• Putera

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Traffic

• Modikasi

• MotorTrader

• I don't read local car magz, coz they all 'Sucks'!!

• Total voters
Nice thread guys..

Lemme add my 2 yen. Most of the local car mags aren't informative enough. For example, Option Japan, sometimes they even have articles on DIY..

KERETA sucks..sorry to say that. Almost all of their issues come have same sentences when describing engine implants..like "dikuasai oleh bla bla bla.....". And for BOV - "dilengkapi dengan BOV XXX untuk melepaskan udara/angin...".

One thing I don't really understand is, why most of the local car mags.use titles like 'BACK IN BLACK' or "BABY GODZILLA' or whatever for their featured cars? Why can't just stick to the ordinary title wan? Maybe it's just me huh??

And what i really like to see in our local mags are articles on old school cars that have been modified to the extreme. Thera are hundreds of them.... that would be really cool...

Peace....

Originally posted by powercable@Jan 12 2005, 10:28
Nice thread guys..

Lemme add my 2 yen. Most of the local car mags aren't informative enough. For example, Option Japan, sometimes they even have articles on DIY..

KERETA sucks..sorry to say that. Almost all of their issues come have same sentences when describing engine implants..like "dikuasai oleh bla bla bla.....". And for BOV - "dilengkapi dengan BOV XXX untuk melepaskan udara/angin...".

One thing I don't really understand is, why most of the local car mags.use titles like 'BACK IN BLACK' or "BABY GODZILLA' or whatever for their featured cars? Why can't just stick to the ordinary title wan? Maybe it's just me huh??

And what i really like to see in our local mags are articles on old school cars that have been modified to the extreme. Thera are hundreds of them.... that would be really cool...

Peace....
wah, urs is more than 2 sen liao......... :lol:
very good point to local magz....... :lol:

Originally posted by JINEIL2EN@Jan 12 2005, 09:56
juz hope Malaysia's car magz can b like Japs, US or HK......... :lol:
Jinel>
Haaa... you know what? Then the price also like Japan / US then you know! hahaha!

powercable>
yes, most of the words used are typically The Sun newspaper kind of Sports Headlines.. they sound so corny and tacky.

Someone also mentioned that articles have been ripped off.. I remember clearly someone (dun wanna mention) published a 2edition guide to turbochargers and its applications.
Haha.. it was a direct rip off Hot4's from OZ. I opened the magazine and compared.. what similarities! And no bother was given to credit the source, which is Hot4's.. Donno la maybe some back-door deal done somewhere, but to readers who are acquainted with foreign mags as well, this can be dangerous! Ppl think u plagiarise, they'll have a lasting impression on the publication.

So.. got to be careful!

Plagiarism...a big no no. C'mon lar...creative sikit boleh tak. Kalau tak creative, innovative pun ok jugak. At least change the bloody article you are copying till it isn't so fucking obvious that its been copied.

One more thing. I don't know if its just me, but I really don't like cars with Frankenstein mods. Its ok if the Frankenstein then looks like Tom Cruise, but a big big no no if it looks like they joined 2 halfcuts of different cars together. I mean, be tasteful lar...choose to feature cars that are properly done up in all aspects. Whats the point of having one million horsepower if the damn car looks like its been through Afghanistan, wires sticking out everywhere, dirt, various pointy bits all over the place etc.

muahahahaha! I especially HATE to see them 'show cars' that have been sooooo 'creatively' done up, it resembles a toilet on wheels... metaphorically & sarcastically speaking, of course.
Especially the use of stuffed toys and as traffic has pointed out their annoyance at.. cotton. WTF??!?!
I think its a soft way of portraying their disgust for such techniques of show. hehehe! farnee la them!

And them leopard/tiger skin interior..pink fluff interior.. Eyuh.. I think I'm gonna spew...Ok la, maybe I no right to kutuk them who spend so much to spice up their rides, but please lah... It's REVOLTING! Visual torture lah.. :ph34r:

good if you just compile for them what you think they'd really want to know about.. what can be considered useful FEEDBACK for them to look at.

Agree wif you on dropping the kok tok from it.
Go for it dude!

thankz lekalo dude......

ilverfish & lekalo,
1 more thing is most of time they late, not punctual.
hope they will consider this.....coz i really hate that, ev time goto ask at bookshop or else.....1 answer......"boh lai", "tak da"......"tak atu bile baru datang".....

Originally posted by AE-86+Jan 12 2005, 09:59 -->
QUOTE (AE-86 @ Jan 12 2005, 09:59 )
--QuoteBegin-3G's
@Jan 11 2005, 17:57
Hyper and Traffic both of them have their own picture
quality.Inserts are goOd,content botH of them are
excellent! ;)

Current mags is only two of them on my shopping liSt
every month...

mostly the pic are from Red Max Agency lah bai~~!!! :P [/b][/quote]
we did have pictures from red max aka vincent but that's only like ... say less then ten or so pictures

man and moi and sometimes buck did the photography for traffic most of the times...

and thnks for the compliment though heheh :lol:

hi guys, been reading the tread for a while. thanks for the support for traffic mag even though i'm officially out of the company i really appriciate it.

what i can see from the tread is a lot of comments that i could bring into light and answer some.
the main question have been popping is why cant the local car mag be as good as the hk or jap mags.

its all about the money guys, the jap and hk mags will have a wide range of readers from the country it self all the way here in malaysia as some of you guys admit buying.
but what really helps the jap and hk mags be like what it is now is the local car tuning garage, accessories shops and what not in got extra money to buy the advertisement space which in turn helps the mag flourish.

see, in all news papers and magazine and most of the other media, their lifeblood is advertisements not from fans buying the mags. if the mag relies on sales of the mag alone it will die or just barely surviving.

its bad enough to be in mainstream magazine business but traffic mag and hypertune is in the deep end.
just emagine this scenario, you have 10 advertisers, then you have 25 mags of which all of them have to fight to the 10 advertisers.

23 mags are mainstream, a wide range of readership but the other 2 are modded mag which have a smaller readership pool.
as an advertiser who have a limited budget, you will want the maximum effect
from what you can spend so most of the time only the mainstream mags will get the advertisements.
and then the aftermarket people are not being supportive, so until the local automotive big bosses open their eyes, the local modded mags will still have to limp their way up with because they wont have a good budget to pay writers and staff. most of them are under powered and thats where the struggle is.
i hope this answers some of the lingering questions but if there is some more, pop away and i'll gladly entertain you guys. again thanks and no hard feelings.

hmmm.. money talks. The power of advertising is not only limited ot its audiences, but the revenue it brings eh..

how come kejap² ppl chaw from trepik? Means writer position is vacant lah!?!?! AH! Apalagi Mr. si|verfish!!!?? File your application to the editor! hahaha! :D

pssst... say you got assistant proofreader aaa? hhihihi! :P

Originally posted by lekalo@Jan 14 2005, 12:45
hmmm.. money talks. The power of advertising is not only limited ot its audiences, but the revenue it brings eh..

how come kejap² ppl chaw from trepik? Means writer position is vacant lah!?!?! AH! Apalagi Mr. si|verfish!!!?? File your application to the editor! hahaha! :D

pssst... say you got assistant proofreader aaa? hhihihi! :P
LoL!!! :lol: Sure mate.

Hey peeps from Traffic. If you're looking for a dynamic, energetic, capable, innovative, creative, intelligent, motivated, dedicated part time writer, here I am. Come and get me.;) I also work with my own dedicated proofreader. Salary demand isn't very high, just a few thousand quid per article should be fine. Job perks should include the occasional chance to drive very expensive cars and/or babes. :)

So there.

woi..suddenly change to Seek & Hiring topic liao..eheehhee :lol:

silverfish, i'm sure u will b better than BBCTop Gear........ehehhehehe :lol:

Originally posted by si|verfish@Jan 14 2005, 13:30
LoL!!! :lol: Sure mate.

Hey peeps from Traffic. If you're looking for a dynamic, energetic, capable, innovative, creative, intelligent, motivated, dedicated part time writer, here I am. Come and get me.;) I also work with my own dedicated proofreader. Salary demand isn't very high, just a few thousand quid per article should be fine. Job perks should include the occasional chance to drive very expensive cars and/or babes. :)

So there.
Yeeeyy!

Very aptly put..

Yup.. become Classifieds already! NOW HIRING... Drive in Interview..!

Thank you, thank you. Look, I have a fan base already, albeit with a grand total of 2. But it can only get better. So if you want to increase the sale of your mag, and/or increase the image and pulling power of your company, look no further, hire me right here, right now.

Originally posted by delimaputih+Jan 12 2005, 16:09 -->
QUOTE (delimaputih @ Jan 12 2005, 16:09 )
Originally posted by AE-86@Jan 12 2005, 09:59
--QuoteBegin-3G's
@Jan 11 2005, 17:57
Hyper and Traffic both of them have their own picture
quality.Inserts are goOd,content botH of them are
excellent! ;)

Current mags is only two of them on my shopping liSt
every month...

mostly the pic are from Red Max Agency lah bai~~!!! :P

we did have pictures from red max aka vincent but that's only like ... say less then ten or so pictures

man and moi and sometimes buck did the photography for traffic most of the times...

and thnks for the compliment though heheh :lol: [/b][/quote]
me and vincent are in the same officce... :lol: :lol: