Perdana V6 Community Forum *

Hi guys. I'm getting very confused here. I've just asked around from a few cutshops and they are telling me that the Gb 312 doesn't suit my engine... :banghead: :confused: At 1st i didn't think he knew what he was talking about but when i asked another shop, they said the same thing too. Oh boy.. Now I'm really confused..:confused:

Booked one Perdana V6 2006 Enhanced 3 (seems like it, interior is cream and meter panel is white), not sure not to read the version from the geran. Once loan approved maybe I can join for TT? :biggrin:

Hi guys. I'm getting very confused here. I've just asked around from a few cutshops and they are telling me that the Gb 312 doesn't suit my engine... :banghead: :confused: At 1st i didn't think he knew what he was talking about but when i asked another shop, they said the same thing too. Oh boy.. Now I'm really confused..:confused:

u need to ask which code can fit? 332?

---------- Post added at 02:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:33 PM ----------

Booked one Perdana V6 2006 Enhanced 3 (seems like it, interior is cream and meter panel is white), not sure not to read the version from the geran. Once loan approved maybe I can join for TT? :biggrin:

good luck on your loan application...:rofl:

Can all the bros and abang abang sekalian give some advice, what are the things to do when first getting the used car:
* please give recommended brand (with price even better) for Perdana v6 as well, don't mind paying a slight premium, as long as it is proven to be good.

1) Change timing belt? Dayco? Mileage for car is about 158k
2) Change ATF? Recommended is Diaqueen?
3) Buy NGK Iridium to stock up for next spark plug change?
4) Tinting
5) Change engine oil? Is Elf Synthetic Pro 10w50 good?

That's all I can think of now.

Please advice a beginner.

Can all the bros and abang abang sekalian give some advice, what are the things to do when first getting the used car:
* please give recommended brand (with price even better) for Perdana v6 as well, don't mind paying a slight premium, as long as it is proven to be good.

1) Change timing belt? Dayco? Mileage for car is about 158k
**i recommend dayco timing belt, made in italy RM295. water pump GMB made in japan RM125.
spark plugs RM360 denso iridium or bosch fusion RM210 all for 6 pcs. if u have extra budget change the plug cable as well bosch super sport 8mm RM150. workmanship will be approx rm300-400 depending on your mechanic

2) Change ATF? Recommended is Diaqueen?
**i recommend toyota ATF type 4. but make sure its original, u can try diaqueen though.3) Buy NGK Iridium to stock up for next spark plug change?
**iridium better, platinum also can. depends on your budget. cos u need plugs that can lasts 4) Tinting
**depends on your budget. 5) Change engine oil? Is Elf Synthetic Pro 10w50 good?
**v6 usually uses semi synthetic, cant use fully syn as it will leak at the engine head. its normal.
That's all I can think of now.

Please advice a beginner.

did u take the perdana that u previously PM'ed me?

No bro, this is another car, interior is original, all tan including steering so I think it's Enhanced 3. Not sure how to read from the geran though. Is it from the chassis no? But this car is from 2005.

wat happened to the other car?
if not mistaken should be stated on the geran which enhanced version is it.
the sport rims is the star or many spokes type?

Sport rim is star type slightly offset, not the big one with many spokes.

The old one said to have problem with bank side. Something wrong with the geran or something

one noob question since i only own a perdana not too long ago. There is no reverse light or sensor when the gear is on "R". I suspect it might be the reverse switch and my mech told me the switch is in the gearbox? Anyone can confirm cos my mech sometime is a bit crazy one....

its not 'inside'.. its on top of the gb.. :) i think.. :itsme:

bro danz, v6 cannot use fully synthetic ke? I think i read somewhere some people using fully synthetic without problems.

Bro, i have something troubling me. The car im getting is 158k kms, what should i be looking out for for signs of problems, like time for overhaul, to change the lower arms or suspension, etc.

u can try 1st, but it will leak at the head, if it does leak, switch to semi syn.
158k kms abit high for your car. should be less than 100k kms. u may require to do a full or top overhaul soon if the
previous owner has not done it.

just check the exhaust is not emitting any white smoke after the engine reaches it optimum temperature.
emphasize on your engine dept 1st, change timing belt, water pump, spark plugs & plug cables, change engine oil & ATF.
then bring your car for a ride, if u feel vibrating, check your lower arm, tierod end (most common failure), rack end & lastly engine mounting.

232,222,312,332 is for v6.
sei uses the same gearbox as wira 1.6 but not sure which code.
sei also able to use evo3 gearbox set, but u need a qualified gbox specialist to do the transplant.

Bro, I think I will change all fluids like engine oil, ATF and all, but how will I know if the water pump also has to be changed? Or just change for the sake of safety and ease of mind?

better change water pump & timing belt together, save time & costs of workmanship.

**i recommend dayco timing belt, made in italy RM295. water pump GMB made in japan RM125.

Where to get these items bro? In KL, JB, or Seremban.