funny that someone mentioned turning radius will increase...how come?
i am not trying to say anything but especially in saga/iswara forums around malaysia, alot of pelik pelik modifications that will make the car turning radius larger lah...twin pots cant fit in normal absorbers lah...vr4 knuckle mod into saga lah...and especially, modifications on engine mountings which i see some of them outside with cut off panels, using small radiator or even modifications on the mountings attached to the body.
and frankly...personally i felt some of the members or non members have been taken for a ride...but then, the car is not mine and the money spent is not from me too...just felt it's a pity that so many mechanics out in this world and most of them claim to be the best...how to prove that they really know their shits?
let's start with the most simple quote i heard from the first time i am into cars 10 years ago until now.
1) SAGA cannot put VR-4 inside...if not body patah la v-house crack la mounting pecah la have to potong body la.....
--> my car has no such problems even with increased horsepower from the 4G63T.
2) SAGA cannot use full radiator have to use half length (steng), or can use but put outside the panel
--> WTF...the mech never modify the mounting BRACKET (NOT chassis) on the timing belt side! that's why your engine is so much infront until you have to cut the front panel.
3) SAGA VR-4 always patah driveshaft one have to custom la no choice have to use 1.3/1.5 gearbox la..
--> i have been using 1.5 driveshafts for god knows how long until i custom made one with hardened materials. let's say if my driveshaft patah halfway to anywhere within malaysia, i can just buy 1 saga driveshaft from any spare-part shop and then i can continue my journey already.
4) brakes :
hahahah this one is very subjective. there are many ways in malaysia that you can use to upgrade your brakes. the first and the most straightforward way is to upgrade to mirage disc brakes...but it's not really plug and play. the knuckles are similar, but then you have to change the knuckle back to saga. simply a kacang putih job of pump the bearings out and then fit in back the saga knuckle.
VR-4 :
the knuckles can be fit in directly into the saga mountings, but then the knuckles will have POSITIVE camber no matter what you do. so some will shave off the holes on the lower absorber mounting, invert (terbalik) the tie rod, shorten the whole steering rack and then some will have handling problems. (the car have massive torque steer during acceleration, and very very unstable during high speed driving). almost hit a tree at 180km/h while trying to tame the so-called "beast" for the wrong reasons in a friend's car with the same setup.
what i can let you guys know is :
if you want to pasang VR-4 twinpot or single pot brakes, you only need to use the brake rotor and caliper. use back the saga knuckles (see how i always stress...the saga knuckles are important for your handling) and open it up. so now you got one saga knuckle opened up and you got one opened up rotor and caliper. if your mechanic still dont know how to modify...
SiGh....dunno what to say already.
Wira :
there are some sagas i see before running on 1.6 wira disc setup. dont ask me how...i dunno cos i only see before never see how they modify. never really cared anyway.
5) handling
some of the memers complained that the handling is very bad for saga with torque steer, instability and high speeds, the car cari tiang/divider/longkang/pokok...if this case happens, please refer back to item 4. it correlates. trust me.
i think i stop here...i getting old already that's why grumbling here and there...but i wish to see a stop in pelik pelik modifications for sagas cos there's too many bad rumors about saga or iswara cant handle for nuts. if you want pictures to proof my claims, can. as soon as i come back from genting this wednesday i will post it up...first is the twin pots with saga knuckles.
lastly, if there is someone out there who "terasa pedas sebab cili itu panas", i apologise. Simply because i am too rude, but i want to stop all bullshits about improper modifications on sagas anymore. i can simply keep quiet, sell off my saga for peanuts and get a satria/putra/wira for my next project but what for? the car is sleeping and i dont care cos i got a second car. Still, the passion that keep me from selling off the car is because i want to prove the critics wrong that saga/iswara is not capable of competitive racing, and it needs time and money. money does not come easy beb...you think it's worth it to spend almost 2K every month just to maintain the bloody car?
SiGh...my parts stock is getting more and more stacked up in my workshop and still i havent really use all...
Guess i will stop here. mintak maaf for my rudeness.
Regards.