Putra or Civic? How to choose?

Civic or Putra

• Honda Civic 1.6

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Proton Putra 1.8

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
prozac said:
I think there's nothing wrong with 4G93P consumption. I myself am using one with the same ECU as a Putra and get 400-450km on a full tank.

It all depends on your right foot.

huh? your SR3 has same FC with my Wira 1.5 (A)? :tongue:
Then FC should not be an issue for me :biggrin:

see, this is the major drawback of 3 gears Auto :thumpdown

i once got to drive Wira 1.8 DOHC LE and was quite surprised by its fuel consumption. quite save and not that far off a 1.6 car. of coz, it was using 14 inch standard wheels.

the best thing is that when i came up to behind one wira at highway. the driver maybe think i drive wira 1.5 also or just 1.3. i give signal/indicators to show him i want to overtake but the wira in front refused to give way. so, overtake from left laa..then tarikkk all the way to 210kmh. and wave at him also.... :D being understated is the best thing on the road.

like BMW 328i but without the badge. many will think its just a 318i. ha ha then makan asap...

hawick, go for putra laa. civic dont have ABS, momo sports seats and steering wheel.

zan said:
i once got to drive Wira 1.8 DOHC LE and was quite surprised by its fuel consumption. quite save and not that far off a 1.6 car. of coz, it was using 14 inch standard wheels.

the best thing is that when i came up to behind one wira at highway. the driver maybe think i drive wira 1.5 also or just 1.3. i give signal/indicators to show him i want to overtake but the wira in front refused to give way. so, overtake from left laa..then tarikkk all the way to 210kmh. and wave at him also.... :D being understated is the best thing on the road.

like BMW 328i but without the badge. many will think its just a 318i. ha ha then makan asap...

hawick, go for putra laa. civic dont have ABS, momo sports seats and steering wheel.

hahha, i experienced that b4, got one 318i tried to cucuk me while im driving 525i 24v (without badge)...hehee..luv to see his face reaction.....priceless..haahahha..

mind if i share abit of my thoughts? :D

I don't know about the price, the condition of the car, and how previous owner take care of it, now i'm just trying to compare this two car side by side.

IMHO, the putra might be a better car if you just need a daily driver, no racing or anything. I think so because it has better torque down low, and all the power come faster at lower rpm, where we normally drive the car. I guess some might want to say no replacement for displacement in this situation.

however, if i'm the one choosing one of these two cars, i'll go for the civic, cuz i'm high rev fetish :rofl: and i like make the engine scream. Higher hp means the car is faster tho the lower torque means you might feel less g-force but all those depends very much on your gearbox/final drive setup.

Exterior wise.. I'll usually try to keep things as stock as posible to avoid any chance of jaypeejay tai lou trying to get some side income, thus i would most probably go for the civic since i like it better, purely my own taste, nothing to do with which is better or anything.

ps. my honda ek driving friend's gf dump her proton driving ex to be with my friend XD, and for quite a while alot of our friends say must sell their proton and get a honda :rofl: ... er me? i drive my faithful super reliable toyota :D

ehaab said:
i think a civic would be more reliable than a putra..
spare parts would not be easy for both cars...i think better ask those who actually one these cars..

i personally would get a civic, without a doubt...
loads of mods are availble for both cars...
also i think the civic would easily have a better FC than the putra..

maintenance...again ask those who one of these cars..point to remember is that putra is a discontinued model..so parts are not easily available even from half-cuts...civic parts can be found at halfcuts though..

just my opinion...correct me if i am wrong in stating any of the above things...haha...

I drive a Putra 1997....if you are talking about power windows, of coz Proton's power window unit sucks. HOwever, my power window is still working....no problem. What i did was to make sure that the window sills are properly lubricated, i used silicon spray.

Other than that....reliability is never a problem on my Putra. I believe any car with proper care wouldn't have much reliability problem.

Speaking of spare parts....no problem. Since most of the parts are available. Moreover, i can also opt for Mitsubishi units (half cut).

oh yeah, forgot to mention about FC.

the average FC i get from city driving....morning and evening jam is
approx. 0.08litre\KM

my car is stock by the way...except for the K&N drop-in air filter and 16" wheels.

nuggyn said:
I drive a Putra 1997....if you are talking about power windows, of coz Proton's power window unit sucks. HOwever, my power window is still working....no problem. What i did was to make sure that the window sills are properly lubricated, i used silicon spray.

(half cut).

speaking of power window problems, we all must remember that proton inherited that from mitsubishi.

mitsubishi were not good in power windows. ask anybody who used to own galant sigma in late 1970s, or the galant before super touring in 1982.

zan said:
speaking of power window problems, we all must remember that proton inherited that from mitsubishi.

mitsubishi were not good in power windows. ask anybody who used to own galant sigma in late 1970s, or the galant before super touring in 1982.

