EG4004... for 750... nego

if take both can get discount...

so any one interested can give me a cal and see the stuff for anyone around south selangor & kl... my number is 012-7543649

btw i saw a kicker cvr at another shop the price is 580 for 1 subs 12'... is comp vr is cvr when i ask the owner he said it is same...

hi jeff ... is it the shop somewhere near Puchong Perdana and there is a petronas few hundred meter futher on the oposite road ? the name is ML something or JE something ?

so the shop is ML or JE?
u need to let us know the name only can comment
otherwise give wrong info,then paiseh lor
hehe
anyway happy chinese new year

1 JL 12W6 = 5 American Sound's SQ (Sound Quality)

Looks like you're going for SPL, (Sound Pressure Level) aka loudness.

IN that case... just about any reasonable brand would be fine. Afterall SPL involves pumping out copious amounts of air through several ports....

for SQ, it's a different story.

Agako is manufactured by the same people who also do Prokick.

As per your current setup, your items are a bit more on the "safe" side.

Anyways, American Sound is a ok brand. JL is a lot better.

Just all depends on what you want... SQ or SPL.

well first the shop name is ML...
2nd sure im into SPL man... but a bit conuse with what equipment for it, should i go for JL, american sound or kicker comp vr ??? any idea...
for amp dose anyone know with RF 301, 900 watt mono amp.. or any brand that less than 1000....
can someone check what series is JL at ML...
how much is comp vr
still can someone explain to me what is dual coil and megnet...

Dual Voice Coil (DVC) is where your subs will have dual coil. the advantages of DVC is you can have variations of wiring (series or parallel) which will give you more option on impedence load.

As for magnet, the more magnet attached to it the more efficient and power the subs will be (in theory).

Comp VR and CVR is the same subs. Why not consider Shiva subs?

jeff v2..

y not get 2 kicker comp 12" instead of 2 10" kicker ex?
wait till march n c if my fren got stock o not...last time selling comp 12" 4 onli rm 350...brand new...

n bout the agako amp...i recon u 2 buy in Mega Sound...located in subang perdana...they can giv u life time warranty s they has a very good relationship wit the agako company...

yup...agako n prokick under the same manufacturer....the boss is a taiwanese...

instead of changing your subs, why don't you build a new ported box for your pair of Kicker EX 10" ? Build it as big as possible with as large port area as well. If you want purely for SPL, try tuning the port high eg. 40~45hz.

American Sound can never touch JL Audio sub on SQ.

For SPL, more cone area (displacement to be exact), the louder it is going to be. Maybe instead of putting all the money into 1~2 good expensive subs, you can buy like 5~6 cheap subs for the same money.

Also i would like to make a correction with regards to the sub magnet size. In fact, magnet size has no bearing on the sub efficiency & power. There are a lot of other factors that will determine a sub efficiency and power.

Wah... indecided. I like your signature la... whahaha. i think that HU is alpine 9815 in ur car right?

Yong.. sure or not can get 12' comp vr for 350... if sure than i can wait for it but it must be conform first...

thanks guys 4 ur explaination... well yong probbally u hav missunderstood... i want to change my kicer ex 10' to comp vr 12' and bout the amp also wanna sell my agako amp and buy rf amp....

still confuse DVC ????? blur laaa & magnet also blur...american soud hav DVC and 2 magnet so can someone explain to me bout comp vr...

appleyard im still looking for shiva around kl but still not find laaa, when ask the owner he recommend other brand... he said that other better than shiva..

so for now probbally american sound & kicker comp vr is my choise.. but need to wait until march.. bout the amp can anyone check for me the RF 301, 900 watt... can it go with 2 comp vr????? check the spec from lelong the guy at n9...

comp vr & cvr same or not????
where can i find kicker stuff other than JE ????

ant TT around coz miss the last one, actually SESAT at salak selatan... miss the turn to desa waterpark so the go lepak at bangsar... miss Bert no. maa... so sory guys, next time can make at a easier place to everyone to come ???? near kl town can ???

thanks guys again...

Jeff
Adire Audio
Distributor (according to another forumer)

Kewl Distribution
No. 47 Midlands Drive
Georgetown
10250 Pulau Pinang
MALAYSIA
PHONE: 604 219 2468 or 6012 423 3368
FAX: 604 219 2469
E-MAIL: [email protected]

DVC ... lets see if i can make it simple

a dual voice coil can give you variations in wiring (series and parallel)
e. a 4 ohm DVC subs
if you wire in series you will get 8 ohm. (4 ohm + 4 ohm )
if you wire 2 subs in series you will have 16 ohm. (8 ohm + 8 ohm )

if you wire parallel, you will have 2 ohm. (4 ohm X 4 ohm / 4 ohm + 4 ohm )
if you wire 2 subs in parallel you will have 1 ohm ( 2 ohm X 2 ohm / 2 ohm + 2 ohm )

Comp VR power handling is 400w rms. if that amp puts up 900w rms then it will be sufficient. What is your budget for a monoblock anyway?

my budget is around 1000 hat is if i can sell my old agako amp...
i found out that a RF amp at lelong.. price is 690... well may give a call bout it..
for shiva i think it is too far for me to go to peneng jus to check for shiva, well until i found a shop that sell shiva at kl maybe i go with comp vr then...
well i hav around 1000 & if i can sell my subs & amp i can have a budget around 2000 something to start again..
well whatever need to wait until there is a buyer for my subs... comp vr i think around 600-700 for 12'... amp around 1000....

appleyard can u sugest me any amp around my budget???
thanks again for ur advise...

ok sorry jeff....didnt read properly....4get bout american sound...go 4 kicker comp vr...a kelisa wit 4 kicker compVR can reach 175dB...tats very loud...u noe lah...kicker...living loud...hehehe

bout the amp...wit a rm1k budget...u can try contact yohannes since he got a 1200wattRMS prokick monoblock wit subsonic filter 4 sale at less than rm1k...

for JL sub...abt 12' sub Rm 1200 is 12W3V2...i bought that JL sub is abt RM1350 wit no enclosed..12W6V2 is abt RM2400 that too expensive..

Originally posted by Indecided@Feb 19 2005, 11:15
I sold mine to a pleasant chap driving a perdana. RM500 it was?

Mmm.

:)

HAHAHA ... yeah yeah. 500 it was. No probs with the JL so far :D A very satisfied purchase.

yep... a decision i regret since it's almost another 5 months. But it's good.. my car is a lot lighter now...but i miss having a sub at the back. nvm.. i'll have a nice 13W7 in the states :P