survey ur honda's fuel consumption..

nashrey said:
eh, 16km/l? a or b? in what driving conditions?

driving condition? it was years back, been long since i drive a honda VTEC, but one of the important thing is, i alwiz turn the a/c off before getting the best FC of any engine. FYI, the FCs i quoted is the best ive seen so far, done wit the a/c off. its not a mystery, is it?

nashrey : how much r u getting on ur ride now? 12km/l? they way u ask, 16 seems impossible bro. try to pump in petrol in the coldest hour ie 2~3am, and pump in as slow as u can so dat u'll get the max liter, instead of getting lil volume of bubbles when pumping in petrol.

hmmm.....people always do the meter calibration at the dispenser during daylight..means its hot .....they pump petrol into a bucket n see whether the amount of petrol in the bucket n what displayed by the meter is match or not....if not they will adjust utill its match....n this is always done with a fast fuel delivery....believe it or not....after the calibration is done....what's displayed at the pump ....20L,40L etc is what actually pumped into ur tank.....so, if u r saying pumping during cold time n with slower mode will get u more fuel/rm paid...then its not entirely true.......

Interesting, Oderf.

However, I wonder if situations on non-self service pumps are similar, since most do not have a return line (hearsay, I don't really know what's a return line on pumps, cars I knowlah!). So, I'd appreciate your feedback on this.

For example, I try pump full tank, and currently, the previous person pumping the tank is a motorcyclist, and there is no fuel in the pump line leading to the dispenser pistol
Not to be a scrooge.. I don't really mind actually, but I'm just really really curious. :retarded:

Oderf said:
hmmm.....people always do the meter calibration at the dispenser during daylight..means its hot .....they pump petrol into a bucket n see whether the amount of petrol in the bucket n what displayed by the meter is match or not....if not they will adjust utill its match....n this is always done with a fast fuel delivery....believe it or not....after the calibration is done....what's displayed at the pump ....20L,40L etc is what actually pumped into ur tank.....so, if u r saying pumping during cold time n with slower mode will get u more fuel/rm paid...then its not entirely true.......

hmm... dats quite interesting oderf but what i experienced was what i told previously. and ive tried similar experiment wit a 20 liter canister, when it was RM1.52/liter. i pump in RM20 every time, which gave me about 13.06 liter, marked dat level. dis is done during day time, doin the same experiment in the nite time, on different pump, same station, gave me more compared to the one pumped during d day.

and pumping in slowly does give extra, try it urself bro. i wont say dis unless ive proven it. u shud try both and post the results here bro:_:

ha..ha...good question shiroitenshi.... ok, let me answer this..... the 'pistol' u r refering to is called nozzle.....its the nozzle that stop the fuel whenever the pump stop dispensing....the hose is always filled up with fuel at any time to prevent bubles introduced into the system, the moment u start pumping and aso once u hv finished. so, nobody get more than what they are paying......cheers!

xtremeleo said:
driving condition? it was years back, been long since i drive a honda VTEC, but one of the important thing is, i alwiz turn the a/c off before getting the best FC of any engine. FYI, the FCs i quoted is the best ive seen so far, done wit the a/c off. its not a mystery, is it?

nashrey : how much r u getting on ur ride now? 12km/l? they way u ask, 16 seems impossible bro. try to pump in petrol in the coldest hour ie 2~3am, and pump in as slow as u can so dat u'll get the max liter, instead of getting lil volume of bubbles when pumping in petrol.
urban driving oni 11.5km/l - very poor considering D15B is supposed to be a fuel efficient engine. car's stock standard. highways can get around 14km/l...

xtremeleo said:
hmm... dats quite interesting oderf but what i experienced was what i told previously. and ive tried similar experiment wit a 20 liter canister, when it was RM1.52/liter. i pump in RM20 every time, which gave me about 13.06 liter, marked dat level. dis is done during day time, doin the same experiment in the nite time, on different pump, same station, gave me more compared to the one pumped during d day.

and pumping in slowly does give extra, try it urself bro. i wont say dis unless ive proven it. u shud try both and post the results here bro:_:

hmmm...this is getting more interesting bro. well, fuel is a volatile material..it expand during the hot day. but u have to remember that one of the main reason the fuel tank at any svc station is buried underground is to avoid this temperature effect. also, the suction stub or the pump (depending on the system, pressure or suction system) are positioned about 2" from the tank bottom where the fuel is cold and free from temperature effect. Given that all sytem permits no bubbles, u'll get the same amount of fuel regardless the time u pump it in. its a fair system. BUT, chances are the accuracy of calibration done to the meter at dispenser pump might differ from one to another, even at the same service station (same station but diff pump). so, u might get different amount from even 1 pump to another...but believe me the difference is not significant unless they purposely 'do something' to it to extract more money ( i cant explain more on this for some reason :_: )

nashrey said:
urban driving oni 11.5km/l - very poor considering D15B is supposed to be a fuel efficient engine. car's stock standard. highways can get around 14km/l...

very interesting oderf, interesting indeed..

nashrey : what s the mileage on ur car now bro? how many years have u been driving it? iam assuming its well maintain through out dis years?

xtremeleo said:
very interesting oderf, interesting indeed..

nashrey : what s the mileage on ur car now bro? how many years have u been driving it? iam assuming its well maintain through out dis years?
115k for a 10 year old car seems a bit low...been using it for 2 years now. normal maintenance every 5k, the main belts (timing, a-con, p/steering) replaced when i got the car.

130kmh bergegar? well, bring his car down to selayang, and i'll try to make it balanced. u'll be surprised how a new set of bushes can do.

hahahahah.....sorang lagi member aku cakap...keta proton ni buat dari tin milo,tin sardin.......lawak sungguh.....patutla bila eksiden teruk....tapi safety aku lebih respek volvo...kat kampung aku...satu keta proton wira....eksiden remuk teruk...cuma bontot keta ja yg elok....yg lain semua hancur......nampaknya betul lah apa yg member aku kaji.....proton just important Quantity....but not Quality....aku malas nak speaking² aku mengaku memang aku fail bab bab speaking....kita org melayu...kenapa mengAGUNG-AGUNGkan bahasa lain....like peanut forget a skin....hahahhahahaha......assalamualaikum....

SR4

sorry laaaa shiroitenshi san.... but it is really annoying laaa waiting the guy pump slowly then the the worst part of it he wait till the last drop then only put back the nozzles.... "ANNOYING JUST THE LIKE THE PROTON HATERS ABOVE YOU" lol

CIVICSR4 said:
130kmh bergegar? well, bring his car down to selayang, and i'll try to make it balanced. u'll be surprised how a new set of bushes can do.

hahahahah.....sorang lagi member aku cakap...keta proton ni buat dari tin milo,tin sardin.......lawak sungguh.....patutla bila eksiden teruk....tapi safety aku lebih respek volvo...kat kampung aku...satu keta proton wira....eksiden remuk teruk...cuma bontot keta ja yg elok....yg lain semua hancur......nampaknya betul lah apa yg member aku kaji.....proton just important Quantity....but not Quality....aku malas nak speaking² aku mengaku memang aku fail bab bab speaking....kita org melayu...kenapa mengAGUNG-AGUNGkan bahasa lain....like peanut forget a skin....hahahhahahaha......assalamualaikum....

SR4

Waalaikumsalam...

bro, jus becoz english is being used here, it doesnt mean its being 'diAGUNG-AGUNGkan'... The forum is designed for people from all over the world to meet up here in cyberspace to discuss the common passion we all have... (i.e. Cars and stuff related to it). So english is used... itu je...

anyways... back to the topic at hand... fuel consumption...

peace!

oderf is fuel engineer, so i think he know better about this matter and i oso believe that he know few trip how to get more fuel... kekekkeke

KeV-TEC said:
new accord 2.0 original stock..

around 20 cent per km

waaaa until that detail kaa u calculate......lol... calculate mine plzzz RM40 for 145km..

ahahahah... wanna make sure 1 km spend how much ma... your 1 also about d same la... around 20sen la...

iam beginning to like dis SR4 fella, sticking to his beliefs. bravo!! but, iam sorry to say dat i cant join u to post in bm since, like i said, we r in tom's forum. i want u invite u to my fren's forum which really uses bm a lot, maybe we can discuss further there? :)

nashrey : D15 is supposed to have good FC but, it seems like its efficiency is sumhow overrated, ya? my uncle bought a 2nd EJ (iam sorry if i mistaken the model, iam not too familiar wit honda models, iam still learning : ) ), wit a single cam VTEC engine (is dis the model dat has 3 stage VTEC system?). its FC is higher den what i expected it to be since ive drove much B series before, the most dat i can do is about RM20 for about 150km (kl-melaka) journey. its rather high if u ask me, d worse part is i cud see the fuel level decreases which for me really means d engine is really, really thirsty.

ive learned much from what oderf posted previously, thank you. ive been working wit petronas before, and i know more now y the fuel tank is located way down in the ground. thanX! previously, i alwiz tot its for safety reasons, etc.

now iam really confused y i got good FC on the B series i drove before. FYI, i alwiz got better FC den the owners cud when i drove their cars. hmm..?? maybe a slight miscalculation? hmm..??