True... it means, Proton went n dig Mitsubishi's recycle bin for technology la.

acbc said:
True... it means, Proton went n dig Mitsubishi's recycle bin for technology la.

and one more thing. we always say proton cars problem. but we always forget the ratio of proton against other makes in malaysia. i think for every 1 non-proton, there maybe 30 proton cars.

we must go to UK where Ford and Vauxhall are sold in volumes, and proton is the minority there and then try ask is between proton and ford, which has more problems??

the answer will most probably be either ford or vauxhall. not to say that proton cars are better made but solely because the number of cars are very little by comparison.

same goes to honda and toyota cars in malaysia. as their numbers are low, plus of course the better design and quality it was manufactured, many people may not realise that those makes are not problem free too.

i had worked at toyota service centre for 3 years and believe me, everyday i heard complaints about toyota cars.

and a year at Alfa Romeo service centre...sighh..luckily didnt commit suicide!

zan said:
and one more thing. we always say proton cars problem. but we always forget the ratio of proton against other makes in malaysia. i think for every 1 non-proton, there maybe 30 proton cars.

we must go to UK where Ford and Vauxhall are sold in volumes, and proton is the minority there and then try ask is between proton and ford, which has more problems??

the answer will most probably be either ford or vauxhall. not to say that proton cars are better made but solely because the number of cars are very little by comparison.

same goes to honda and toyota cars in malaysia. as their numbers are low, plus of course the better design and quality it was manufactured, many people may not realise that those makes are not problem free too.

i had worked at toyota service centre for 3 years and believe me, everyday i heard complaints about toyota cars.

True but what I meant was Proton shouldn't copy Mitsubishi's technology blindly... they should innovate as well... like the Koreans.

I drive a Galant and will admit that the car itself is not problem-free... sometimes, the problem is so frustrated that I won't drive it for days.

Now I drive a BMW E32... even more problems than my Galant... day by day, I really miss my Galant.

zan said:

wahh ZAN, to many experience u have there aa..

if u think about those car... i prefer putra...
civic 1.6 soch vtec not power ma..under power! too old very old for stock setup.

but if u prefer FC.. go for honda city 1.3 97... price also same around rm30-33k
very eco for daily use.
last time i also use wira 1.8 converted to evo... much power.much FC.

since petrol price grow like hell... plus now im boring to speeding..(yeke?heheh i tot la..but turbo feel mmg lazat like first love)... better u go for honda city 1.3 97 la...its enuf for KL car.seriuos!

hawick said:
huh? your SR3 has same FC with my Wira 1.5 (A)? :tongue:
Then FC should not be an issue for me :biggrin:

see, this is the major drawback of 3 gears Auto :thumpdown
Here's a hint...I drive my car as slowly as a Wira 1.5A most of the time. But sometimes cannot tahan driving like aunty. That's when I see my fuel level dropping before my very eyes :eek:

for me..i definitely go for putra..
its a coupe...
putra got momo s/wheel, momo gear knob, recaros all around, 4 disc brakes, abs and 4G93P..nice!
FC...rm10 can go for 90km..not bad for a 1.8 liter car...

hawick said:
anymore opinion? dun let this thread cool down...
i personaliy will choose putra.:wink: .....in terms of the age of the car when compare to old civic....and the after market parts are easily find...i also plan to get a putra next year...perhaps... :biggrin:

Bro, Civic would be the best choice. Am using an eg9 year 94 now and my brothers using a putra yr 2000. U can't compare Honda makes and a Proton makes. Honda qualities are much better than Protons. Trust me.. Just a suggestion bro.. Its ur choice. Best of luck!

ash_eyie said:
Bro, Civic would be the best choice. Am using an eg9 year 94 now and my brothers using a putra yr 2000. U can't compare Honda makes and a Proton makes. Honda qualities are much better than Protons. Trust me.. Just a suggestion bro.. Its ur choice. Best of luck!

base on your experience, what is the differents between a 94 civic and 00 putra? comfort level? quality?

if u dun mind, tell me more about it, i do appreaciate your reply.

ash_eyie said:

agree with you. i never heard b4 proton is somebody's dream car

digitalcom said:
agree with you. i never heard b4 proton is somebody's dream car
digitalcom said:
proton? :banghead: no eyes see :cool:

digitalcom, don't you think your posts are silly?! :mad:

Now i'm asking for opinions and experiences, this is discussion thread. If you have some facts to share, just post it out, no one will stop you! But i notice that your posts are sarcastic rather than useful.

I know you are driving Honda Accord, so what?! My family do has Honda Accord, is this mean that i can look down to others?

if you think Proton Putra is not worth of money, just bring out your point, can't you see how other members reply this thread?

If you still intend to bash Proton, please create a new thread and play with yourself.

I hope that you can learn from mistake, rather than fight back. :mad: